Jump to content

BLWizzRanger

Members
  • Content Count

    74
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

30 Neutral

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. As a money making opportunity for my son for the next month, he is doing local leagues and local tournaments. I stressed to him to hustle and do his best because all of the parents paid good money to be in the tournament and they don't want to see an umpire being a snot nosed kid just going through the half assed motions. They probably see that enough on their own teams. Not that he needed the talk, but, he understood. Just a different perspective...
  2. So, how could this be abused? Maybe the coach telling his catcher to go talk with the pitcher therefore saving a DC? Telling the catcher to appeal a missed base? leaving early? That is usually done verbally by getting the fielders/catchers attention and telling them what to do. Telling the catcher to inform the umpire he sucks? What else? If it would eliminate the card holders around the wrists or belt, I could be for this.
  3. OK, so, even with 2-25-1, overrunning and oversliding, 'allows his momentum to carry him past the base so that he loses contact with it' (aka, through the bag) is not applicable because of the lessor requirement of going 'beyond' (past the base but could still have contact) the back edge of the base to call FPSR (while affecting the fielder). So my original statement was this above. I booted it because I thought oversliding was one of the requirements and hence, my question about sliding straight into the bag. So since I judged him to slide straight into the bag, it was st
  4. Honest question, what is your definition of past the base?
  5. This is what I was trying to get at when I mentioned 'girth' in the original post. How can I judge it is just girth over the line or a violation of not going straight into the bag. If I can determine that the extended front foot hit the front of the bag I am judging he went straight into it. Other violations not withstanding. Simple. I guess I will know when I see it... Thanks!
  6. This might be another leading the horse to water but you can't make them drink... maybe I am the horse... NFHS. Previous posts point to Case Book 6.2.4 Situation C I am in a discussion with a umpire that the 3-1 move by F1 is illegal/legal. I think it is legal. I believe the sticking point is to when does the F1 disengage with the plate? I understand if F1 steps back off of the plate he is disengaging and can feint to 1B. On a 3-1 move, if the F1 steps, gets distance, and feints to 3B he is disengaging from the plate and therefore, he can feint to 1B. So the question is doe
  7. Maybe I am. We will see. But, I wasn't comparing FPSR to the hybrid position. I was comparing the 'front of the bag' with the entire pitching plate. If you can contact the 24 inch pitching plate at any point on it and still be legal, than you should be able to touch any point on front of the 15 inch bag and still be considered to slide directly into the bag.
  8. I will try. A better answer will come along shortly. Who had control and who did a voluntary release to try and throw the ball? I would call no catch if it hit the ground on the drop.
  9. This is one play in my memory from my last game. Trying to get my definition of 'straight into the base' standardize. A girthy R1 slides into 2B. His girth straddles the imaginary line between straight into the bag and to the right of the bag. He doesn't overslide but is able to touch the bag 'above his elbows' (think triceps - so he is laying on his left side just to the right of the bag). So this is the last picture I have of him in my memory and because so, I think I might have booted this even though I have never made a mistake. My question is if I can notice his lead foot hitt
  10. Yeah, that's what I was thinking when I told him we would go with his call. So even though I thought the BR beat the throw, it was a close play, He could be wrong, I could be wrong. My board is saying getting the call correct is the priority and I don't think anyone disagrees with this. But the step before, when to conference, is the gray area. Its an art not a science.
  11. Continuing with this play, both the announcers noticed that the F3's foot actually moved backwards and touched the base AFTER the runner went by. The BU used the wrong mechanic and signaled safe? If he even noticed the BR missing the base, he didn't think the F3's inadvertent touch was an appeal - which it wasn't. But, the announcers kept saying that runner should be out by the inadvertent touch.
  12. Japan bombed Pearl Harbor. Everytime I use this quote, I get the standard, 'Japan bombed Pearl Harbor'. I didn't want to jinx it by not seeing it. Uncultured people, I tell ya...
  13. I think my standard will be that, while touching the bag, the fielder looks at me with puppy dog eyes... that will suffice for me...
  14. Happened today to me. I was PU. Both first year umps. My partner's first game ever. My second game. Play at 1B. BU was in 'B' and called the BR out. HC visited the BU and the BU came and conferenced with me asking for help. There wasn't a swipe tag or pulled foot and I wasn't asked if there was. I was asked what did I see. Now, I saw the runner beat the throw. But, I didn't tell my partner that. I told my partner that we should go with what he called. Mind you, I wasn't thinking 'judgement call' and I didn't specifically say that to my partner. I just said we will go with
  15. Would this be something the coach could take to the assigner - just to let them know they need to review this rule or would that be picking up the wrong end of the stick?
×
×
  • Create New...