Jump to content

Umpire942

Members
  • Content Count

    25
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

2 Neutral

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. A coach thinks you missed a call. We all know 2 man, especially with multiple runners and in far away positions at TOP. You have to make a call, and you saw him tagged out. Head first slide, I had him tagged in the shoulder at 3b. (where the base coach who was also right there is mad and asking) Do we have to answer where it was , especially when its not asked nicely? on opposite, on the safes, does it help to say nope "he got his arm to the bag first" out loud ? (pick off)
  2. I think the user has mobile typo markers. the question is: If he steps off (as a left handed pitcher with man on first ), if his foot is still in the air and either fakes or throws the throw or fent was before the foot hit the ground , it’s a balk correct? The answer by @noumpere and in practice is as long as the ball released and hes touching the ground, not the motion itself.
  3. I did need clarification again on another question which I thought we went over here. Its my fault for not watching all the footwork to be 100% certain as needed to at some point look at the tag and missed the first play (balk) which is the most important. anyway, pitcher claim he pump faked to second and stepped and then went to third. I did not see that , i confirmed with that what I explained on the miss to PU the same with the 3rd base coach as what the step balk was and overturned my out call to a balk, was indeed eventually correct. I then stated an inning or
  4. FED rules but would like to know if NCAA difference. R2 on 2B, 1 out. Im watching pitcher (not good enough though) but runner had a good jump, throw ends up at third. PU calls no balk. I call no balk and signal out. Coach is saying THAT IS A BALK. Now because i looked to fast to the base for the tag, i wasnt looking close enough. After the conference with plate , I explained the left hander, lifted his leg turned, but did not step towards second but spun past and stepped and through to 3rd. PU says well call balk then. After explaining to PU he says call balk and l
  5. Umpire942

    Balks

    above i said the pitcher is off the mound, let alone plate
  6. Umpire942

    Balks

    they dont have to call time, catcher can stay at home if runner goes. ump doesnt give time, wasnt asked, ball was handed to 3rd baseman, pitcher ties show, or grabs rossin, of the mound. No problem here , he out no?
  7. innings, so a 9 mens + 7 18u inning game in 90, both plate, my i kept up with pitches, but had a miss at the plate at catcher INF (possible) regardless is both plate, i do have days and weekends will I will have 18 on a sat and 18 on a sun. (not even talking about after hours during the week) looking for staying cool tips
  8. Not sure how i have made it though the years, but its really starting to get to me. I purchased a 200$ thin vest which is supposed to last 4 hours. How its going to fit under a WV is beyond me, but im giving anything a try. how to do 9 let alone 9+ on a 90+ day. + behind the plate. Are you just asking for health trouble, let alone a miss? What are the best tips, my problem is upper body and head heat, not really feat/legs
  9. I didnt say stay and a reach, i say 3 feet, step, or reach. I did want to bring up thoughts on game management but i was mobile and didnt want to ask to many question in thread, thanks for this input as well. This was not a restriction situation, as it would have put him actually closer to me , normally i would restrict coaches that are 1b or 3b coaches. But normally use this is regulation, county, state HS games. This was 17u travel, under FED. see these where tag was avoided, If i see a tag with the runner not doing anything, i could assume hes out of the b
  10. right, thats the judgement part was it going to be a play there, did he not throw because a body in front of him and didnt want to knock him in the head, or pivots awkward to move around him, etc.
  11. True, but they can be called out for the interference , not to a not sliding rule, but because he didnt slide, he interfered. love runners not sliding to 2nd, easy one for me. if varsity, if coach comes out, "Dont even pass that line, interference, double play"
  12. I agree. They say if you know he did or did not go , call it. But if your doing this, you should be 100%. Throwing it to you partner especially with hot heads around you, also instantly takes the heat of you, which usually you have enough.
  13. 7-3-5 Interfere with the catcher’s fielding or throwing by: leaning over home plate, stepping out of the batter’s box, making any other movement, including follow-through interference, which hinders actions at home plate or the catcher’s attempt to play on a runner, or failing to make a reasonable effort to vacate a congested area when there is a throw to home plate and there is time for the batter to move away. PENALTY: When there are two outs, the batter is out. When there are not two outs and the runner is advancing to home plate, if the runner is tagged ou
  14. less then 2 outs its the runner, 2 outs its the batter, you cant call a double play , unless I would only reserve for malicious contact on catcher.
  15. if your ever in doubt, even if in batters box , or leaves the batters box, intentional or unintentional, catcher has the right of way. But the player touching a live ball was an interesting twist. I would still have interference, runner out , if 2 outs batter
×
×
  • Create New...