Jump to content

The Man in Blue

Established Member
  • Content Count

    469
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    10

The Man in Blue last won the day on August 11

The Man in Blue had the most liked content!

Community Reputation

132 Neutral

1 Follower

Profile Information

  • Location
    Central Illinois

More information about you

  • Your Association Name
    Land of Lincoln Officials Association
  • Occupation
    Public Relations
  • Types/Levels of Baseball called
    NFHS, USA Softball, USSSA, Pony
  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    Search Engine (Google, Yahoo, Bing, ...)

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. Extremely unlikely ... not impossible. And definitely entertaining!
  2. Because I wrote something that I took a step back and re-read. I wasn’t trying to be disrespectful of Thunderheads, but it could have been read that way. I still cannot find a way to delete a post. I know it used to be there, but it is gone. Not sure if it is a browser issue or what. Since I can’t delete, I can only edit. I could have posted something nonsensical but chose to clarify instead.
  3. Possibly my misunderstanding of how that was written then ... I read it as the whole statement came from NFHS. After looking at the linked post, I believe you are correct.
  4. Oh, no, that’s the other beautiful part of this plan. No more player safety issues with having to squat down behind the plate or getting hit with the ball. The players’ union will love it! By not using a catcher, it frees up players to play other positions, like more relief pitchers. We will also add a new position known as the “defensive specialist”. This player will be able to go anywhere on the field as long as he starts in FOUL territory when the ball is pitched. If there are runners on base, the DS can stand behind the net to retrieve the ball from the net to throw out runners who may be stealing. If there are no runners on, the DS could be behind the net for batters who decide they don’t want to actually swing a bat before running to first OR he could start out down the first or third base line to jump into play and become a fourth outfielder or fifth infielder!
  5. I agree completely. “Can you handle this for me?” was how I read that situation. However, I have to say I am a bit conflicted here. Because I do agree with LRZ that I shouldn’t have added what I did to the conversation, where is that fine line between me saying he was on a short leash for the rest of the year and a coach preventing a kid from playing because he has a reputation? They boil down to the same thing IMO.
  6. I am deleing my comments on this as they aren’t productive.
  7. On cloudy days, if a fielder is wearing sunglasses on top of the cap, it is being worn as an adornment for styling purposes. I don’t necessarily agree, but that sounds like an NFHS interpretation that says sunglasses can be (and are) considered jewelry if not being used properly. EDIT: it is clarified below that the whole statement was not an NFHS statement. The portion I referenced was the state’s addition, not NFHS’s.
  8. Diversity perspective, because I am what you are calling a “yeah but guy” ... that is how some people learn. I am that way. I don’t do well with “because I told you so” or “that’s just the way it is”. Like Bruce Hornsby said, “Some things are made for change.” I am a “deconstructionist”. If I want to know how something works, I tear it apart and put it back together. This is not a bad quality for somebody who really wants to understand the rules. To fully understand how something works, one also needs to understand how it doesn’t work. Again, I believe that is a great quality for an umpire as it helps one to be able to rationalize logically through problems. I’m also guessing ArchAngel is what would be classified as a “green” on one of the common personality tests. I am green. I can be diplomatic, but my directness and inquisitiveness (and sometimes obsession) is often misinterpreted as being contrarian (or just being a stubborn a-hole). That isn’t the purpose and certainly not my intent. The purpose is to help me fully understand. I don’t always agree with AA, but I like to walk through his logic to understand why he thinks things. I like to do that with each poster in here — I don’t have to agree with your position, I just “need” to understand why you are coming to that conclusion. I have to say the guys who throw directives at AA and say “You’re wrong” are being just as obstinate as they think he is. I alluded to it another post, but try cracking open the rule book and supporting your position. Sometimes you find you are wrong. I don’t care how many years of experience you have or at what level — when you rely solely on what is floating around in your head for decades, you will be wrong on occasion.
  9. I read that Manfred is going to convince the Atlantic League to use this system next year:
