R1, less than 2 outs. FED rules.
1)The hit-and-run is on, so R1 takes off for 2nd on the pitch. The ball is caught by RF but R1 is obstructed by 2B when a) going towards 2nd and b) when trying to get back to first.
2)Instead, R1 rounds 2nd but missed the base and is obstructed by the SS. The ball is still caught by RF.
In both cases R1 is thrown out trying to get back to first.
I know that under FED rules the runner is entitled to minimum one base and is protected to wherever the umpire believes they would have reached without the obstruction but can be put out if they choose to advance past the base they are protected to. I know that the runner must go back and touch first but where does the runner end up and how is the missed base handled.