Jump to content

ALStripes17

Established Member
  • Posts

    1,754
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    9

ALStripes17 last won the day on November 12 2017

ALStripes17 had the most liked content!

About ALStripes17

  • Birthday 07/08/1988

Profile Information

  • Location
    Montgomery, AL

More information about you

  • Your Association Name
    SWAC, Alabama JUCO, AHSAA, Dixie Baseball
  • Occupation
    Higher Education Administration
  • Types/Levels of Baseball called
    Youth, NFHS, NCAA
  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    Search Engine (Google, Yahoo, Bing, ...)

Recent Profile Visitors

4,737 profile views

ALStripes17's Achievements

562

Reputation

9

Community Answers

  1. In NCAA football, kicking team first touching a scrimmage kick is considered a 'violation' and is listed under the 'Summary of Penalties' page - NCAA rule book defines 'foul' and 'violation' as both 'rules infractions' ... difference is a violation is without a prescribed penalty. Yes, in the NFHS rulebook, 'first touching' is mentioned as 'having results very similar to a penalty but is not classified as a foul' The point @maven was making is that there are prescriptions in the rule book that define the penalty of a violation. There are issues in the rule book that do not have a direct penalty associated with it and are typically the 'dont do that' prescriptions. As an aside, I would even challenge the applicability of your sidenote that says "flags mark penalties". Flags mark 'potential fouls'. The same way the whistle doesn't always make the ball dead.
  2. ALStripes17

    Is this BOO ?

    BAHAHAH, he wants abandonment during a dead ball situation!!! Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk
  3. Well people... Since my move to South Florida, I have decided to hang up the umpire mask, as I really don't have the time to travel and train for the avocation. But I can't go through Spring without baseball, so I decided to assist a local HS in the area. I have crossed that line! Oh no My first game with the team was yesterday, and I will say I made it through the whole game in the 1B coaches box without using the dreaded "I used to umpire" line. Actually probably used "good position" and "good timing" more than anything when our players were in disagreement with a call. Definitely miss donning the gear. I'll be back at some point. But for now, I have to be the big, bad wolf... I mean... Coach... Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk
  4. And I wouldn't even be surprised... Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk
  5. I consider a batter saying he 'tipped it's as in, it was a foul tip (catcher caught it), so ball stays live and batter still isn't absolved of BI liability. Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk
  6. No. No following runners can score on a play where a preceding runner is called out upon appeal for the 3rd out. Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk
  7. Although I agree with the logic of this post, the matter which the OP describes it is out of line. If he's going to challenge the idea of gas money and location change, it has to be more tactful with the assigner. Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk
  8. No question was asked of who/how schedules .... Just if the $35/game as an independent was legit. Post #2 was an edgy double down. Perhaps maybe just a 1.5x. Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk
  9. Gave my responses. Checked out my score afterwards - got a 0/0 I guess I'm kicked out of the club Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk
  10. I gave you the reply. See INT, call INT... Especially FPSR. We don't wait to see what happens on the back end. PU or BU, doesn't matter. PU has the responsibility for it when a throw is made by the middle infielder. If he sees a violation of FPSR, he kills all immediately, sells it heavily, and prescribes the remedy without hesitation. Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk
  11. If BR is out at 1B, FPSR isn't applied? Where did you get this? If there is a violation of FPSR, call it immediately and apply the penalty. I don't give a hoot what happens on that throw to 1B. See FPSR, call FPSR. Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk
  12. I only had issue with the fact that you said the PU would be mistaken if he ruled it a foul tip... You made it sound as if you were 100% sure it missed the mitt. The PU has to rule on something. Even with video replay, we aren't 100% sure here. I don't know what you're asking of this crew... Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk
  13. If you're two definites are true, then you have a foul tip strikeout Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk
  14. And you are 100% certain that the 'tipped pitch' doesn't hit the mitt AT ALL on its way to Contreras' armpit? I'm not seeing it. Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk
×
×
  • Create New...