Jump to content

Recommended Posts

Legit Ejection... Hor$e$h+ Announcers.

When Cabrera turns to say something to Angel Hernandez it definitely wasn't "You're the best" 

 

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Please tell me  FP Santagilo didn't actually say "for those of you who don't know, time HAS TO BE GRANTED" :rolleyes::WTF

Every time I hear this ass, he moves up my list of worst announcers EVER.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Did I hear the announcer say that time has to be granted by the umpire when requested by the batter?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
4 minutes ago, grayhawk said:

Did I hear the announcer say that time has to be granted by the umpire when requested by the batter?

Good..Someone else heard it too....I thought I was dreaming. Hard to believe this guy actually played MLB.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
19 minutes ago, Richvee said:

Please tell me  FP Santagilo didn't actually say "for those of you who don't know, time HAS TO BE GRANTED" :rolleyes::WTF

Every time I hear this ass, he moves up my list of worst announcers EVER.

Could he have possibly meant that the batter just can't get time every time he asks?  That time has to actually be granted?

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Could he have possibly meant that the batter just can't get time every time he asks?  That time has to actually be granted?


Hmm, could be.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 minutes ago, umpstu said:

Could he have possibly meant that the batter just can't get time every time he asks?  That time has to actually be granted?

Ahhh, I see...perhaps you're right. He left out the end of his sentence then..."For those of you who don't know, time has to granted by the umpire".

In that case I apologize to FP...This time.....He's still an ass.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
15 hours ago, gnhbua93 said:

Looks like Matt Wieters is wearing the V2 Force3 Defender mask.

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk
 

I'm surprised you noticed ......... :rolleyes: 

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
10 hours ago, umpstu said:

Could he have possibly meant that the batter just can't get time every time he asks?  That time has to actually be granted?

Actually, listening to it again, I think @umpstu is right .... he's saying that time must be granted by the umpire, ...just because you ask doesn't mean it'll happen .... at least that's how I took it after I listened to it again

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
10 hours ago, grayhawk said:

Did I hear the announcer say that time has to be granted by the umpire when requested by the batter?

 

34 minutes ago, Thunderheads said:

Actually, listening to it again, I think @umpstu is right .... he's saying that time must be granted by the umpire, ...just because you ask doesn't mean it'll happen .... at least that's how I took it after I listened to it again

/\  this is the way I took it watching it yesterday.

 

Gil's been slacking on posting his EJ reports on UE

 

http://www.closecallsports.com/2017/03/spring-ejection-s-7-angel-hernandez.html

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
51 minutes ago, stkjock said:

Gil's been slacking on posting his EJ reports on UE

 

He doesn't post those manually, I have a feed. Let me see if this is working correctly.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
12 minutes ago, Umpire in Chief said:

He doesn't post those manually, I have a feed. Let me see if this is working correctly.

AHH, I don't think it is, he commented about the RSS feed in a post the other day.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

OK - so what if Hernandez ejected him immediately - ie. before Cabrera reached first base - does Cabrera enter the Phantom Zone and can't proceed to first base?

 

I would have really liked to see him eject Cabrera right away, and then have Cabrera turn around and start arguing before he got to first base.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, beerguy55 said:

OK - so what if Hernandez ejected him immediately - ie. before Cabrera reached first base - does Cabrera enter the Phantom Zone and can't proceed to first base?

 

I would have really liked to see him eject Cabrera right away, and then have Cabrera turn around and start arguing before he got to first base.

Didn't watch the play, but .... ejections during playing action don't take effect until the end of playing action.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
17 minutes ago, noumpere said:

Didn't watch the play, but .... ejections during playing action don't take effect until the end of playing action.

And Cabrera was not out, just ejected. The team will put in a substitute to run.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
OK - so what if Hernandez ejected him immediately - ie. before Cabrera reached first base - does Cabrera enter the Phantom Zone and can't proceed to first base?
 
I would have really liked to see him eject Cabrera right away, and then have Cabrera turn around and start arguing before he got to first base.


By rule ejections can only happen at the end of playing action. If a player does something during the play i.e. says something to the home plate umpire, they can be ejected until the end of the play.

Sent from my SM-N920V using Tapatalk

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

We've encountered that very issue (ejection during a live ball).

