Jump to content

Search the Community

Showing results for tags 'force play slide rule'.



More search options

  • Search By Tags

    Type tags separated by commas.
  • Search By Author

Content Type


Forums

  • Umpire-Empire
    • Introductions
    • Ask the Umpire
    • Minor League Baseball Umpire Training Academy
    • Umpire-Empire
    • Memberships
    • Announcements & Milestones
    • Buy, Sell or Trade
  • Speak out
    • Free For All
    • Situations
    • Umpire Mechanics
    • Rules
    • Ejections
    • Umpire Equipment
    • Books
    • War Stories
  • Umpire News
    • Quick Tips
    • Close Call Sports/ Umpire Ejection Fantasy League
    • Umpire News From Around the Web
    • Ump-Attire.com
  • Level of Play
    • High School
    • Collegiate
    • Recreation
    • Professional
    • Softball
    • Cooperstown Dream Park
  • Off-Topic
    • Off-Topic/Funny Stories
    • Photography
    • Humor
    • Other Sports
    • Announcers

Product Groups

  • Memberships
  • Umpire-Empire Items
  • Cooperstown Dream Park Posting/Advertisement

Categories

  • Interviews
  • Equipment
  • Game Management
  • Self Improvement
  • Health & Fitness
  • Miscellaneous
  • Get to Know

Categories

  • Equipment
    • Chest Protectors
    • Hockey Style Masks
    • Traditional Masks
    • Plate Shoes
    • Base Shoes
    • Shin Guards
    • Athletic Cups
    • Mask Pads
    • Other Equipment
  • Umpire Accessories
    • Equipment Bags
    • Indicators
    • Ball Bags
    • Line up card holders
    • Sunglasses
    • Other Accessories
  • Uniforms
    • Umpire Shirts
    • Umpire Pants
    • Undergarmets
    • Umpire Jackets/ Plate Coats
    • Umpire Caps
  • Suppliers
  • Umpire Manuals, Rules/Interpretation Manuals, Mechanics Manuals
  • Umpire Camps & Clinics
  • Books (pleasure reading)
  • Products no longer available for retail sale

Find results in...

Find results that contain...


Date Created

  • Start

    End


Last Updated

  • Start

    End


Filter by number of...

Joined

  • Start

    End


Group


AIM


MSN


Website URL


ICQ


Yahoo


Jabber


Skype


Location


Interests


Your Association Name


Occupation


Types/Levels of Baseball called

Found 12 results

  1. Reviewing the guidelines for an illegal slide....letter "f" caught my eye "f. the runner, on a force play, does not slide on the ground and in a direct line between the two bases." To those of you out there who work NFHS baseball. On a double play ball is letter "f" to be interpreted as a violation of FPSR if R1 goes in standing to 2B past the halfway point? Is there an NFHS interpretation to support a violation or no violation? In my mind, I read it as the NFHS wanting the runners to get down or veer away to avoid an overzealous middle infielder slinging the baseball into R1 chest or face. A preventative safety measure. A 2007 NFHS Interpretation States the following but doesn't necessarily apply to the question being asked: SITUATION 3: With no outs and R1 on first base, B2 hits a hard ground ball to F6. F6 fields the ball and steps on second base and then throws to first base in an attempt to double up B2. R1 is running standing up in a straight line to second and is hit by F6's throw. R1 was not even half way to second base and did not intentionally interfere with the throw. The defensive coach states that B2 should also be out since R1 violated the force-play slide rule. RULING: This is not a violation of the force play slide rule. R1 cannot be expected to slide at that point in the base path. The play stands. R1 would be out only if he intentionally interfered. (8-4-2b penalty) 2016 BRD Childress seems to support the assertion. See attachments. What are your thoughts? Thanks.
  2. 2B Umpire Steve Mattingly's interference double play call negated an LSU run during the NCAA College World Series' decisive game Tuesday night, as Mattingly ruled LSU baserunner Jake Slaughter—and his teammate, batter Michael Papierski—out on a violation of college's force play slide rule... [[ This is a content summary only. Visit my website for full links, other content, and more! ]] View the full article
  3. isired

    Odd Call

    Bases loaded, no out. Batter hits a roller to the pitcher, who throws to F6 covering 2B - bang-bang play, F6 on 2B, R1 slides into bag, R1 called out. Field ump then calls interference in R1, I guess for a hard slide, though directly at the base. F6 never made the throw. Umpire calls it a double play, AND puts R2 and R3 back to 2B and 3B, no runs scored. Forget about the initial call, that's judgement, but can they call the BR out AND send the runners back with no runs scored? Never seen that before. Major League rules.
  4. FED rules. On a ground ball when the defense is trying to turn a double play, how do we rule on a runner that doesn't slide? Obviously by rule they are not required to slide, but is there any good rule or guidance on where we draw the line and say they interfered with a throw for an attempted double play? I've always taken the approach that if the runner is in the immediate vicinity of the base and alters play it could be interference. Otherwise, I figure the fielder has ample opportunity to make a quality throw without being affected by the runner. I don't find any examples of this type of play in the Case Book, but if I've missed something, please point me in the right direction. Thanks.
  5. The force play slide 'Utley' rule was applied for the first time on Opening Day in Atlanta. The following photographic and rules analysis illustrates why this call was made. Force Play Slide Rule at second in Atlanta (Video). With none out and a runner on first base, Braves batter Hector Olivera... [[ This is a content summary only. Visit my website for full links, other content, and more! ]] View the full article
  6. Guest

