Jump to content

lawump

Established Member
  • Content Count

    1,041
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    58

lawump last won the day on August 17

lawump had the most liked content!

Community Reputation

1,037 Excellent

3 Followers

About lawump

  • Birthday July 15

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Male
  • Location
    South Carolina
  • Interests
    umpiring and lawyering

More information about you

  • Your Association Name
    Carolina Baseball Umpires Association; NCAA
  • Occupation
    Attorney
  • Types/Levels of Baseball called
    ex-MiLB umpire; NCAA Div. 1; Am. Legion (2015, '17-'19 World Series)
  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    ABUA (umpire.org)

Recent Profile Visitors

6,550 profile views
  1. lawump

    FED DH Rule Change

    I will add, even though this is not covered by the case plays, a player who starts as a P/DH or C/DH, cannot have a courtesy runner enter the game for them should they reach base. This is per an email I received from B. Elliot Hopkins on September 8, 2019. (Of course, check with your own state rules person to see if they are going to follow Mr. Hopkins' email or not.)
  2. lawump

    FED DH Rule Change

    "3.1.4 Situation J: In the fourth inning, Federico, who is listed fourth in the batting order as P/DH and hitting fourth, sprains his ankle running the bases and is taken out of the game replaced and (sic) by McGinnis, who later has an at bat. Later in the six (sic) inning, Federico re-enters to (a) pinch-hit for McGinnis or (b) play defense for Russel at first base with McGinnis still pitching. RULING: Legal in (a); Illegal in (b). Federico and McGinnis are locked into the same lineup spot and cannot be in the game on defense at the same. time."
  3. lawump

    FED DH Rule Change

    "3.1.4 Situation I: In the fourth inning, Montalbo replaces Colgate as the starting P/DH as pitcher. In the fifth inning, Colgate sprains his ankle as he slides into second base on a double. Colgate cannot continue and requires a pinch-runner. RULING: If an eligible substitute enters the game to pinch-run for Colgate, the rule of the DH is terminated and Colgate is removed from the game. The coach my substitute another player ,but this will end Montalbo as the pitcher since the substitute enters the game in the batting order already occupied by Montalbo. However, if the coach has Montalbo pinch-run for Colgate, Montalbo may continue to pitch and hit for himself."
  4. lawump

    FED DH Rule Change

    "3.1.4 Situation G: Kruger is listed as teh RF/DH, hitting third in the batting order. In the fifth inning, substitute Brodell enters as the right fielder with Kruger still the DH, hitting for Brodell. RULING: This is legal." "3.14 Situation H: With Dolan listed in the starting lineup as the 2B/DH and batting fourth in the order, the coach wants to bring in Tatelman to hit for Dolan. RULING: If substitute Tatelman comes in to hit (or run) for Dolan, the role of the DH is terminated for the game. If eligible, Dolan may re-enter the game on defense and bat in the same spot in the batting order."
  5. lawump

    FED DH Rule Change

    "3.1.4 Situation F: Sanders is listed as the P/DH, hitting in the third position in the batting order. (a) In the fifth inning, McNeely enters the game as pitcher with Sanders reaching his pitch count ilmit. Sanders continues as DH for McNeely; (b) in the sixth inning, substitute Jackson enters to pitch replacing McNeely. Sanders remains the DH for Jackson; and (c) in the seventh inning, Sanders returns to defense as the catcher and is still listed as the DH. RULING: Legal in (a), (b) and (c)." [I will note that in South Carolina, (c) would violate our pitch count rule as our state's pitch count rule states that a player who has appeared in the game as pitcher may not catch.]
  6. lawump

    FED DH Rule Change

    "...A designated hitter may be used in one of the two scenarios...: (b) The starting designated hitter may be any one of the starting defensive players. In this manner, the starting defensive player has two positions: the defensive player and the designated hitter. The role of the defensive player may be substituted for by any legal substitute. If the defensive player has been substituted for, the original player/DH may re-enter one time. The role of the DH is terminated for the remainder of the game when: 1. A substitute or former substitute for the defensive role subsequently participates in an offensive role; or, 2. The starting defensive player/DH is substituted for either as a hitter or a runner." 3-4-1
  7. He was one of my two on-field instructors (Bruce Dreckman being the other) at umpire school. Which means, he had a large part in getting me into professional baseball. Very hard news to take; he was a real good guy.
  8. lawump

    How to award bases

    I came "this close" (think Maxwell Smart) to getting that rule changed. Most on the committee agreed that it was kind of silly to have the rule (once I explained it to them). In fact, our preliminary vote was to do away with this rule. However, when we discussed it further, there were several on the committee who felt that if we changed this rule we would have to make a major overhaul to the dead ball appeal rule (which no other rule set has). So, my proposal to adopt the MLB rule was tabled to allow further investigation as to how the dead ball appeal rule would have to be modified should the MLB rule be adopted. Of course, now I'm no longer on the committee. Just a little history.
  9. Have your crew's second base umpire act like an NBA referee during an in-bounds play: have him move his right arm, parallel to the ground (almost like a safe call with one arm) as he counts off the seconds. LOL What a joke.
  10. The NFHS has replied that the play in my question is a "timing play". That's the official interpretation given to South Carolina by the NFHS. You can check with your own state's rules interpreter to see if this interpretation applies in your state.
  11. I requested that my state request an official interpretation because these case plays are actually discussed in our association's study guide (and I'm working on the 2020 updates to that guide). I asked my state to submit the following question to the NFHS: On the following play, are R1 and R2 allowed to score because B5’s “out” for passing R1 is not a force out? Or, is this a time play where R2 and R1’s runs only count if they touched home before B5 passed R1? PLAY: R2 & R1, two outs. B5 hits a home run (out of the park). While running the bases, B5 touches first base and then passes R1. Here is why I am asking this question: The above-play was in the casebook for years as play 9.1.1 Situation M, but was removed in 2016 (I believe). That casebook play held that R2 and R1 were allowed to score. Then, in addition to 9.1.1. Situation M being removed from the casebook in 2016, a new case play was added (3.3.1 Situation FF). As set forth in the 2019 casebook, that case play does not have the same facts as the old 9.1.1 Situation M, but its holding in part (b) (stating that a time play exists) seems to directly contradict the old 9.1.1 Situation M holding. I know that just because a specific play was removed from the casebook, does not mean that the removed play’s interpretation is no longer valid. Sometimes, a play is removed from the casebook simply due to page constraints and not because the interpretation is no longer valid. (The NFHS has only so many pages it can publish in the casebook). So, in short, my question is: if there are multiple runners on base with two outs and the batter hits a home run, are the other runners allowed to score if the batter is called out (after having touched first base) for some reason (such as passing a preceding runner, or committing malicious contact)? It is appears to me that there is a conflict between Casebook Play 9.1.1 Situation M (which was in the casebook for years through 2015) and the 2019 casebook play 3.3.1 Situation FF. And, since the NFHS has never explicitly stated that 9.1.1 Situation M is no longer valid (it only removed it from the casebook), it does not appear to me that the conflict between these two plays has been resolved.
  12. The second I left MiLB, I went from the box ("heel/toe") to scissors and my knees have never been sore after a game, again.
  13. Bruce dies at the end of Jaws, too.
×
×
  • Create New...