In 2013, Marvin Hudson ejected Stephen Strasburg and Davey Johnson for intentionally throwing at a batter (after warnings) during live play. With a runner on third, Strasburg's threw a fastball behind the batter for a wild pitch, resulting in a live ball ejection mechanic after which the runner from third scored a run. Disqualifications can occur during play, but are not effective until the conclusion of said play. In other words, Strasburg could have conceivably covered home plate and tagged out the runner, even though he had already been ejected during that specific play.

We used the following OBR (Rule 8.01(d) / formerly 9.01(d)) for UEFL scoring (e.g., did the run score before the ejection? Answer: YES):

Quote

If an umpire disqualifies a player while a play is in progress, the disqualification shall not take effect until no further action is possible in that play.

 

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • Similar Content

    • By catoblue
      OK, coaches hat on my head for this one...

      Last night, LL majors game: For starters, I had an idea on what we had for umpires right from the plate conference: BIG deer-in-the-headlights look when they mentioned DBT and I said "2 from the field and 1 from the mound, right?":jerkit:

      Bottom of 1st 0 outs, R1 (This kid is about 5'10" and 200 lbs).
      Ground ball to F5, who scoops it and throws to F4. R1 slides into 2B with cleats 3 feet in the air, hits F4 in the glove arm with cleats and ball gets dropped - F4's arm is bleeding from cleat marks. By the way, this was clearly intentional to break up the DP.

      Now, were I calling this game, R1 is gone. The bozos that were calling the game, however, did nothing about it until at the half inning I called BU aside and said I'm concerned that he didn't at minimum, issue a warning - which he promptly did.

      Anyone else here that would have punched this kid's ticket for going in to 2B with the cleats into F4's arm? (remember this is LL!)

      Next play, grounder to 4'6" F6, the un-ejected (big-boy) R2, runs straight line towards 3B, keeping F6 from fielding the ball - here I have INT since F6 had to to choose: stop or get splattered! No call from the umpires, but it gets even better...


      Ball gets past F6, F7 is charging and bare hands the ball to throw to F5, who is standing just behind 3B, Before the throw gets there, R2 shoves F5 out of the way and heads home to score!!!!! Again no calls by the crew.

      Absolutely clueless!!! Oh yeah, the BU would line up right behind F1 (infield) with runners on - on a 60' diamond!?!

      My only thought by the end of the game was "...and they PAY for umpires like this?!" We play in a multi-community league, where ours is the only one that doesn't pay - I'll take our volunteers over these clowns any day!
    • By Mr_Blue
      Felt like I had to make an account to ask about this situation. Have you ever been asked "Did he go?" while you were standing behind the pitcher? Happened to me.
       
      0-2 count. Batter appeared to obviously offer at a close pitch, his hands looked well in front of the plate and bat also looked like it had went around with his wrists breaking enough that I could say I'm 100 percent sure it was a swing. I'm sure everyone watching the game knew it was a swing, including everyone in the stands and definitely the 3rd base coach who was ejected for arguing after what happened. It looked like one of those calls that are pretty easy to make from where I was standing.
       
      Anyways, I'm waiting on the PU to make the call and he hesitates then points at me and asks if he went. I was so shocked that he was asking me for help on this one that I made a mistake here. I should have just made the call but I looked back at him and just said "It's your call." Now I guess everyone thinks that neither one of us know even though it looked like a pretty obvious call. Now the dugouts are starting to chirp a bit so I call time and we talk for a minute. I tell him what I saw and that it was definitely a swing. I wouldn't call it a swing if it was close but this one wasn't close. We call the kid out. One of the coaches comes to argue, even though I'm sure he had to know we got the call right he wasn't happy with how we made it. He keeps arguing and is warned not to continue and he goes to the dugout. He stops for maybe 10 seconds but is tossed for something he says when he gets to the dugout. Game went okay after that. Then the PU punched out the next batter on the first pitch because I guess he forgot the count wasn't 0-2 anymore. So that didn't help us look any better.
       
