Jump to content

GiantEngineer

Members
  • Posts

    23
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by GiantEngineer

  1. So what was the consensus? Is the move in the OP a balk?
  2. At the younger ages the big ones are: -never coming set -start then stop -shoulder turn to look at 1st -fake to 1st on pickoff Beyond that it can get excessive depending on the age
  3. Regardless if I got the original call right, I definitely have learned some great advice from everyone.
  4. Chicago suburbs, there is one third-party organization that handles almost all travel (including tournaments) and rec ball in area. That's the norm here. It used to be rec playoffs and tournaments got 2 man but it's slowly moving to more and more solo.
  5. Only wish it was that easy. My organization has a major shortage, week night double headers for rec ball and solo tourney ball...so bad.
  6. Yeah I messed up on that part of the play. Should have just called him safe unless I saw a clear leaving early or he got tagged. Well now if that situation ever comes up again, I'll know what to do.
  7. Had one girl squared to bunt and never pulled back and hit on the top of the helmet. FED- requires the bat to be pulled back in softball. So a dead ball strike on a head shot.
  8. True, I followed the throw from F6 but maybe could have move quicker to look at R3
  9. Solo ump Fed rules Bases loaded, 1 out, fly ball to F6 near second, call infield fly, watch catch He throws to F5 on the bag, runner was well off the bag and running back. I called him out for leaving early (assuming he wouldn't go back if he had tagged). He starts complaining that he tagged up. How as a solo ump do you see the catch and tagup?
  10. Yes, you can appeal for advantageous 4th out.
  11. 2 bases from the time of the pitch (1st play by infielder) So R2 scores and BR will be at 2nd
  12. That's why I suprised when the coach started asking. My question above was more a general question.
  13. Thanks. The coach was convinced the batter has to totally get out of the way of any fielder. I tried to explain that only the fielder most likely to make the play is protected but I think he got more confused. And hard to follow the batter and the ball going towards the fence with only 1 ump
  14. 14u FED rules, 1 man Pop foul on 1st base side Pitcher, catcher, 1B go for it, it drops between them After inning coach came over and asked if the batter going towards first is interference. I did not see the batter do anything, I was looking at the potential catch. But do I protect all 3 fielders or is it the same as any other batted ball where only 1 fielder gets protected?
  15. May to now about 40. I'll typically get to 50-60 when travel starts to wind down in July.
  16. What rule set? FED, obstruction is always delayed dead ball. Then you have to determine where the runner would have gotten with no obstruction. If it's home, then he scores but if it's third then he's liable to put out after passing third. Your second situation, keep ball live and determine where the runner would have been without obstruction and he's protected up to there but can advance further at own risk. If he didn't reach base of protection, then award bases at end of play but always minimum 1 base award.
  17. That was my thought but it just looked really strange, so I wasn't sure.
  18. Yu Darvish seemed to "pause" on this pitch with no runners on. If the game was played under FED rules, is this an illegal pitch or nothing? https://www.mlb.com/cut4/yu-darvish-lost-his-balance-on-the-mound-but-still-managed-to-get-the-strikeout/c-269323012
  19. Does R1 have to go back and touch first before advancing to the awarded base?
  20. R1, less than 2 outs. FED rules. 1)The hit-and-run is on, so R1 takes off for 2nd on the pitch. The ball is caught by RF but R1 is obstructed by 2B when a) going towards 2nd and b) when trying to get back to first. 2)Instead, R1 rounds 2nd but missed the base and is obstructed by the SS. The ball is still caught by RF. In both cases R1 is thrown out trying to get back to first. I know that under FED rules the runner is entitled to minimum one base and is protected to wherever the umpire believes they would have reached without the obstruction but can be put out if they choose to advance past the base they are protected to. I know that the runner must go back and touch first but where does the runner end up and how is the missed base handled.
  21. Thanks for the clarification. My assignor said it was interference but when I checked the rule book it conflicted with what he said.
  22. I had this play come up last season and wanted to get some opinions on it. 5/6th grade - modified FED rules Runner on 1st takes off stealing and the catcher makes a bad throw that goes between 1st and 2nd. While the 2nd baseman is bent over trying to pick the ball up he is run into by the runner. I called obstruction because the 2B was not in possession of the ball and wasn't making an immediate play on the runner. How would you have called this?
×
×
  • Create New...