Jump to content

rhinolith

Members
  • Posts

    24
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About rhinolith

  • Birthday November 28

Contact Methods

  • Website URL
    AsiaSalesManager.com

Profile Information

  • Location
    Honolulu

More information about you

  • Your Association Name
    Hawaii
  • Occupation
    International Sales
  • Types/Levels of Baseball called
    Up to high school
  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    Search Engine (Google, Yahoo, Bing, ...)

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

rhinolith's Achievements

3

Reputation

  1. Babe Ruth rules R1. RHP makes a hop pickoff move to 1B. The right foot (pivot foot) disengages from the pitcher’s plate, but in front of the plate. Can I confirm that this is considered stepping off, or not? It matters on base awards if the pitcher throws it into dead ball territory. Thank you very much.
  2. I bought the Liquid IV at Costco and I like it. There are a few different kinds. One is like Gatorade with the sugars and another is with just electrolytes and no sugar. I got the electrolyte version in guava. I put half a pack in each of the 32 oz jugs I take to the field. Works well.
  3. Everyone: thank you for the advice. It’s very helpful.
  4. What is the proper signal and words (if any) to show an uncaught 3rd strike situation? Thank you for your advice.
  5. I always wear a throat guard. Lately I have been using the Force3 on my F3v2 mask just because it matches, but the plastic throat guards are great, too. I wouldn’t umpire without one.
  6. I registered but never heard back.
  7. I have only black bags. My favorites are the ones I got from Honig’s but I can’t remember the manufacturer. The cut out for the belt loop is in the shape of home plate. These bags seem to be a little bigger and the internal pockets are bigger, too, and fit plate brushes and other crap I carry. I recently ordered the Smitty regular and XL sizes. I will stick with the XL. But the internal pockets are not as big as I would prefer. Quality seems good.
  8. I like the NB plate shoes. I’m 280 and my current shows have been going on 2 years, but they’re wearing out and no amount of polish can help. I just ordered a new pair of V3 from Amazon. For the bases, I use an all black or mostly black sneaker with a little traction. I have a few pair that I cycle through. ASICS, NB, Under Armour, whatever. I’m not picky as long they fit (not easy) and are mostly black.
  9. Sometimes it’s tough when a really small batter comes up to hit. The strike zone shrinks a lot and—depending on their stance, which is usually compact—the vertical zone might be only 18” or so.
  10. I heard about the app via the podcast. I downloaded the app and it appears to be very useful. I hope some coaches look at it.
  11. I bought some miscellaneous items from @acpar72and it was shipped quickly and the items are as described. Thanks a lot!
  12. If a pitch is obvious to everyone that it is a ball, should the PU still say “ball”? For example, a pitch that is airmailed to the backstop? A pitch that hits the dirt in front of the plate can’t be a strike, but should it be verbalized? Thank you.
  13. Yes...I meant PU and not U1. Thank you for the detailed answer.
  14. I have seen this twice: both at different age levels of Babe Ruth. Let's say there is one out and one on at R2. Case 1: The batter thinks there is an uncaught third strike. The dugout is yelling at him to run, so he drops the bat and starts running to first. However, it's not an uncaught third strike...it's a foul tip. U1 signals out. Catcher then panics seeing the BR going to first and throws the ball to first, but overthrows the ball. R2 comes around and scores. Is the runner allowed to just run to first? I don't find a rule forbidding it, but it seems like it shouldn't be legal. It seems like R2 should be put back on second base. Case 2: Same situation but instead of the catcher getting a foul tip, the uncaught strike is just strike two. But the batter hears the dugout and coaches yelling at him to run to first. He does that, and the catcher throws the ball away and R2 scores. Thank you for the help.
×
×
  • Create New...