Jump to content

isired

Established Member
  • Content Count

    137
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

5 Neutral

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. Probably because I don't have the casebook
  2. OK I get it - I was looking for the rule, not the penalty, and searching terms like "stop" etc. I assume the rule that was broken in my first example was this snippet from 6-1article 2: "After he starts his movement to pitch, he must continue the motion without interruption or alteration." In my second example, I didn't realize that even though the umpire wouldn't award the batter time out, there is no penalty because pitcher stopped because of the batters action (raising his hand). Looks like both umpires got it right, good to see. Thanks for all the help, I appreciate it.
  3. No runner on base in either scenario...
  4. Thanks. Can I get a rule citation for #1? I can't find it even with a search of "illegal pitch" in the ebook. This was a tournament so I think, even given the weather conditions, strict enforcement is probably the norm. Though in the 2nd inning they informed both teams that they would allow 'neighborhood' plays on the bases due to the conditions, which I've never seen before. Grass/dirt infield.
  5. Come on dude. You omitted the part in bold that makes it perfectly clear - here's the direct quote:
  6. So this happened this past weekend 2x, slightly different circumstances, and was called differently. 15u baseball, NFHS ruleset (with no relevant modifications) Game 1: No runners on. Pitcher starts and then stops motion - re-gripped ball, so I assume that's why he stopped (it was raining all game, the balls were slimy according to my son who pitched later). FU calls "balk" and awards batter a ball. Regardless of whether he called it wrong (shouldn't be called a balk with no runners on I think) - is this the correct call? I thought so, but can't find the relevant NFHS rule for an illegal pitch due to the pitcher stopping his windup. Game 2: No runners on. PItcher on the rubber facing batter taking signs, our batter takes his hand off the bat and asks for time and it is not granted - I assume because as the batter looked back to the umpire the pitcher had started his windup. Batter quickly puts his hand back on the bat and resumes his stance. Pitcher stops. PU calls nothing. In this scenario, shouldn't the call be whatever is correct in game 1 scenario above, or, if there is leeway, a warning issued to the pitcher not to stop? We don't see warnings in 15u so he may not have the ability to warn unless he has the right to decide for himself when a warning is the right thing to do (which I would think it probably is here).
  7. isired

    DH Rule ?

    Most tournaments my son plays in are based on FED rules, but address DH's and EH's specifically in the house rules. If a player that is already in the lineup (other than the DH) enters to pitch, the DH is usually lost, and the incoming fielder (to replace the ppsition the new pitcher vacated) enters in the DH slot and hits, with no option to leave the DH hitting. As for EH, they are generally treated as a position player, and can pitch or play any other position the same as any other fielder.
  8. isired

    Overrunning 1st base

    The thing is, the umpire's responsibility is to enforce the rules. You're not only asking him not to do that job, but your asking him to selectively decide when to enforce and when to ignore them (I'm assuming that there are some rules you want consistently enforced and others that would fall into this category). And what makes you think that the umpire went home pumping his chest? Most umpires I know feel bad having to ring a young kid up for a mistake like that, especially if the kid feels he cost his team the game. Bottom line is, the other team saw it and made the tag. If the umpire doesn't make the call, I bet the other coach would have something to say about it, and he'd be right. So you've got to make the call, you've got to always have the guy thats upset be the guy that's wrong.
  9. isired

    Overrunning 1st base

    I've never seen a 12u team struggle with this rule. I've never seen a any team struggle with this rule. When I've seen it applied, the runner had always made a move toward second. All but one time that I remember, the runner knew the rule and got real sheepish after making the move to second, try to slip back to 1st 'unnoticed.' The one time that didn't happen, the runner, who was in a team I coached, honestly had no idea. He was to the country, and it was his first time seeing baseball, let alone playing it. He knew he could overrun, but didn't grasp that if he made a move to second... But I dont think it happened again - he knew the rule after that.
  10. isired

    Overrunning 1st base

    I've never seen a 12u team struggle with this rule. I've never seen a any team struggle with this rule. When I've seen it applied, the runner had always made a move toward second. All but one time that I remember, the runner knew the rule and got real sheepish after making the move to second, try to slip back to 1st 'unnoticed.' The one time that didn't happen, the runner, who was on a team I coached, honestly had no idea. He was new to the country, and it was his first time seeing baseball, let alone playing it. He knew he could overrun, but didn't grasp that if he made a move to second... But I dont think it happened again - he knew the rule after that.
  11. isired

    Overrunning 1st base

    The runner can overrun and veer into foul territory, I don't care if he's 10 feet foul, if he makes a jab step towards second then thinks better of it he is no longer a runner that overran first, hes a runner that made an attempt to second and has put hi self in jeopardy. If tagged, I have him out.
  12. True regarding my assumption but he didn't seem new otherwise, which I guess is good. Zone was fine, hated the letters and loved the ball a few inches below the knee, like many - but no complaints, very consistent, and of course would rather that zone than the opposite. I asked my son about the early calls, he said he didn't notice until some of the other kids started talking about it. I think the parents on both sides noticed it first. I think the kids that were initially 'bothered' by it k'd. Anyway didn't seem to bother too many, we had 2 4 inning wins with him behind the plate. As far as bringing it up to a league official or head of umpires, it was a tournament so our manager is not likely to spend time on a follow up. I'll recommend he do so in any similar situations though, thank you.
  13. Had this situation in a tournament 2 weeks ago... the umpire had a weird habit of calling balls and strikes before the ball crossed the plate. It was unnerving to some of the batters, others didn't seem to mind (same for both teams though, of course). This is my son's team, 14U club/travel, his manager calls me over and asks what I think he should do (I'm not a coach or anything, just score the game, but he knows I'm a bit of a rules nerd). I said "I don't think you can do anything in-game" - it's the same for both sides, the guy is in his 40s so likely not a new ump and doubtful its something he could change in game if he wanted to. He didn't seem to like the answer but I dont think he said anything. I think that's the right answer but my question for all the veteran umps here is, in a similar situation where maybe there is something bothering the kids on both sides and let's say it IS something that maybe can be changed, when/how should a manager approach it? Or is it always just something you have to let go?
  14. isired

    Infield fly?

    You don't say what level of baseball you're talking about, but from what you describe it sounds like younger kids, nobody settled under the ball, therefore it's just an uncaught fly in the infield, forces at 3rd and 2nd are In play. I ask about the age because an infield fly requires that and infielder be able to catch the ball with "ordinary effort" - which in practice usually means, for younger kids, they're able to get under a fly ball or at least in the neighborhood of it with ordinary effort. For older kids any fly ball within the grass should be an infield fly 99.9% of the time in my experience. But either way, the infield fly is up to the judgement of the umpire, not appealable.
  15. isired

    Missed call?

    This was the case for our local little league in 7s and 8s play, where there were 'house rules' to limit runners advancing at will on throws that got past the intended recipient (not out of play). It was "base he was headed to plus one" so it mattered if the runner was going back to a base or not. I can only imagine this language was put in place by a guy, years before I came along, who thought this was based on a real OBR rule...
×
×
  • Create New...