      Overall the game went okay after that. We handled the coach okay. Ejection went probably as well as it could have. After the game the PU wanted to switch crews so I worked with a different guy. Then he texted me after the game "Thanks for screwing me today ***hole I pray I never work with you again. This is high school varsity ball not the little bull**** you usually do." Which I thought was a little ridiculous, but oh well. I can't help but feel bad for being caught off guard on that play.
    • By SeanColorado
      12u fastpitch playoff game.  I'm BU.
      Top of first, runners on 1st and 2nd, 2 outs, 2 strikes.  Shortstop says to catcher "if she goes get her at third".  3rd base coach (also HC) says to F6 "yeah you just go ahead and try to throw her out" before pitch is thrown in a taunting tone.  I'm in C and here it clearly.  Strike 3 inning over.  As he's starts walking back to 1st base dugout I tell coach, in a quiet but direct tone, not to speak to the other team's players.  He starts to respond and I say "coach, that's enough, we're not discussing this".
      Bottom of 3, PU calls time and walks out to P for a 10 second conversation.  I'm in A and can't make out what's being said.  HTHC comes out of dugout as PU is walking back to plate asking what that was about.  He was instructing pitcher to not lick fingers and then grab the ball for a pitch.  HTHC as he's walking back yells for the entire neighborhood to hear "oh we're playing by those rules today!".  PU issues a warning telling him to knock it off and "this is your warning".
      Start of bottom of 4, I'm in shallow right and HT is slowly taking the field as HTHC gives them individual fielding positions.  One of the girls is bawling profusely, tears streaming down her face.  About what, I don't know...  PU tells HTHC she can't take the field in that condition for her own safety.  He gets in PU face yelling "you can't tell me who I can play and can't".  PU tosses HC.  PU says "you have 5 minutes to leave the field".  Ugh, I know.  HTHC says "if I have 5 minutes I'm going to make them count".  I play rodeo clown telling him he has to leave and explain to AC he is now the HC.  
      HTHC leaves, but then in the 5th inning comes back and is back in sight.  Technically he is off the property, but the fields are in a basin and he's basically on the street curb.  Equivalent to the upper deck area above his team's dugout.  I didn't notice at first, but I'm in C and VTHC (3BC at the time) points out that he's back and asks for a forfeit.  I said no, we're not calling a forfeit, pause the game, tell new HTHC that he needs to be out of sight and sound.  He argues that he is off the property line.  Again coach, he needs to be gone now.  He calls him and finally makes his way to parking lot.  HT wins 8-7.  
      Feedback welcomed as I've learned so much from this forum.  My real question in all of this is "does PU have the authority within the rules to prevent a player from taking the field for crying?".  In PU's view, she couldn't see creating a safety issue.  Does the warning/conversation in top of 1 seem appropriate?
    • By Umpire in Chief
      http://m.mlb.com/video/v1293296683/texsea-scott-servais-ejected-arguing-a-fair-ball/?query=servais
      This is one of the games I watched this weekend. 
      As an umpire, I knew what was happening. Bucknor properly waited for the play to play itself out, then signaled time as there was some question whether it hit the batter in the box. So, overall Bucknor did the right things here and the ejection was deserved. Now I did not see or notice any communication between Bucknor & Carlson about potentially being hit in the box, but lack of any communication is essentially the same as saying he was not hit. 
      However, I was with my father in law who gets easily fired up about sports and reviles all officials in all sports. He had a minor conniption about this which was fueled on by the announcers (we had a different feed than these announcers).
      Now in my amateur, Monday morning quarterback view here's what he could have possibly have done better (for educational purposes only not to criticize, condemn or otherwise put down any umpire).
      Point the ball fair. -- IMO this simple act could have quite possibly prevented everything. And it wouldn't have made any difference in terms of a potential batter hit in the box situation. Additionally, because it it was so close, emphatically point it fair. Verbalize calling time -- That seemed to be Servais's argument, 'You called foul' and you can read Bucknors lips, 'No, I called time' The other thing that did not go well for Bucknor were the optics of the situation. The first baseman seems to look back at him and ask if it was fair. Then Bucknor doesn't come up with the out call (not shown on this clip) until immediately after the first baseman says something else to him. This is just one of those tough darn-if-you-do, darn-if-you-don't situations, but it just looks bad. 
       
    • By sd181612
      Here is a situation that I know you all will be able to help me with: 1 out runner on second. Batter hits a ball towards first base foul territory, ball is caught. Runner from second takes off without tagging, wild throw towards the SS covering 2B. Runner goes back, slides, base flies a few feet; runner is safe. There's this player on the defense who had already expressed discontent on a bang-bang play; he argues on this one as well. Question is, should I have ejected him. This is triple-AAA little league, about 9-11 years old.
×
×
  • Create New...