Jump to content


Established Member
  • Posts

  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won


goody14 last won the day on September 4 2014

goody14 had the most liked content!

Recent Profile Visitors

5,681 profile views

goody14's Achievements



  1. Makes sense. The broader question is "does a walk forcing in a run constitute an ordinary play" or is it is something special because it is an award. Seems like we use the same thinking no matter walk or hit.
  2. Pretty sure I am overthinking this. 9U, OBR ruleset (don't think it would matter). Bases loaded, 2 outs. Batter receives ball 4. Runner from 3rd misses home plate. Pitcher gets ball back and time is never called. Defensive coaches tell pitcher to run over and tag R3. He does so before the runner gets to the dugout. We have an out here right. But, it did bring to mind an interesting secondary question for me: At what point is the runner from 3rd in jeopardy of being called out on appeal? Is it as soon as he is one step past home plate without touching it? Do we use the same criteria as a normal play at home - if he is around the plate, then he has to be tagged but once a distance away, the base can be tagged on the appeal.
  3. Last play of the top of the 8th in the Cubs/Mariners game. It involved a back throw, bad baserunning, a time play, one upheld review and one review not allowed...
  4. August 13 Cardinals/Royals 7th Inning No OutsBases LoadedRandy Arozarena Batter hits ball past a diving shortstop. Ball hits Molina in back of the dive. Umpires kill play. According to the MLB recaps, Molina was not called out (which seems reasonable since it passed directly through or by a fielder - certainly within a dive...since he actually dove). Of course, if Molina is not out, I cannot figure out why the play was killed. If you listen to audio, you can hear someone say "it was behind him, my fault". Maybe this was the umpire stating it should not have been killed. Or possibly, the umpires never killed it and the announcers mistakenly said dead ball. Regardless, heck of a way to get your first major league hit.
  5. goody14

    Caught ball?

    Shoot - not only do baserunners need to know, but partners need to know as well. I had a very, very bad situation last weekend where my partner paused for 1-2 beats on a liner to the pitcher (I was in C - outside diamond with view of pitcher's back) before performing a mechanic that was somewhere between a convulsion and Elaine's dance from Seinfeld. I interpreted this as an out call and called rest of play accordingly. When later asked, partner said ball hit ground. We then had to try and figure out how to solve for placement of batters and runners. Defense was not very happy (rightfully). It was no fun all the way around.
  6. Fair enough. I will stop trying to read something that is not there.
  7. Man - if we uphold (b) with no exceptions (I think this is what you are trying to get across), then that is one honey of a penalty for leaving early. Of course (b) says if the batter reaches first safely. In my example he would have reached second safely. I suppose I was wondering if there are a further interpretation to cover the ball out of play. But you are right, without that, it is a ball in the infield and no runner can score. I don't see clause (b) being an exact match.
  8. This is my first year working Babe Ruth/Cal Ripken with the special 60ft running rules. I understand that when the bases are loaded if a runner leaves early no run can score when the ball stays in the infield (if the batter reaches, we remove the runner on 3rd with no out and no run). But, what is the shortstop throws the ball out of play. If I were on a field, I would rationalize that the error means the batter gets more than one base - so the runners would as well (basically they can go as far as the batter much like a ball hit to the OF). I would put batter on second, R1 to 3rd and score two runs. Is this right?
  9. The 2019 Babe Ruth Book is pretty much a copy and paste of old OBR (before they changed the numbering and format). As such, there is no bona fide slide section. But, they still have the 6.05(m) which says any runner is out if the preceding runner intentionally interferes with a fielder attempting to throw a ball to complete the play. I would use the provisions of the new bona fide slide rule to gauge whether there was interference in this case. Not sure if this is black letter correct, but it not too much of a stretch.
  10. There is an extra clause in FED (8-3-5): I am not sure if he actually has to be running backwards or it is assumed once ball is caught he is a runner returning. If he is between 2nd and 3rd and returning to first, then his award would be 3rd - as I read the above. But, as you said, FED also dictates you can not be beyond the base missed or re-touched at the moment the ball becomes dead. So he would be subject to appeal.
  11. This is how I handled it. I made the coach give the ball to the kid, called play, and he threw it to first (without throwing it out of play again thankfully)
  12. Surely this is not the first time this has happened, but first time I have seen it. I was the umpire for this play! Kevin did a great job of describing the play. Good to get confirmation on the original call. This was Babe Ruth/Cal Ripken which is modified OBR. Now let's talk about the final part. In my conversation with the defensive coach he wanted an immediate out for not tagging up. I told him that the award was home, but if he thinks there was a violation he has ways to address this. He then asked if he can appeal, I said he could. This was coach pitch so before play resumed the pitcher did not have the ball. Since he had indicated to me earlier he wanted to appeal, this is when I "asked" him if he wanted to do that. He said yes so I had the coach give the ball to the player for the appeal. I honestly don't know how coach pitch leagues/tourneys handle appeals. I am thinking we should re-write our house rules to be dead ball appeals (even with OBR rules) at this level otherwise appeals are goofy with a coach pitcher Happy to get feedback on if my conversation with the defensive coach was correct.
  13. Not sure if this will work, but I saw this on Twitter. https://twitter.com/i/status/1031076855984447488 R1 and the first base coach saw it, pointed, and U1 grabbed it. There must have been something from that angle.
  14. I was curious about the potential protest angle when I started the OP. Given he killed the ball and as stated by others rule 10 does not cover this instance, I am not sure the IHSAA could do anything. They have since come out and said the rule was misapplied. I found it curious he did not go for help and no other umpire came in to offer anything. If a rule is misapplied, I think I go and chat with the other guy - especially in a semi-state game. Not sure if that is a best practice or not. Tough situation all around.
  15. Start at about the 48:00 mark. R2, R3 with 2 outs. Batter clips catcher's glove on swing but still serves ball into center field. Home plate umpire kills the play immediately and places batter at 1B keeping R2 and R3 in place. As all runners would have gotten a base, including B/R, the interference should have been disregarded. Can the umpire do anything to correct the misapplication of the rule? Also, what would you if you were a field umpire?
  • Create New...