Jump to content

All Activity

This stream auto-updates     

  1. Today
  2. Hey guys, thanks for the replys and the discussion. I had believed that the decision was based on judgment of the variables associated with the play. I was doing a one man 14u fall ball game and unfortunately missed the contact while attempting to get into position on the third base side of the mound ,( my bad ). My initial move was to expect a close play if the runner tried for third. Since no bodies went flying I couldn't be sure that the contact was enough to award the base. Thanks again
  3. Neither true nor, in many cases, possible. Subsequent events can affect the award.
  4. In Little League, especially the lower levels, when the ball is hit, all the infielders instinctively go to a "spot"--just like PeeWee basketball. Most of the time, they stand on the bag anticipating a throw for a play there. And the batter-runner is obstructed many times. I had one game where the OM was constantly on my case when his runners were (or were NOT) obstructed near a base. He dutifully asked for time and then came out at adjutant's pace to me to get into face! "My runner was interfered with [OBSTRUCTED] at that base! Why doesn't he get another base? Why didn't you call it? Didn't you see it?" I told him (calmly) that I DID see the OBSTRUCTION, I signaled it, and I ruled on it. This clown didn't know the difference between Type A and Type B which all of these were. I told him that in my judgement the runner was protected to 2B (to only 1B on one occasion) and that's where he would have ended up absent the OBS. He insisted (loudly!) that the runners were entitled to another base. Since no play was being made on said runner(s), it was Type B and no automatic award was warranted. Her got loud again, and I suggested that he get educated him the rules. The OBS was called! And the award/non-award was made in accordance with the rules. When an umpire calls Type B OBS, he immediately must judge to which base in the runner/BR is entitled had the OBS not occurred. Should the runner reach that protected base and proceeds the least bit further, his protection under OBS is no longer in force, and he is in jeopardy. If the OBS legitimately thwarts the runner from successfully advancing, you MAY award that base. 100% judgement. Note that OBS can also occur when a runner is attempting to RETURN to a base. Nothing about Type B is automatic most of the time. Mike Las Vegas
  5. Yesterday
  6. So, why is D1 college men in basketball, since the interest is there not reaching out. Imagine if your wife was D1 women and extremely talented and at the top with playoffs every year, but nobody from the D1 men were reaching out to her, recruiting her, when she saw the men being recruited all the time just because they were men. She would notice that men officials are being reached out/recruited for her women's D1 level to work with her, but no 2 way street for her working D1 men. Now, if she is being begged to work mens D1 and she has turned them down for whatever reason, then that would be a different story, but i do not see women being recruited for NBA turning down the chance, although some may/ or may not have. Here is the article with the lady who was the white hat (referee) at a Ohio State spring scrimmage and looking to move up in further in football and is already D1. Show the part, quote below, in print to the wives. Why not make the guy have to be better than the next gal because people are going to say "he got the job because he is a man" over the woman. and I do not agree with the statement made by the supervisor in this day and age. Imagine when you hired someone, you said they had to be better because they are a woman. If you are the best with some others, it does not matter, and after that statement he should have caught heck. So, if she is just as good but not better than the guy, the guy gets it. Why not have the guy have to be better than her, and if the guy is not better, she should get the job. Sorry Susan, i have 5 openings that i am giving to all the men who interviewed for this job with you, and you are just as good, but since you are only just as good but not just a little bit (whatever little bit means) better, I have to give the job to the men, because for appearances and the word on the street will be you got the job just because you are a woman. Gee whiz, has nothing changed. Is this what you guys say to the women when they are interviewed, or is that just still how it is in the back room where nobody hears. You basically have no chance unless you are better than the guys, even though you are just as good as the guys?? Are you guys out there still worried your buddies will cry woman lover, woman lover, and you will not stand up to them and say, she is just as good as you hoity toity guys are and she deserves a chance just like you for being just as good as you are. She should not be penalized and have to be better than you since I am hiring you and you are no better than her. Just what gives?? I just don't understand in this day and age with this type of statement, other than it is a way to exclude someone, rather than include someone, UIC. The quote which is in the article "Does she have the capability? Yes. Is she getting better every year? Yes. Does she fit in and do the right things on and off the field with the crew? Yes," Carollo said. "Now, are you better than the next guy? You've got to be a little bit better than the next guy (and of course the guys are men- parens added by me dd) because people are going to say she got it just because she's a woman. I am sure somebody has been in trouble in the not too recent past, somewhere out there by this type statement in the current day. https://www.espn.com/college-football/story/_/id/19254591/the-rapid-remarkable-rise-college-football-official-amanda-sauer
  7. As I say, take all info into account: where the ball goes, what the fielders do with it, how well the BR runs, how good the throw in is. The good news is: the "proper" award is determined by your judgment. Within limits, you can't be wrong!
  8. noumpere

    FED DH Rule Change

    I'm confused by this one. At the end of (c) you have (starter) Sanders catching and Jackson pitching -- yet, these players occupy the same spot in the order. This seems to conflict with 3.1.4J (above)
  9. noumpere

    FED DH Rule Change

    Have Montalbo pinch-run and then use a Courtesy Runner for Montalbo
  10. The Man in Blue

    foul ball?

