Jump to content

Umpire942

Members
  • Posts

    40
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by Umpire942

  1. True, but they can be called out for the interference , not to a not sliding rule, but because he didnt slide, he interfered. love runners not sliding to 2nd, easy one for me. if varsity, if coach comes out, "Dont even pass that line, interference, double play"
  2. I agree. They say if you know he did or did not go , call it. But if your doing this, you should be 100%. Throwing it to you partner especially with hot heads around you, also instantly takes the heat of you, which usually you have enough.
  3. 7-3-5 Interfere with the catcher’s fielding or throwing by: leaning over home plate, stepping out of the batter’s box, making any other movement, including follow-through interference, which hinders actions at home plate or the catcher’s attempt to play on a runner, or failing to make a reasonable effort to vacate a congested area when there is a throw to home plate and there is time for the batter to move away. PENALTY: When there are two outs, the batter is out. When there are not two outs and the runner is advancing to home plate, if the runner is tagged out, the ball remains live and interference is ignored. Otherwise, the ball is dead and the runner is called out. When an attempt to put out a runner at any other base is unsuccessful, the batter is out and all runners must return to bases occupied at the time of the pitch. If the pitch is a third strike and in the umpire’s judgment interference prevents a possible double play (additional outs), two may be ruled out (8-4-2g).
  4. less then 2 outs its the runner, 2 outs its the batter, you cant call a double play , unless I would only reserve for malicious contact on catcher.
  5. if your ever in doubt, even if in batters box , or leaves the batters box, intentional or unintentional, catcher has the right of way. But the player touching a live ball was an interesting twist. I would still have interference, runner out , if 2 outs batter
  6. baseball always , softball, ew were not allowed
  7. All umpires should (but are not required to) little league baseball. Situations will come up more frequently and can become a better umpire for it. But now lets say you are a veteran umpire. You are called upon to do varisity HS , every game , through out the season, as well as state finals. Maybe a few college level games, or mens amateur. As easy as little league can be, is it not doing a good service for yourself, if the next day your doing varsity game. Calling balls and strikes can be a problem. Are there higher level umpires, that still do little league?
  8. It was not booted, i judged it was not intentional. I was asking what people use in in their judgement. yours seems to be just if its "obvious" I choose if the ball goes in a different direction then natural, and where it hit the persons glove . This in not a written rule. But what I would use in my judgement. PU was silent, I had to call something as runners stopped, but fielders continued a double play.
  9. Varsity HS R1 on first, ball line drive to F4, ball deflects , turns double play, runners never ran. I saw: - the ball go one direction the player going another , and it did not hit his web. (did not look like he set it up in my judgement, which was indeed the call that was made) - there was no transfer Other then the ball going in a different direction, or not looking like it was intentional. What other judgements does everyone use? I caught heat for the call. But I was way close in B looking right at him. Also not that it matters, 2 innings later, i asked the kid, games over, did you drop it, he said no , i was hand cuffed.
  10. already know the answers to all of those. But regardless play has stopped. The 3rd base coach would be warned, which would require a TIME to be called no?, and now they cannot correctly tag the runner. Does the coach coming onto the field, during a live play, warrant a judgement of an out (we are off topic now)
  11. not sure why nobody wants to adobt this at pregame. Sometimes you can see why a pitcher might be frustrated and voices that a plate doesnt here. We miss strikes. Why cant we come up with our own signs (almost like a base umpire) to help eachother out. I do nod at the plate when its a close play at first as plate, or when it WAS a strike as Base. As if anyone is looking at me as if my partner is wrong, it lets them know we are in agreement. For the opposite if there is a mistake. That Ill talk with partner after the next inning. To right or loose of a strike zone, i might tell my partner, depending on if i know he cares, or wants to know my "opinion" again, plate sees it better, most of the time, and can see batters natural stance better then base
  12. more common is drop 3rd strike less then 2 outs, 1st occupied. if the catcher throws wild, runners can go no? ball is live, catcher made a mistake
  13. let me spin it some more, there is confusion. umpire still never said ball 4, coach yells after throw tag him, player only steps on base instead. Coaches walk out on field without calling time.
  14. catchter throws, 2ndbase tags him. hes out no? this is HS level here. not even sure why i should be asking. ball is live, umpire did not say walk or ball 4 etc. (what if he did though by mistake?)
×
×
  • Create New...