Jump to content

Umpire942

Members
  • Posts

    46
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by Umpire942

  1. its just the difficulty of getting RLI and clean up at second. For my own pregame, im going to tell me partner on DP ball, i will communicate IF i can cover at third base, but if I do, Im now the BU, and he is the PU seems the best approach out or reading all the responses.
  2. Kevin_k and Matt are basically saying opposite answers. @Kevin_K i think is saying after the cleanup i just go to plate @Matt you are saying yes i do have to cover third, unless there is a play action all at first. and no dp? or even still ?
  3. Pre pitch i have already signaled i have the play at 3rd if it comes there. Does that mean overthrow too after im cleaning up second (and partially first) ? i believe so but ill wait and see if im wrong After the infield dp ball, the PU eventually should be up the first base side the mound to get INT or OBS at second base. (also has pull fulled ,swipe tag, and runners lane too, but dont tell the coach that). Other places have taught me the third base side(because of the secondary play) my question is on if there is an overthrow does the PU try and grab the call at third and BU at second. or is my secondary position to go home and leave the BU at his peril. Or ideally i stay at PU duties, and my BU umpire gets ready at the plate. obviously this would be a pregame thing. But who makes the call at third with PU
  4. well then is it my stance, i am tracking every ball to the best of my abilities, on literally smoked balls, blocked by the batter, im talking smashed, is it my positioning?
  5. ya after a month coming back to the website, not sure who typed that lol
  6. right handed batter, 18u, not that it really matters, but makes a bit harder (bigger taller, harder the ball is hit). Batter hits a screaming line drive down the line. What mechanic can help you if any?
  7. appeals are made live, and durring dead ball all the time, and in the play above could have claimed the other runner who i did not whisper to, didnt touch third. But as for dead for some live for others obviously not. You will not answer the question. So as I am going to continue to assume, if a game winning run comes in. (even though base runners have to continue their running responsibilities) the ball is dead.
  8. INT/OUT yes sorry I am breaking down just this subject. A baseball game is completed. But we all know the general rule, its not over until both umpires leave. So im elaborating on this grey area here. Where the PU says "GAME OVER". Is the ball dead at this time. I would assume so
  9. but PU said game over, ball is dead no? only appeals can happen. If it was live and intentionally touched he would be out not INT
  10. i did not tip the defense in game one, they picked up on that appeal on their own. "me saying kicking rocks" i, literally took 5 seconds to look at what the base runners did, and what his did, and BU came in running into the plate and were collecting drinks and items. Were were not literally kicking rocks and staying on the field. There is no rule that we have to leave the field immediately after the game is over and have to rush off. Game 2 was more of a no, no. But nobody had any clue, and thankfully I was right as no appeal was made or even though about, gave the runner a teachable moment and made him touch. The main QUESTION in this thread was touching that no batted ball, if that was any violation.
  11. I would never help the runner, but i can tell you, everybody thought the game was over except me. all infielders did not leave fair territory yet
  12. This was FED rules. I had this play happen already once in the regular high school season. Bases were loaded, 2 outs, base hit, BR goes to first, R3 on third comes home. All other runners , and players from bench come out on to field to celebrate. I kick rocks around as I know they celebrated prematurely as runners did not complete their running responsibilities as i was watching home and 3rd base, partner was watching 2nd for touches. It was a bit delayed, we started to walk off, and coach yells Mike throw it to 3rd base. I immediately signal OUT, and said RUN does not score. (the other team wins in the bottom of next inning)... crazy. Anyway, this weekend same play, but i was on base duties. The runner says to me i didnt even have to touch second base. I should have said nothing, but i told you him you go touch that base now, you can be out. But there was a twist this time and want to know what people think. 1) the PU called Game Over. 2) the baseball was thrown by the catcher to to the mound for some reason, and the runner touched the somewhat live ball? I then told him to go touch third. Was that ball still live? could I have called him out?
