Jump to content

MT73

Established Member
  • Posts

    353
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    2

MT73 last won the day on December 1 2022

MT73 had the most liked content!

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

MT73's Achievements

53

Reputation

  1. MT73

    Appeal HR

    Bases loaded 2 out Batter hits HR but misses 2nd base. Defense successfully appeals. How many score?
  2. As an old umpire with hip/knee issues I tend to work the B over the A in a 2 man crew. I really do not see any negative issues with this. I
  3. MT73

    Runner Hit

    This one stumps me R3 leading in foul territory. Ground ball strikes 3rd base bag and then hits R3 who is still in foul territory. Out or safe?
  4. Thanks
  5. When is U1 positioned in the B?
  6. Thank you to all.
  7. Yes—I thanked him for his insights. No—just my first DBB state tournament. I umpired in NY for over 20 years before moving south. I didn’t mention his 3 balk calls in the first game as PU and his two in game 2 as BU. He called one because F1 turned his head—not shoulders or body—to 1B.
  8. Dixie Baseball. Fed rules—80 foot bases.
  9. I’m working my first S.C. State tournament and am being evaluated by my partner for future higher levels. He’s the BU. Situation #1–2 outs—low liner to F4 It looks to me like a catch but it’s very close to being trapped. I assume my partner who is in the B saw it and am awaiting his call—turns out he’s awaiting mine. We get together and he says, “Hey—it’s your call—what is it?” I keep quiet but I’m thinking, “Damn—you were right there looking at it—you call it” I finally rule it a catch. (While his pitcher is warming up the offensive coach respectfully asks me if it was a trap. I answer that it was close but from my viewpoint it looked like a catch. He nods his head and says, “Fair enough” #2 BU in A Deep fly ball to RF for extra base hit—ball is 30 feet or so fair. After the game my partner asks why I didn’t give him the fair ball signal. I tell him that it wasn’t even close to being foul. He responds that he couldn’t have known that so next time make the signal. I tell him that had it been foul he would have heard it. I’m thinking that that he should have pivoted to watch the foul line and allow me to take the runner around the bases but I keep my trap shut. Anyway—is my partner being too picky or did I use improper mechanics?
  10. MT73

    Draw the Line?

    Thanks guys. The coach did say, “Why can’t my catcher ask where the pitch was”? I tell him the catcher knows because 90% of the time I’ll announce location with my call (“Ball—low” Ball—outside”) That kind of ended the discussion—which I chalked up to his frustration with the pitcher.
  11. MT73

    Draw the Line?

    I’m working a 14U State Tournament. in the 6th inning the Visiting team starts losing big time and they put in a new pitcher. He was having “issues” finding the strike zone. Three times he asked where that pitch was ( that I called a ball) and I told him. The 4th time he asks I tell him when he throws a strike he’ll know it. Naturally the fans start chirping and the assistant coach asks why I’m being argumentative. I explain that we don’t argue balls and strikes here and constantly asking is considering just that. He goes on for a few more moments until he runs out of steam. (Earlier a few of his batters started towards first on a pitch and copped attitudes when I called it a strike) How would others here handle this situation?
  12. MT73

    Foul ball bunt

    Ejection 026: Jim Joyce (1) 1B Umpire Jim Joyce ejected Astros Manager Brad Mills for arguing a foul ball call in the bottom of the 8th inning of the Astros-Pirates game. With none out and one on, Pirates batter Clint Barmes fouled off a 1-2 sinker from Astros pitcher Wilton Lopez. Originally, Home Plate umpire James Hoye ruled that Barmes attempted to bunt the ball, thus ruling strike three for a fouled off bunt with two strikes. After Pirates Manager Clint Hurdle came out, Hoye conferred with crewmates. After conferring, Hoye ruled that Barmes did not bunt, thus the foul ball kept the count 1-2.* Replays indicate Barmes successfully brought his bat back and successfully checked his swing, but the ball did touch the bat. Under OBR Rule 2.00, a bunt is defined as "a batted ball not swung at, but intentionally met with the bat and tapped slowly within the infield." Since Barmes did not intentionally meet the ball with his bat, it did not satisfy OBR Rule 6.05(d) for a bunt foul third strike. The call was correct.^ At the time of the ejection, the Astros were leading, 1-0. The Astros ultimately won the contest, 1-0. This is Jim Joyce (66)'s first ejection of 2012. Jim Joyce now has 3 points in the UEFL (0 Previous + 2 MLB + 1 Correct Call [Crewmate]* = 3). Crew Chief Jim Joyce now has 1 point in the Crew Division (1 Previous + 1 Correct Call = 2). *James Hoye is the calling umpire and Jim Joyce the secondary umpire under UEFL Rule 6-2-c-1-a. ^This call is correct under OBR Rule 2.00 and Rule 6.05(d). UEFL Standings Update
  13. MT73

    HBP

    Many thanks!
  14. MT73

    HBP

    Which means what?
×
×
  • Create New...