Jump to content

LRZ

Established Member
  • Content Count

    889
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    10

LRZ last won the day on August 20

LRZ had the most liked content!

Community Reputation

339 Good

1 Follower

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Not Telling
  • Location
    SE PA

More information about you

  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    Search Engine (Google, Yahoo, Bing, ...)

Recent Profile Visitors

5,230 profile views
  1. LRZ

    balk rules?

    It is astonishing that the officials working a HS play-off game did not know the rule.
  2. LRZ

    NVR SEEN B4

    I have no idea what you folks are talking about, but I did get to Ebbets Field to see the Dodgers play.
  3. LRZ

    when is an out an out

    That's not a good analogy--it's when you got caught!
  4. LRZ

    NVR SEEN B4

    Computer-speak? I'm in my 70s, and still using pencils and fountain pens. Game-speak? I'm still playing board games. And "hacking" refers to an awkward baseball swing--"Take a good hack at it, Jimmy!"--or a hard foul in basketball!
  5. LRZ

    NVR SEEN B4

    Oy vey. (Yiddish code.) I read the two articles you linked, maven. I'm as bewildered as before, but now, it's not for a baseball-related reason.
  6. LRZ

    when is an out an out

    The out is made when the tag is applied, not when the umpire makes the call.
  7. LRZ

    NVR SEEN B4

    L33T? Is this something that should be added to the Common Acronyms page? (I did a cursory look there.)
  8. Jimurray, that is the OBR rule, right? Do you have a FED cite or answer, which is what Jeff was asking? I don't work FED, and am not familiar with those rules. Oops, just saw Jeff's question--posts passing in the night.
  9. LRZ

    Batting Out of Order?

    If the batting order is Abel-Baker-Charles, etc., and Baker bats improperly in Abel's slot, on appeal before a pitch to C, Abel (the proper batter) is out, and Baker is removed from the bases (his hit and any advances by other runners are nullified), and Baker comes to bat. Another scenario: Charles bats in Abel's spot and doubles; on appeal, Abel is declared out, Charles is removed from the bases, and Baker comes to bat. When there is a BOO appeal, the proper batter, the one skipped over, is declared out (#1 & #3 in my post above), and the batter properly following him in the line-up comes to bat (#6 in my post above).
  10. OBR 5.12 says this: "After the ball is dead, play shall be resumed when the pitcher takes his place on the pitcher’s plate with a new ball or the same ball in his possession and the plate umpire calls “Play.” The plate umpire shall call “Play” as soon as the pitcher takes his place on his plate with the ball in his possession."
  11. Nice story, Dog. But I hope you also told Steven never to carry it on the bases.
  12. LRZ

    Batting Out of Order?

    Guest NJ Coach, you did not say what rule set you were asking about. In OBR, which you can find on-line, the answer to your question is in 6.03(b)(1-7) & Comment [emphases added]. (1) A batter shall be called out, on appeal, when he fails to bat in his proper turn, and another batter completes a time at bat in his place. (2) The proper batter may take his place in the batter’s box at any time before the improper batter becomes a runner or is put out, and any balls and strikes shall be counted in the proper batter’s time at bat. (3) When an improper batter becomes a runner or is put out, and the defensive team appeals to the umpire before the first pitch to the next batter of either team, or before any play or attempted play, the umpire shall (1) declare the proper batter out; and (2) nullify any advance or score made because of a ball batted by the improper batter or because of the improper batter’s advance to first base on a hit, an error, a base on balls, a hit batter or otherwise. (4) If a runner advances, while the improper batter is at bat, on a stolen base, balk, wild pitch or passed ball, such advance is legal. (5) When an improper batter becomes a runner or is put out, and a pitch is made to the next batter of either team before an appeal is made, the improper batter thereby becomes the proper batter, and the results of his time at bat become legal. (6) When the proper batter is called out because he has failed to bat in turn, the next batter shall be the batter whose name follows that of the proper batter thus called out. (7) When an improper batter becomes a proper batter because no appeal is made before the next pitch, the next batter shall be the batter whose name follows that of such legalized improper batter. The instant an improper batter’s actions are legalized, the batting order picks up with the name following that of the legalized improper batter.
  13. LRZ

    Runner stealing home

    As others have said, if it was made from the rubber, without stepping off, this is a pitch, regardless of the pitcher's intent. But was it legal? Because the OP wrote "before coming set," I'm assuming that the pitcher was not in the wind-up position, but sideways, about to take the set position.* This, in part, is what the OBR 5.07(a)(2) says about the set position: Set Position shall be indicated by the pitcher when he stands facing the batter with his pivot foot in contact with, and his other foot in front of, the pitcher’s plate, holding the ball in both hands in front of his body and coming to a complete stop.... Before assuming Set Position, the pitcher may elect to make any natural preliminary motion such as that known as “the stretch.” But if he so elects, he shall come to Set Position before delivering the ball to the batter.... Preparatory to coming to a set position, the pitcher shall have one hand on his side; from this position he shall go to his set position as defined in Rule 5.07(a)(2) without interruption and in one continuous motion. The pitcher, following his stretch, must (a) hold the ball in both hands in front of his body and (b) come to a complete stop. If I understand the picture correctly, the pitcher did not start with either of the two legal starting points (OBR 5.07(a)(1) & (2) [the wind-up and the set]; assuming the latter,* he did not hold the ball in both hands or come to a complete stop. Consequently, the pitch was an illegal pitch, which I probably would have probably considered a quick pitch, which is a balk when there are runners aboard. Alternatively, if the catcher jumped out in front of the plate to receive the ball, Rule 6.01(g) was violated, also resulting in a balk: "If, with a runner on third base and trying to score by means of a squeeze play or a steal, the catcher or any other fielder steps on, or in front of home base without possession of the ball, or touches the batter or his bat, the pitcher shall be charged with a balk, the batter shall be awarded first base on the interference and the ball is dead." *OBR 5.07(a)(2) Comment: "With a runner or runners on base, a pitcher will be presumed to be pitching from the Set Position if he stands with his pivot foot in contact with and parallel to the pitcher’s plate, and his other foot in front of the pitcher’s plate, unless he notifies the umpire that he will be pitching from the Windup Position under such circumstances prior to the beginning of an at-bat."
  14. LRZ

    Batting Out of Order?

    In the absence of a tournament-specific rule, and considering that there was no requirement to declare "batting everyone," I'd go with the exchanged line-ups batting order.
×
×
  • Create New...