  13. I know, I would never say anything to a coach, player, fan or anything standing in B or C , when a very frustrated pitcher is not getting strikes. The situation was the game is a mens league that allows for up to 3 MiLB or higher players. Although none were present on either side of this game. I could see the pitchers frustration early, and what hes trying to say to me, but i do not respond, obviously. But, I could not see anything wrong with a good 5 pitches in the first 2 innings..i can see his argument but im not behind the plate, im not really seeing them. I could kind of see it coming, Was there something i could have done or say to my partner? Hey your squeezing them a little too much? No umpire wants to hear about his strike zone, let alone from another umpire. But i am his PARTNER. First altercation happens, PU asserts back to the pitcher, "There balls!, there balls! " . 2 innings go by, the pitcher starts saying things to the umpire, body language, and then, HERE WE GO throws the hat, says you suck, bang hes gone, they start to argue, im like ok, now i can do SOEMTHING, let me do my job now and take over. Not only do i have the pitcher to keep back , i have two others on the bench saying its not right. Im de-escalating like crazy, told partner to just stay over there and relax. anyway, in this Situation, would you want a base umpire to say, hey some of those are good and your too tight this is not MLB? and change your strike zone? I dont think I would want to hear it. Anything I could have done? or was this a fire i could not stop.
  14. whats preferable to call, the knee caps or the letters. cause i think you hear more about the high ones, then the 9 iron comment ATXBlue 's answer was helpful Should have made this a poll, sorry for confusion
  15. good luck calling a strike at the shoulders
  16. No EVERYONE is not complaining, But if i hear a somebody thinking i missed (not make one), a game or 2. Usually pitcher wanted just under the knee caps, and batters made at balls above the belly button at letters. Ill know most batters prefer the inside strike , then the outside strike. since i dont know the high, low statstic, asking wether the community likes to call the knee benders or the high hard strikes just below the letters
  17. Batter lays a long which began as a fair bunt in the grass, but was hooking and spinning and as the runner is in the running lane, the ball curves into his foot. The ball was not going to go back fair, but ya never know. Runners running into there own fair ball is an out. what about foul?
  18. FED book, armpits to knees and accordance to batters "natural stance" MLB we know is the belt to the knees. I get flack for not calling those 9 iron just a hair below the knee caps, and calling strikes that are at letters/above belly button. I have a great strike zone, but you always get those complainers, and everyone can miss a pitch in these areas. So I wish i could take a poll on this one A. Strike at bottom of knee caps! (i know the pitcher wants it, but that batter really would have to go down and get that one. B. Strike at the letters! (hitters shouldnt complain, these usually get hit allot with left up) C. BOTH
  19. A coach thinks you missed a call. We all know 2 man, especially with multiple runners and in far away positions at TOP. You have to make a call, and you saw him tagged out. Head first slide, I had him tagged in the shoulder at 3b. (where the base coach who was also right there is mad and asking) Do we have to answer where it was , especially when its not asked nicely? on opposite, on the safes, does it help to say nope "he got his arm to the bag first" out loud ? (pick off)
  20. I think the user has mobile typo markers. the question is: If he steps off (as a left handed pitcher with man on first ), if his foot is still in the air and either fakes or throws the throw or fent was before the foot hit the ground , it’s a balk correct? The answer by @noumpere and in practice is as long as the ball released and hes touching the ground, not the motion itself.
  21. I did need clarification again on another question which I thought we went over here. Its my fault for not watching all the footwork to be 100% certain as needed to at some point look at the tag and missed the first play (balk) which is the most important. anyway, pitcher claim he pump faked to second and stepped and then went to third. I did not see that , i confirmed with that what I explained on the miss to PU the same with the 3rd base coach as what the step balk was and overturned my out call to a balk, was indeed eventually correct. I then stated an inning or 2 later to PU that if he stepped to third that would not have been a balk, and he said it was and would be deceiving the runner. I said im pretty sure its not (as the thread was linked above talking about this)
  22. FED rules but would like to know if NCAA difference. R2 on 2B, 1 out. Im watching pitcher (not good enough though) but runner had a good jump, throw ends up at third. PU calls no balk. I call no balk and signal out. Coach is saying THAT IS A BALK. Now because i looked to fast to the base for the tag, i wasnt looking close enough. After the conference with plate , I explained the left hander, lifted his leg turned, but did not step towards second but spun past and stepped and through to 3rd. PU says well call balk then. After explaining to PU he says call balk and loud. Pitcher claims he was already planning a step fake to second and is yelling at me thats what he did. 1) no way he would have got him if he did. 2) it was all in one motion through like I explained. So 2 questions: 1) If he did in fact pump fake to 2nd, then it would not have been a balk? 2) I could have sworn we had a thread here about balks and throwing to unoccupied bases, and that it was legal if the runner is stealing. PU says no , thats always a balk even if stealing (obviously stepping off anything would be legal)
×
×
  • Create New...