    Since we have had some inadvertent typos, let’s go straight to a source ... NFHS Baseball 2018 (I don’t believe there is a code where this is different, though the wording may be different). SECTION 16 FOUL, FOUL TIP ART. 1 . . . A foul is a batted ball: a. which settles on foul territory between home and first base or between home and third base; or b. that bounds past first or third base on or over foul territory; or c. that first falls on foul territory beyond first or third base; or d. that, while on or over foul territory, touches the person of an umpire or a player or any object foreign to the natural ground; or e. that touches the ground after inadvertently being declared foul by an umpire. f. that hits the batter in the batter's box; or g. that hits the ground or home plate and then hits the batter or the bat which is held by the batter, while he is in the batter's box. ART. 2 . . . A foul tip is a batted ball that goes directly to the catcher’s hands and is legally caught by the catcher. It is a strike and the ball is in play.
  11. <sad-trombone.mp3> goes here.....
  12. HokieUmp

    AITA?

    What's interesting about the scenario that I was describing is they don't really NEED me at those younger games. I literally DID have a choice. For reasons that I can't quite wrap my head around, the littles have more than enough dudes to cover. As it played out, there WERE 14U games on that Saturday. So I ended up violating a DIFFERENT rule of mine - the "don't work too many F*#King games in one day" rule. We've talked about it before here, but I've NEVER been an advocate of working a ton in a day - there's Just. No. Way. you're that good by games six/seven or so. But there were some ridiculously short time limits, so I agreed to work two, take two off, then do three to end the day. Things changed about 214 times that day, and I ended up going two, taking one off, and working the last four. (Weirdly, I felt decent at the end, physically. But my legs were getting heavy, and I was sick-to-death of bad baseball and some of the participants, too.) But I was only there because they were doing an older group. But for the littles, and the softball games? Plenty of guys. Now - in line with the other topic, where I objected to the tone because of the "SH*# don't stink" thing - I WILL say that I had a bit of a 'tude about some of these guys. My SH*# didn't stink, in my mind, when I matched up with a lot of them. My partner that day for my six was a lovely guy; but he was a terrible umpire. At least, he did a lot of things a "trained" guy wouldn't do. So I fought a lot of mixed emotions during the day. (I don't know what this part means, in any big picture way - I'm trying to avoid doing any work, so I just started typing away.)
  13. I find these types of things the hardest to judge the proper award, in practice. I think because i umpire at many age and skill levels, i have a hard time judging if the BR can actually make two more bases or not on the hit. Many times I will see a ball gap the LF and CF, and roll slowly all the way back to the wall: I will come in from A, watch the touch, make sure there is no OBS, and notice the kid motoring on his horse towards second, look back at the play and still see the ball bouncing around, and get on my horse in preparation to be taking the BR into 3rd, only to have the kid running like he is in loose sand and only getting to second. Many times I'm thinking to myself "geez, if he was OBS at first, i probably would have given him third with that shot". Two weeks ago i had a BR hit a gapper that when it hit the fence, bounced back over the Cf and LF heads and rolled into LF, with them chasing the ball. The BR missed touching first running full out, and a DEF Coach in the dugout noticed and starts yelling. I'm thinking to myself that now i'm going to have to punch this kid out if they properly appeal because he will definitely be standing up into third... AND I was wrong... One slow motion trip around the bases and he gets gunned down at third...
  14. A lot of assumptions on our parts ... as is the norm on these forums. My assumption: if the runner stopped a few steps after second, the coach was already stopping him before he got to second. I guess I am different in my coaching thinking though — if I thought my runner should be on third and it could be close, I am coaching him to third and forcing the play to give the umpire something to work with when making his decision. I’m not walking him into a tag out 10 feet from the bag though — that gives the umpire the wrong thing to work with. My experience is most umpires are conservative in awards. If Blue sees him stop at second, the vast majority of umpires (at the youth level anyway) are not going to give him a freebie. Just to clarify, I personally am not using that for my decision. I am saying this based on my observations of many umpires. And just because I like evil laughs.
  15. Aging_Arbiter

    foul ball?

