Jump to content

MT73

Established Member
  • Content Count

    300
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    1

MT73 last won the day on May 13 2017

MT73 had the most liked content!

Community Reputation

44 Neutral

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. MT73

    Who’s out?

    Once had a similar situation. ‘R1. Ground ball to F3. He steps on first base and then throws to second to retire R1. ‘The coach is yelling. “You gotta tag him!” F6 plays it as a force and I signal safe. The look on F6’s face was priceless.
  2. Not sure of the situation. ‘if it was 2 outs then he could have tagged the batter to end the game. ‘This is not a force out, BTW.
  3. Nice to read that the defense knew enough to tag him at 2B. ‘Most would have thrown to first base.
  4. Unless they lean into the pitch or make it obvious—or are in the strike zone—I give the batter the benefit
  5. No. ‘The ball went through or by F3 Meaning thru his legs or by his immediate vicinity. If F4 had a play on the ball then R1 would be out but in this case that was not an issue. At least in OBR. Live ball—play on.
  6. MT73

    Flying start

    Thanks. ‘This clears everything up.
  7. MT73

    Infield fly rule

    In OBR an uncalled infield fly that should have been called can be fixed if the defense gains an unfair advantage—such as a double play. In this case it does not appear that the umpires thought it could be caught with ordinary effort. ‘So—R3 out on force at home. R1 out on force. Inning over. If they deem it to be an IFF then the batter is out. Negate the other outs and resume play with bases loaded and now 2 outs.
  8. Ok guys, but I am having a hard time not calling offensive interference on this. Do you at least send the runner back to 2B?
  9. MT73

    Flying start

    Thank you. So in NFHS casebook it says that the ball has to be touched before you call him out. ‘Or do we call him out once he backs off the base waiting for it to be touched? It does seem a bit unclear. ‘Regarding OBR—-may I assume that he can only be called out on appeal if the ball is caught?
  10. MT73

    Flying start

    I posted this in the NFHS section but one point also pertains to OBR— NFHS: Rule book states that a runner who positions himself behind the bag on a tag up situation should be called out. Do we do this as soon as he gets behind the bag or when the ball is caught? Suppose the ball is not caught? Is he still out? My question in OBR —he positions himself behind the bag but the ball to LF is not caught. ‘He touches 3rd and goes home. ‘Does this have any penalty?
  11. MT73

    Flying start

    Rule book states that a runner who positions himself behind the bag on a tag up situation should be called out. Do we do this as soon as he gets behind the bag or when the ball is caught? Suppose the ball is not caught? Is he still out?
  12. MT73

    4th Out?

    Wendelstedt 2015 An apparent fourth out is an out recorded ,upon appeal, following the third out of a half inning which benefits the defense in preventing the offense of team from scoring runs. (Pg1) ”Apparent “Fourth” Outs Appeal plays may require an umpire to recognize an apparent fourth out. If the third out is made during a play and then an appeal play a sustained the defense me elect to take the out which is advantageous to take and runs off the board. Also if there was more than one appeal during a play that ends a half inning the defense may elect to take the p
  13. Since I also do softball this is a common play since F9 plays shallow. ‘If I sense that F9 is trying to make a play I don’t break in from the A. I turn, face F9 and turn with the play to 1B—if any. If something happens that causes the B/R to go to second I don’t chase but rely on the PU to take him to extra bases.
×
×
  • Create New...