Jump to content

Mudder

Established Member
  • Content Count

    469
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

32 Neutral

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Not Telling

More information about you

  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    Search Engine (Google, Yahoo, Bing, ...)

Recent Profile Visitors

4,073 profile views
  1. I have bases, R1, none out, batter hits a clear line drive base hit to left field, definite single, possible double. R1 goes to 3B, I don't hear/see my partner signalling he's got R1 coming into 3B, so I hustle over there, throw comes into 3B from F7, easily safe. I then hear yelling and screaming coming from the plate, I turn and the batter who just hit the line drive is sprawled out on the ground at the plate rolling around and screaming in pain (later found out he blew his knee cap on his swing). The defence has not thrown to 1B to get the batter out, neither my partner or I have called time to this point, but the play on the field has completely stopped, then coaches come on the field to tend to the injured batter, my partner finally puts his arms up to signal time. What do we do with the injured batter...call him out, put him on 1B?
  2. Leg kick or not, its still IF as its not a Bona Fide slide because R1 didn't reach the base.
  3. Mudder

    Backswing vs BI

    I would think 2 and 3 is 1 condition, in other words the illegal act is the hindrance of F2's play? How are these 2 separate conditions?
  4. At that age, not sure I'd toss just for that comment, but stern warning for sure. There was no personal insult, "you" or "you're", not that that's the only reason to toss, just saying. Did you toss simply because of the F bomb, or also because of how loud it was? If so, if he had said "no damn way" instead would you still have tossed him?
  5. In 2 man, as base ump, with 2 out I've always started in B with R3 or R2/R3 (likely play at 1b on infield ground ball), with less than 2 out I start in C under both scenarios, but I noticed the 2018 NCAA manual shows U1 in C under both scenarios, regardless of the outs. Can you discuss the starting point of U1 in 2 man mechanics, with R2 or R2/R3 for Milb, NCAA , etc, and if # of outs changes it.
  6. Agree with the no IFF call, its a "flare", as you say in between, judgement call for sure. But don't agree with the off the baseline call, at least from the angle in the clip, there's not even a step and a reach by the fielder, just a reach, thats < than 3'
  7. How do either of these work better than a flex belt?
  8. One of my masks is a Diamond, how do I know if these graphite colored pads will fit it?
  9. Where did you get the graphite colored foam pads?
  10. That should of read less than 2 out
  11. OBB, I'm PU, R2 & R3, 2 out batter hits a trouble fly ball to left, F7 is playing deep, but is charging in hard and makes a circus catch. R3 tags and scores and R2 tags and advances to 3B. Defense wants to appeal R3 left early, F1 steps off rubber and throws to 3B, but overthrows F5, but ball remains in play, runner at 3B comes home, F5 retrieves errant throw and throws home, runner is easily safe. F2 then throws to F5 to again try to appeal the original R3 leaving early. I say they've lost their right to appeal because a play has happened (throwing home to get the runner after the errant thrown on the original appeal play). Defensive coach accepts this, but then says they screwed up, they should have appealed R2 leaving early, not R3, I did not allow that appeal either for the same reason as above. Questions: Was I correct in not allowing the 2nd appeal attempt on the original R3 because of the ensuing play trying to put the runner out at home after the errant throw? Was I correct in not allowing the appeal attempt on R2, or did they have the right to appeal? On the errant throw to 3B on the appeal attempt, if F5 had just gone over to pick up the ball and just step on 3B, instead of throwing home to try and get the runner, would that appeal attempt have been allowed, I think yes as no play has happened to cause them to lose their right to appeal?
  12. Until, and if, MLB comes up with some kind of basic guidelines as to what does and does not constitute an offer, vs being purely based on judgement, these arguments will always happen.
  13. Mudder

    Call at the plate

    I guess I forgot my "tongue in cheek" emoji As a BU, the only time a PU came to me on a play at the plate was when he had a violent sneeze just as the tag was being applied. He made no call and immediately called me in, told me what happened, and asked "please tell me you got a good look at that", I said ya I did, he was easily out.
  14. Mudder

    Call at the plate

    No such thing as a "bad call", you mean a call a coach does not agree with. Unless its something like a ball squirting loose possibly out of the umps view, no way as a PU I can envision a play where I would go to my BU on a play at the plate.
×
×
  • Create New...