Jump to content

Mussgrass

Established Member
  • Posts

    214
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    1

Mussgrass last won the day on August 11 2021

Mussgrass had the most liked content!

Profile Information

  • Location
    Southeastern PA

More information about you

  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    Search Engine (Google, Yahoo, Bing, ...)

Recent Profile Visitors

1,944 profile views

Mussgrass's Achievements

52

Reputation

1

Community Answers

  1. I guess my thinking is that if he had kept on veering in his path to the plate that would be INT more than veering once. Maybe because that would be more likely to be interfering with the throw, as opposed to simply running in a spot that makes it more difficult to make the throw. Keep in mind, this is totally different by rule than RLI. In this case there is no runner's lane that he must be in.
  2. Simply running in a spot which makes the throw more difficult is apparently not interference. Does anyone have any ideas what would make it INT? I am sure if R3 had flailed his arms around or suddenly veered towards foul territory it would then be INT.
  3. The umpire did not give the foul tip signal in the video clip. He may have after it cut off. Should he not signal foul tip and then out?
  4. In the house league I umpire in the runners can lead off once the ball leaves the pitcher's hand. They can only steal if the defense makes a play on them. The penalty for leaving early is an out based on umpire judgement on if they were safe because they left early. I always understood on the small diamond that the base ump is outside the diamond when the ball is in the infield and then inside when the ball goes to the outfield.
  5. If I am seeing it right, the catcher in the Rockies Padres video had to reach further into foul territory to actually make the catch. That would say to me that his initial movement toward foul ground was justified as moving toward the throw. It could also mean he should have set up more in foul ground which might have given the runner access to the plate towards fair ground.
  6. If the defense properly appeals the runner leaving 3rd early he will be called out on for an apparent 4th out, which will negate the run scoring. If the defense does not appeal then the run counts. One more thing, different rule sets may specify the time limit for the appeal to take place. In OBR the defense has until the last fielder leaves fair territory. Other codes may be different. There is video in the Close Call Sports section of this forum from a few weeks ago showing this very occurrence.
  7. When F5 steps on third base he still has the tag on R2, who was on the base. That, to me, is still part of the appeal on R2. If F5 even looks toward home and points there while stepping on third base it probably is clear enough of an appeal on R3. The amazing thing in all of this is that nobody got ejected.
  8. I hope I am not hijacking this thread, but here goes. If there is a live action appeal (of course, not on a home run hit out) and the defense throws the ball out of play they CAN still appeal the infraction once the ball is made live if the baserunner has not corrected it. Am I correct?
  9. The 3rd base coach knew the rules, for sure, and recognized what the umpire who called the OBS was calling and signaling. The only thing he had to lose was if they only were placing the runner at 3rd then the out at home would stand. Maybe that was communicated during the action, as well.
  10. I was listening to the game on the radio. The announcers said that OBS/INT are not reviewable. So that answers that. As a Phillies fan I am not sure the umpires got it right. Not sure they got it wrong. That is a hard call to make at full speed with no benefit of replay.
  11. Mussgrass

    Passing runner

    It's similar to batting out of order. The batter who is supposed to have batted is the one called out if it is appealed properly. Not the batter who took jumped into someone else's spot. It doesn't seem fair, but that's how the rule is written.
  12. Doesn't 12U suck! I am so jumpy with a pitcher throwing hard with no control and a catcher that can't. And here comes one up and in!
  13. Also take the situation of R1 (or more runners) and less than 2 outs. A ground ball to F3 and he fields it and steps on 1st and then throws to 2nd. Players are coached to yell "tag" to remind F4 or F6 taking the throw that they need to tag R1 to get the out since the force was removed.
  14. How many games did you work to wear them out that quickly?
  15. What signals do you use with your partner(s) during relaxed action? I am talking about recognizing 1st to third situations, number of outs, I have info for you, etc.
×
×
  • Create New...