Jump to content

James88

Members
  • Content Count

    62
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    1

James88 last won the day on November 9 2015

James88 had the most liked content!

Community Reputation

9 Neutral

More information about you

  • Your Association Name
    Ohio-Kanawha
  • Occupation
    Engineer
  • Types/Levels of Baseball called
    High School, Middle School, Youth Leagues
  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    Search Engine (Google, Yahoo, Bing, ...)

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. This has never happened to me nor I have seen it happen, but someone asked and I can't find a reference. My gut is an umpire goof type thing and place runners accordingly, but not sure. FED Rules: Ball is ruled a homerun with corresponding signal. Someway, somehow the high school umps figure out the ball never left the field but actually just looked like one. What would be the ruling on how to place runners? Thanks.
  2. A couple years ago I bought the Champion Body Armor and the Champro Pro Plus Plate Armor from Ump Attire. Before Ump Attire had the free shipping both ways, I was torn between the two and bought both with the idea of returning the one I didn't like on my own dime. Ended up keeping both and wearing the Champion last season and the Champro this season. The Champion is low profile and a good chest protector. The stock straps are super cheap and should be replaced immediately. I bought the Delta Flex which made it fit much, much better but ultimately did not have enough length for the CP to be as comfortable as it should have been. I let the straps out as far as they would go and it still pulled the CP up so far it was uncomfortable. Seems I've heard that complaint from other folks on here as well and the solution was to buy the one from Razzer. The Champro costs about $20 more than the Champion but the straps are a much higher quality and didn't need replaced. That made them about equal in price. Folks are all different, but for me, the Champro just fits better than the Champion. Both seem like good CP's for the money, but I've ditched the Champion for the Champro. For reference I do high school varsity level and down.
  3. James88

    balk or not

    Building on Richvee's reference to the FED rule, if the batter steps out with both feet AND the pitcher delivers a pitch (any pitch), two strikes are called. One for stepping out and one for the pitch. To me the thought of this happening is kind of funny. Could you imagine the reaction from everyone when you call TWO strikes on one pitch? LOL. I would probably just wimp out and call one strike. Has anyone ever made this call in a game?
  4. Coaches said they brought it to the attention of the umpires and asked that they look it up. Said umps were kind of jerks about it so they just let it go. Thanks for the replies.
  5. From FED Case Book: 8.1.1 SITUATION F: R1 is on second base. After B2 takes his position in batter’s box, F2 clearly reaches out over home plate (a) prior to; (b) after F1 has made a movement that has committed him to pitch; or (c) to receive the pitch. RULING: It is catcher obstruction in both (b) and (c), and B2 is awarded first base and R1 is awarded third base only if he was stealing on the pitch. F2 may not catch the pitch until it has passed home plate. In (a), there is no violation provided F2 and his equipment are removed from the area over home plate before pitcher has made a movement that committed him to pitch. (8-3-1c)
  6. I don't do much Little League any more and don't have a rule book to check this question and was hoping you guys could help out. Pretty sure they don't, but does LL have a courtesy runner rule for the catcher/pitcher like NFHS? As I recall for LL, you could special pinch run once per inning, only once per specific player per game, and the player used as a special pinch runner could not be in the game (or is it participated in any way?). Is there a different rule for tournament play compared to regular season? I ask because some of our local guys had a 9-10 all star game last night and the umpires and tournament director insisted there was a courtesy runner rule. Coaches said the catcher got on base 4 times and they used a courtesy runner all 4 times. Thanks.
  7. Found this citation in the online Umpire Bible. This is how we approach it in our Association and honestly I'm glad we do. This weekend I had this exact type of play. Ball comes inside, catcher jumps up and I honestly did not see the ball at all once it got to the batter. I was 100% blocked out. Partner paused and made the call. The key is you better be 100% sure you saw the ball hit the batter and then give the PU time to make the call. From umpirebible.com - "Batter hit by pitch. The PU will normally get this call, but sometimes he can't see it. If you see the ball hit the batter or graze his clothing, pause for a moment (giving your PU a chance to make the call), and if he doesn't then call it."
  8. For FED rules, which is pretty much all I do, seems he comes close to violating the "After he starts his movement to pitch, he must continue the motion without interruption or alteration" provision of the pitching rules. Watching the video it seems he is right on the verge of coming to a stop which would be an interruption, be never really does. Just to be sure, are you guys also saying he continues his motion without interruption? Odd delivery for sure.
  9. James88

    Does the run count?

    So now I'm confused and need to have this straight. In FED for the example given by stkjock (tags runner for 3rd out, then throws to first for a 4th out), we're saying the run would NOT count? Force out for advantageous fourth out would negate the run? That's the way I'm reading the Childress citation but want to be sure. Thanks.
  10. This sounds interesting. What guidance have you been given on allowable use? Rotations, appeals, ?.
  11. James88

    Umpire

    Not sure what rule set you follow, but I found this in the NFHS Softball Case Book: A SECOND TIME 7.4.13 SITUATION: B1 swings and (a) hits the ball which strikes home plate and bounces up hitting the bat while the batter is in the batter's box; (b) after laying down the bat and running to first, the ball hits the bat in fair territory; or (c) while advancing to first, drops the bat in fair territory and the bat, while still moving, hits the ball. RULING: A foul ball in (a). The ball remains live in (b). In (c), the batter is out and the ball is dead.
  12. No argument here about anything in your post. The original poster wanted to know if there was a basis in the NFHS Rule Book and/or Case Book to support him grabbing the second. The answer is yes there is. When people have differing opinions on something, you always revert to the orginal rule or text to come up with the answer. However, I absolutely agree with what you said on "practical application and game management". Very nice way of putting it and sound advice. Thanks.
  13. "prevented a possible double play, B2 also would be called out" 'B3 may also be out if the interference prevented a double play" "in the umpire’s opinion, the interference prevented a double play." "If it is apparent F6 was about to tag R2 and also would retire B3 at first for a double play," "If the umpire rules that F4 could have executed a double play," "R1 is hit by a batted ball that prevents an obvious double play on him" These are all taken directly from the Case Book. Possible, opinion, apparent, could have, obvious. We can have differing opinions on WHEN or IF we should grab a second out, but NFHS rules absolutely allow umpire judgment to determine if we declare the second out.
×
×
  • Create New...