Jump to content

isired

Established Member
  • Posts

    198
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by isired

  1. My interpretation of the OP is that F5 caught the pop-up in fair territory and proceeded to raise his throwing hand and jump up and down with both hands raised. He moved from fair territory to the 3B dugout, while being engulfed by teammates. At that point, as he nears the dugout, the umpire calls the game, the fielder lowers his glove and the ball comes out. IMO the fielder traveling at least 30 feet (probably more than twice that from foul line to dugout even if in a right angle) while jumping up and down with the ball in his glove extended overhead demonstrates control. His celebration movements are not a part of the catch. The catch has been made.
  2. My son's team's primary catcher has worn glasses as long as aive known him (u13 through u18) and he wars the goggle-style and tears the helmet off with no issues. Biggest issue is fogging, he's got a stick he rubs on them to prevent it. Usually.
  3. isired

    Ruling

    In my experience, U9's in tournaments regularly settle under and catch infield flies. Your point about whether they let it drop is a good one, but of course there are some that will figure that out so I think wherever infield flies are often caught, you have to have the rule.
  4. Never done Babe Ruth rule set but in others the pitcher has not "stepped off", in other words has not "become a fielder" - he's in the act of a legal pickoff move (as long as he steps toward an occupied 1B and completes the throw to F3/1B). He can't fake or stop or not complete the throw, that would be a balk. In order to be able to do those things he has to step off the back of the pitcher's plate, and he is then a fielder and can do anything that a fielder with possession of a live ball can do.
  5. It just looks much tighter to me real time, even knowing what I'm looking for. Obviously the umpire has a better view than the cam, but he doesn't know what's about to happen so doesn't have that bias. https://www.mlb.com/news/brewers-fall-vs-reds-after-freddy-peralta-s-strong-start
  6. Totally agree with both of the bolded. Whichever way you look at it, Yelich should have gone back to the base. Pre- replay etc, things like that and others were called like 'yeah, we know what you meant' but nowadays everything is different.
  7. If that's an attempt, it's the absolute minimum that's required for an attempt. He's taking chop steps slowing down in case he decodes to go, on a slight angle, about 8-10° left of the foul line (of the ~90° required to make a turn to 2B), and his left foot makes one move about 6 inches further towards 2B. I don't think I could call it an attempt if I only saw it in real time.
  8. isired

    Base running

    Really curious about this - did he say that he didn't see it? And then he made the call? Or was he just not in any position to see it and made the call anyway?
  9. isired