    FPSR-NFHS Softball

    Is there a Force Play Slide Rule in NFHS Fastpitch softball like there is in baseball? What rule number? If not what are the major differences between how it is called? Can a girl go in to second base standing up obviously making the 2nd baseman throw over her to turn the double play? I know this would be an easy FPSR in NFHS or NCAA Baseball but have seen it not called 3 times in NFHS softball games this year. So I was wondering if there was a major rule difference that I was unaware of. Thanks.
  7. Guys, I'm having a little difficulty persuading a couple of colleagues about the proper interpretation of the FED FPSR. I would appreciate it if you would all take my little "FPSR" test. Any supporting commentary would also be appreciated. Thanks. JM
  8. So the always entertaining and (IMO dumb rule) of forced slide popped up this past weekend. R1 slide high and made contact above the knee. FED rules state that is the automatic call and R1 and BR are now out. Here is the questions though that came up casually with a coach. How do you determine when the intent in malicious. Some people have said anytime you slide high you are going in hard and malicious, others say it is just baseball. of course in the FED rules you have to be nice and safe and can't even slide hard. So fellow umpires, when would you eject for a slide with contact above the knee vs. just enforcing the force play slide rule penalty.
  9. I am confused about the ruling on these two plays from BRD. I hope it's OK to post these: *Play 170-329:FED only. R1 moving on the pitch. B1 hits to the shortstop, who tries - not in time - for the out at second. The second baseman throws the ball to first, after which R1 pops-up on the base, jostling the fielder. Ruling: Though the contact occurred after the throw and did not alter the play, it resulted from an illegal slide: Both R1 and B1 are out. *Play 173-229: R1 stealing. B1 grounds slowly to F6, whose throw to second is not in time. R1 then executes a pop-up slide while F6 is on top of the base, preventing the second baseman from throwing to first. Ruling: (EXPANDED) In Fed/OBR, R1 is out, but B1 goes to first. **(ADDED) Note 321: Since R1 beat the throw, no double play is possible. In FED/OBR, then, only the interfering runner can be out. It's simply interference by a runner (one is out), not a retired runner (two would be out). These two plays are very close to being the same. In the first play, it does not state whether or not B1 was thrown out on the play, but if R1 committed an illegal slide, then it wouldn't matter - B1 is out regardless. Note 321 is very confusing, however, because it says that "since R1 beat the throw" - this is the case in both plays. Also, in the first play, there was contact but the play was NOT altered. In the second play, there was no contact but the play WAS altered. Can anyone shed some light on this? Also, I would recommend BRD to anyone and everyone who is serious about learning the rules - even if you only umpire under one jurisdiction. It's a fantastic piece of work.
  10. Take a look at this video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XMYejsgJCmk&feature=related This was obviously a few years ago. Has the FPSR changed in NCAA in recent years? I haven't been at this long enough to know either way. F1 sliding past second base is not illegal now, but was it before? The announcers are basically claiming that the FED slide rule was in effect at this time and F1 should be out for interference. (I know, announcers are clueless) Also, do you have interference for F1 grabbing at the backside of the pivot man on the double play? I didn't think he touched him at first, but they eventually showed an angle and he did make slight contact.
  11. catoblue

    Would you EJ?

    OK, coaches hat on my head for this one... Last night, LL majors game: For starters, I had an idea on what we had for umpires right from the plate conference: BIG deer-in-the-headlights look when they mentioned DBT and I said "2 from the field and 1 from the mound, right?":jerkit: Bottom of 1st 0 outs, R1 (This kid is about 5'10" and 200 lbs). Ground ball to F5, who scoops it and throws to F4. R1 slides into 2B with cleats 3 feet in the air, hits F4 in the glove arm with cleats and ball gets dropped - F4's arm is bleeding from cleat marks. By the way, this was clearly intentional to break up the DP. Now, were I calling this game, R1 is gone. The bozos that were calling the game, however, did nothing about it until at the half inning I called BU aside and said I'm concerned that he didn't at minimum, issue a warning - which he promptly did. Anyone else here that would have punched this kid's ticket for going in to 2B with the cleats into F4's arm? (remember this is LL!) Next play, grounder to 4'6" F6, the un-ejected (big-boy) R2, runs straight line towards 3B, keeping F6 from fielding the ball - here I have INT since F6 had to to choose: stop or get splattered! No call from the umpires, but it gets even better... Ball gets past F6, F7 is charging and bare hands the ball to throw to F5, who is standing just behind 3B, Before the throw gets there, R2 shoves F5 out of the way and heads home to score!!!!! Again no calls by the crew. Absolutely clueless!!! Oh yeah, the BU would line up right behind F1 (infield) with runners on - on a 60' diamond!?! My only thought by the end of the game was "...and they PAY for umpires like this?!" We play in a multi-community league, where ours is the only one that doesn't pay - I'll take our volunteers over these clowns any day!
×
×
  • Create New...