  10. Can I “borrow” that to use in safety presentations? That branching is crazy ...
  11. Curious to see the replies here. Lightning/thunder has been a very contentious issue in Illinois the last few years.
  12. Even though we use the “If fair” verbiage, the rules do not provide for an indeterminate status between fair and foul, not even on an infield fly. An infield fly is an out until it becomes a foul ball. This is not expressly written, but it is communicated in the language used. NFHS 2016 Softball Case Book 8.2.9 SITUATION A: The umpire calls “infield fly”but the ball curves and becomes a foul ball. RULING: The call is reversed. It is not an infield fly but an ordinary foul. The batter is not out unless the foul fly is caught. If caught, each runner shall retouch the base occupied at the time of the pitch. (2-30) 8.2.9 SITUATION B: With R1 on second and R2 on first and less than two outs, B3 hits a pop-up that comes down over foul territory. Is this an infield fly if (a) it touches ground out of the reach of all infielders and then takes a long hop into fair territory between home and first or (b) it is within reach of an infielder who does not touch it and the ball bounces into fair territory? RULING: It is not an infield fly in (a) If the umpire thinks it is not within reach of any infielder. In (b), it is an infield fly. (2-30) NFHS 2018 Baseball Case Book (essentially the exact same language) 7.4.1 SITUATION E: The umpire calls “infield fly if fair” but the ball curves to foul territory. RULING: The announcement is reversed. It is not an infield fly but an ordinary foul. The batter is not out unless foul fly is caught. If the fly is caught, each runner must retouch his base before attempting to advance. (8-4-1j) 7.4.1 SITUATION F: With less than two outs and R2 on second and R1 on first, B4 hits a pop-up that comes down over foul territory. Is this an infield fly if (a) it touches the ground out of reach of all infielders and then takes a long hop into fair territory between home and first or (b) it is within reach of a fielder who does not touch it and ball bounces to fair territory? RULING: Not an infield fly in (a) if umpire thinks it is not within reach of any fielder, but it is a fair ball. In (b), it is an infield fly (2-19-1, 8-4-1j) 7.4.1 SITUATION G: With R2 on second and R1 on first and one out, B4 hits a high fly to second base which could have been caught by F4. Neither umpire declares "infield fly." F4 unintentionally drops the ball but picks it up and tags R1 who is off the base. RULING: The half-inning is over as R1' s out is the third out. The infield fly out for the second out holds even though it was not declared. The situation determines the out, not the declaration. The umpires should always declare "Infield Fly, If Fair" to lessen any confusion. Then again, the rules state it must be declared to be an infield fly when the case books say otherwise.
  13. Just watched this ... Umm ... OK? Honestly, I’m a bit torn on this ... we want to get the call right. On that stage LL wants us to get it right ... but what precedent did that just set when it is not in the rules? (Or is it in LL rules that you can call a do-over?) Isn’t there another very active thread right now about “Don’t make $4it up?!” LL just did. Sometimes you just got to eat it ...
  14. Middle school scholastic contest last night ... two private/parochial schools in their first game of the year. It was a game that should have been over in the 4th inning (run rule) but the visiting coach goofed and put his subs in an inning too early. We end up playing an abysmal 7 inning game ... HT down 17-5 I the bottom of the 7th (VT scored the “needed” runs in the top of the 7th of course). For the second out, I rung up a batter on three straight pitches all sitting right on the outside black. Before I have even pulled the ripcord the kid turns around, looks right at me, and angrily SCREAMS “That was low!” I immediately started to walk down the third base line to talk to the coach as the hitter is headed back to the third base dugout. It looked like I was following him which was unintentional. I tell the coach “There is one out to go, you can take care of that or I can.” After the next out the first base coach comes running over and rather giddily asks “Did you toss him?” I told him no I didn’t due to the timing, but the kid wouldn’t get any slack the rest of the year (I have them a few more times). The coach seemed disappointed. I forgot who posted that great suggestion (“you can or I can”) on here, but thank you! Saved me some paperwork and a headache in an already atrocious game. Post game note: We had two different teams for the second game (I wasn’t supposed to have a DH, but ended up with one). The coach of one of those teams asks if I tossed the kid and I say no. He explains the first base coach’s reaction (seeming like he hoped I did) — he probably wanted me to because the kid is a problem (he’s been kicked off three teams so his parents keep changing schools).
×
×
  • Create New...