    Base running

    How do you know that the umpire didn't see the BR miss first?
  10. I've had people say this to me before, they were confusing it with a ball to the OF where the BR is thrown out at 2B, and is credited with a hit (single). I guess they thought it was an uncaught ball to the OF that made it a hit, not the fact that the BR reached 1B safely.
  11. From umpirebible.com: But my favorite 'hands are part of the bat" explanation comes from "Little League Rules Myths" In bold below...
  12. what I want was one of the two umpires to be in the proper position to make the call. Bad luck for them that 100 fans (from both teams) seated in the stadium behind home plate had the necessary angle. If they're in the right spot an both agree he left early, and video says the opposite, then they just blew the call. It happens. As for wanting or not wanting the call "overruled" - sure, people may get upset at first, but everyone wants the right call to be made, especially in a game like that at a time like that. Many times a call has been changed after a conference, and usually the teams and fans are expecting it to be overturned. Here everyone was expecting it, and it wasn't. Lots of anger and disbelief from the offensive side, lots of big eyes and sheepish looks from the D. With nobody else on base in the tightest of tight games and the starting pitcher (who threw a gem) facing his last batter, all eyes were on the tag up.
  13. Probably overdramatic of me, but to clarify for you, it was a crucial point in a tight game, overruling the call would have sent the defensive team/fans into a frenzy, after the offensive team/fans were just starting to calm down a little.
  14. I would say that if you're going to assume, assume he didn't leave early. It can't happen often - in 4 years of playing HS and 8 years of watching my kids games plus several dozen other HS and probably 300 summer tournament and league games, I've never seen a HS age player leave early. Ive seen some appeals, because why not ‐ especially in similar situations (1-0 game bottom 6, 1 out - runner would be on 3rd) and this was the only time I've seen it called.
  15. It's slo mo because of the limitation of the video- you can't pick up the ball in real time. It's a big time zoom-in because I'm in the stands about 75 feet from home plate, focused on the batter, so the ball in the distance isn't easy to track. Live, it was easy to see the ball in F8s glove and then R2 leaving. There was nothing special, not a 'wow he got a great jump' or anything. I'm lucky I held the frame, I've gotten pretty good at filming baseball and football without looking at the screen but in big moments I often botch the framing...
  16. I was really just asking because of the BU's position and the expectation that the PU had a better angle so should have intervened, so I didn't post a video that shows the play. It was shot through netting so not perfect but you can see that R2 starts to move his arms as the ball is just about to hit the glove but his foot doesn't leave the base until the ball is in F8's glove and he's starting to bring it down to transfer.
  17. This isn't really a matter of being human. He couldn't see R2, could barely see F8. If the runner waits another full second, that's not going to change. The DHC is still going to yell "he left early!" And the umpire is still going to he calling a play he didn't see. Played for 12 years spring and summer, coached for another dozen, umpired for 6, never heard anyone tell me or any player to wait longer than necessary. And never saw that advice hurt a team until yesterday.
  18. Can't agree with having a player wait longer than necessary, nor that tagging correctly gives you a 50/50 chance of being called out on appeal. You leave when the ball is on the fielder's glove. And if you do, you should never be called out on appeal - because no one could say that they clearly saw you leave early.
  19. I think the runner, if doing it correctly, always leaves a split second after the catch, no? It was a textbook tag up, nothing special, on the video you have time to focus on the catch and then shift your focus to second base and see the runner just start to pump his right arm, after the catch,, and then take a step. Given what I learned here, if I was the PU and saw the tag up clearly, I would have told the BU that I saw him on the bag as the ball was caught and let him decide what to do.
  20. Thanks for the well thought-out responses, much appreciated.
  21. OK. I've seen, in practice, a PU change a call but I guess it was with the BU's permission. I didn't think that they were going to change it, but I didn't know that they couldn't. Didn't think it was even the BU's call the way he was running with his back to R2. Just bad luck I guess.
  22. My son had a playoff game today, FED rules (though I don't think that matters) - he's up with R2 and one out, hits a fly ball that F8 has to go back to catch, R2 tags - I'm directly behind home plate so see it clearly, and the runner left a split second after the catch. BU, who is in C, is running towards 3B on the infield grass, looking back over his shoulder towards CF. R2 tags up and reaches safely, DHC yells "he left early!" and on appeal BU rings him up. There is no chance he saw the runner leave early. I know this because he didn't leave early - I was video-ing my son's AB and happened to have the perfect angle from behind home through 2B. And I don't think he could have thought he saw him leave early, because from where he was at the catch, his head is turned enough to see F8 probably but not R2. I've attached frames, but the video is much clearer - you can track the ball into F8's glove, then shift your eyes to R2 who is just then starting to move his arms and then his foot off the base. IMO the DHC stole the call. I understamd calls get blown, I've blown calls. But I can't understand calling something you don't see. Seen coaches and fans yell "he left early" hundreds of times on tag ups, never seen an umpire make the call based on that. And I'm not even saying "he cost us the game!" - we lost 1-0, the runner would have been on 3rd with 2 out, new pitcher and B6 up, no guarantee we even treble alone eventually win. But here's my Q. The PU had the same angle I did (from the photos). The OHC went out and asked the BU what he saw, then they brought the PU out. He was looking through the infield at a good angle, so should have seen that R2 didn't leave early. Why wouldn't he overrule? Likely he just didn't see it? Or is it just etiquette not to do that on a call that was a big play? Are some calls just too 'big' to overrule?
  23. isired

    balk

    Seems so arbitrary - "shall" means "must" in MW, Oxford, every major dictionary going back a hundred years. If it now means "may" in the eyes of the law 9n the U. S. it seems like it's only because the Supreme Court decided that on that day, they were going to change it to "may". Also really takes the teeth out of the Ten Commandments, doesn't it? [emoji14]
  24. isired

    balk

    From MW: Not going to address the sign stealing...
×
×
  • Create New...