Jump to content

BuckeyeMike

Established Member
  • Content Count

    397
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    1

BuckeyeMike last won the day on October 4 2015

BuckeyeMike had the most liked content!

Community Reputation

116 Neutral

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Male
  • Location
    Iowa

More information about you

  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    Search Engine (Google, Yahoo, Bing, ...)

Recent Profile Visitors

3,732 profile views
  1. Go to http://maskitsports.com/contact.php He answers the phone and is a really good dude to talk to. My turnover time was about 2 weeks. $45.....Mask looks AWESOME.....like new. A+
  2. Is this different than the NCAA video test question this year where the 2 outfielders collide and it's ruled "not voluntary release"? For those not familiar, RF & CF (? can't remember) converge on a flare to right-center and the fielders collide. The ball ends up in one of the fielder's gloves and the other fielder actually plucks it out and throws it back to the infield. From the clinic and the correct test response, the NCAA wants this ruled a no-catch because it wasn't voluntary release. Is this different? Or am I misinterpreting something?
  3. I had the exact same thing happen to me last year. Those pants are now at the bottom of the rotation.
  4. I'm a little late to the party (football/volleyball obligations and general "busy-ness"), but I'll be attending as well. I look forward to meeting up with everyone.
  5. I bought 72" and they need to be double-knotted. Could get away with probably 63's if you don't double-knot.
  6. A wise old sage once told me, "If you're going to believe those who praise you, believe those same people when they tell you that you sucked tonight". The moral is as @HokieUmp said; don't get too high and don't get too low. You know in your heart when you've done a good job or not. Let you be your own worst critic.
  7. FWIW, I DID keep my mouth shut......I just raised my arms for a split-second. But yes.....you're absolutely correct.
  8. No apologies necessary and I've taken no offense to anything said here. I posted my error and solicited feedback (albeit KNOWING the answer) to improve and hopefully teach someone new to the avocation. (BLUF: LET YOUR PU CALL HIS GAME) My hands went up in pure visceral reaction thinking it was a no-brainer HBP. It took me about .05 seconds to lower them when I realized the PU didn't see it. It was not my intent to insert myself into the PU's call/non-call, but by my over-zealousness (OOO) DID do just that. Lesson learned. FWIW, it WAS the catcher/DHC that asked my PU and I to get together b/c of baserunner advances. My PU came to me and asked if I had an HBP and I said, "YES! It DEFINITELY hit him, and I DEFINITELY heard it." I learned the hard way in JUCO last year not to kill the play as the BU b/c you're just 90% sure the ball went off the batter's foot. And I pre-game this with partners now as a result......if you as a BU aren't 110% NO QUESTION sure, you better keep your yapper shut and your gestures to yourself. It seems I've now learned this as it applies to other areas. Thanks for the backing @MadMax, it was a pleasure working with you this past fall.
  9. Interesting scenario tonight. I'm BU........RH P, RH B....pitch audibly/visibly nicks batter on the backside. I raise my hands expecting the PU to call HBP. I could hear it and I saw it. PU does nothing and I immediately lower my hands, but it was too late.....the defense saw that I had something. The catcher/coach convinces the PU to come to me and he asks if I have an HBP. I say "YES. I saw it and I heard it, no question." We award, opposite coach comes out, respectful/short discussion, and we play on. My question is (and I think I know the answer): 1) Did I mess up as a BU signaling a call normally reserved for the PU? 2) If I hadn't raised my hands nor been called on it by the defense, should I have gone to him on my own to let him know what I had? It was obvious to ME (b/c I heard it and saw it)
  10. Thanks for the history lesson......very cool and much appreciated.
  11. BuckeyeMike

    Force

    The force of R2 was removed with the out at 2B. F5 would have to tag R2 at 3B.
  12. Anybody see this?? It's from Team Wendy's FAQ. I missed my chance!! Q: Does Team Wendy retrofit umpire chest protectors? A: No, this program was discontinued March 1, 2016. Due to the evolution of our business, we are no longer able to dedicate the time and proper resources to this program.
  13. I have a pair of Honig's poly-wools and I don't like them nearly as much as my GD 100% poly's........what is the attraction you guys are seeing with the poly-wool blend? I personally think the full poly looks better and holds up longer, but that's just my opinion.
×
×
  • Create New...