    It is just a strike, the batter is not out, and the ball is live (ie. stealing runners can continue, can be safe or out...and don't have to tag up)...provided it was caught....not caught, it's just a foul ball. fixed...... for @Thunderheads
  16. beerguy55

    foul ball?

    It is just a strike, the batter is not out, and the ball is live (ie. stealing runners can continue, can be safe or out...and don't have to tag up)...provided it was caught....not caught, it's just a foul ball.
  17. Thunderheads

    foul ball?

    fixed ........
  18. Radwaste50

    foul ball?

    It is a foul tip if it goes direct to the catchers mitt not a foul ball and if secured it is an out. other wise a foul ball does not count as a strike if two strikes are on the batter
  19. Thanks @lawump good info here. I'll have to digest this for a bit... But for those of us familiar with the NCAA DH rule what are the main differences?
  20. Guest

    foul ball?

    Is a tipped batted ball into the catcher's mitt with less than 2 strikes simply another strike or an out?
  21. Biscuit

    FED DH Rule Change

    Even if they are still filling both roles, or only once they have been substituted for on defense?
  22. lawump

    FED DH Rule Change

    I will add, even though this is not covered by the case plays, a player who starts as a P/DH or C/DH, cannot have a courtesy runner enter the game for them should they reach base. This is per an email I received from B. Elliot Hopkins on September 8, 2019. (Of course, check with your own state rules person to see if they are going to follow Mr. Hopkins' email or not.)
  23. lawump

    FED DH Rule Change

    "3.1.4 Situation J: In the fourth inning, Federico, who is listed fourth in the batting order as P/DH and hitting fourth, sprains his ankle running the bases and is taken out of the game replaced and (sic) by McGinnis, who later has an at bat. Later in the six (sic) inning, Federico re-enters to (a) pinch-hit for McGinnis or (b) play defense for Russel at first base with McGinnis still pitching. RULING: Legal in (a); Illegal in (b). Federico and McGinnis are locked into the same lineup spot and cannot be in the game on defense at the same. time."
  24. lawump

    FED DH Rule Change

    "3.1.4 Situation I: In the fourth inning, Montalbo replaces Colgate as the starting P/DH as pitcher. In the fifth inning, Colgate sprains his ankle as he slides into second base on a double. Colgate cannot continue and requires a pinch-runner. RULING: If an eligible substitute enters the game to pinch-run for Colgate, the rule of the DH is terminated and Colgate is removed from the game. The coach my substitute another player ,but this will end Montalbo as the pitcher since the substitute enters the game in the batting order already occupied by Montalbo. However, if the coach has Montalbo pinch-run for Colgate, Montalbo may continue to pitch and hit for himself."
  25. lawump

    FED DH Rule Change

    "3.1.4 Situation G: Kruger is listed as teh RF/DH, hitting third in the batting order. In the fifth inning, substitute Brodell enters as the right fielder with Kruger still the DH, hitting for Brodell. RULING: This is legal." "3.14 Situation H: With Dolan listed in the starting lineup as the 2B/DH and batting fourth in the order, the coach wants to bring in Tatelman to hit for Dolan. RULING: If substitute Tatelman comes in to hit (or run) for Dolan, the role of the DH is terminated for the game. If eligible, Dolan may re-enter the game on defense and bat in the same spot in the batting order."
  26. lawump

    FED DH Rule Change

    "3.1.4 Situation F: Sanders is listed as the P/DH, hitting in the third position in the batting order. (a) In the fifth inning, McNeely enters the game as pitcher with Sanders reaching his pitch count ilmit. Sanders continues as DH for McNeely; (b) in the sixth inning, substitute Jackson enters to pitch replacing McNeely. Sanders remains the DH for Jackson; and (c) in the seventh inning, Sanders returns to defense as the catcher and is still listed as the DH. RULING: Legal in (a), (b) and (c)." [I will note that in South Carolina, (c) would violate our pitch count rule as our state's pitch count rule states that a player who has appeared in the game as pitcher may not catch.]
  27. lawump

    FED DH Rule Change

    "...A designated hitter may be used in one of the two scenarios...: (b) The starting designated hitter may be any one of the starting defensive players. In this manner, the starting defensive player has two positions: the defensive player and the designated hitter. The role of the defensive player may be substituted for by any legal substitute. If the defensive player has been substituted for, the original player/DH may re-enter one time. The role of the DH is terminated for the remainder of the game when: 1. A substitute or former substitute for the defensive role subsequently participates in an offensive role; or, 2. The starting defensive player/DH is substituted for either as a hitter or a runner." 3-4-1
  1. Load more activity
×
×
  • Create New...