Jump to content

BLWizzRanger

Members
  • Posts

    153
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by BLWizzRanger

  1. I agree with this statement. I have come to the conclusion that in some instances, you have to keep moving to see what you need to see. This doesn't take away from hustling more, but, there are instances where I am a two or three steps from where I should be but I have stopped to follow the rule of still head/eyes make the best calls.
  2. Yeah, JC ball. Dirt, not clay. Home team had a decidedly fielding advantage. They should have named it Strawberry Field. Had two mini tornadoes during the games. On the bright side I learned how to clean my shoes again. First world problems. To paraphrase everyone, suck it up and get into 'C'. Got it.
  3. OK, start lambasting me. This was an all-dirt infield. Grass line in my mind for this situation/game was IF/OF line and not in-front of base-grass line. I don't know why you guys couldn't see that... lol... I was standing OF side of second on C side. Maybe that will help. So, after reading all of these again and using yall's perspective, stay in deep C, giving F6 room to make a play (can I say like the room given F3 when in A?). If a grass IF, stay in the grass. Maybe moving to the edge if F6 starts in front of the edge. I actually started in this general area for the first pitch or two but didn't feel comfortable there. I will have to get over that. Thanks guys.
  4. Yeah, I understand the IF playing up is to stop the player on 3rd from scoring, I won't go out on the limb and say that there is 'never' a play at third during this situation. This is baseball. For example the catcher blocks a ball and it kicks up the 3rd base line where he can't get R3 scoring but, hey, R2 was sleeping and he didn't get a good jump. F2 throws out R2 at 3rd. Or, F6 dives at a ball and knocks it down to where there is no play at home but he tries to get R2 at 3rd. I know these are extreme examples but could happen especially in high school... When I say outside, I am meaning toward the outfield side of the imaginary straight line between the bases. Sorry if I am confusing this with the base path. And yes, I was still in the dirt. What I gather from you is my first movement should almost always be into the working area - don't stay outside.
  5. Well, from what you and noumpere mentioned, I guess I played the second play by the book then. It didn't feel like a good call on the fly ball because I didn't see the catch and it wasn't an instant showing of the ball from F9. The only solace was the runners only moved up one base and the inning ended on the next batter. The first play positioning didn't feel right for any bang bang play - like R2 going to 3rd (stealing or just a play on them at 3rd) with a drawn in infield, I would still be on the outside hustling to third and I would probably be late since the secondary lead of R2. Yes, it was less congested for the IF to make a play, but, everything else I would be horribly out of position and I probably should get back inside if time allowed - say a tag up.
  6. 2 questions here that I haven't seen. I did two JC games yesterday and experience the following: One. R3 & R2, infield in. Being in B or C made the area congested. I went to a 'B' position outside of the basepath. Is this correct? should I have stayed in C or gone elsewhere? I can see the disadvantage of being outside the basepath and figured out more hustle would be needed but is there a better place? Two. R2 & R1, less than 2 outs, in C position. Can of corn to F9. He takes a path similar to Jeffrey in the Family Circus cartoon (for the young ones here): F9 starts toward centerfield so I take the call. He ends up diving for the ball but the outfield is lower at that point and the grass is high. I can't see him make the catch and call no catch (but, I didn't see the ball bounce either). But I was backing up to a point to see the tag at second. Where can I go to make this call? I cant/shouldn't go out or is there a limit how far to go out? If I go out, should the plate take the tag? Was that the best call I could make here? Secondarily, no particular situation, if the fielder starts running around like Jeffrey, is that an automatic going out? FWIW, he said he did when I asked him a few innings later. Anyways... Thanks.
  7. Well, that is better than confirming base height of less than 3 inches.
  8. Ok, I stand corrected. But, FED 6.2.5 says .... it is a balk ... runner on base ... while he is not touching the pitcher's plate, makes any movement naturally associated with his pitch.... So take the word deceive out of there, isn't this what the pitcher is doing in my example?
  9. Question, if R1/R2 tries to steal a base and the pitcher steps off and throws home, couldn't you perceive that as trying to deceive the batter and therefore a balk? IOW, the pitcher, now infielder, throwing damn near the pitching rubber to home, mimicking a pitch, is trying to deceive the batter. Of course, If there is an R3 trying to steal home or feints to home, then that is legal.
  10. ok, you got me. egg shape. should have known better.
  11. IAS, what does this mean? Are you giving the batters the corners on high pitches? And I would guess giving the extreme corners on the low pitch? I can't vision an egg shape for a strike zone.
  12. I don't know the answer here, but, I am sure a lot of us have seen the whole damn team out there swinging their bats. WTBS, I have restricted them to the upcoming three batters but I don't have any rule backing on this. I have also restricted the batters to stay on their side (seen mostly in lower aged tournaments) where they go across to see the pitcher from their side of the plate. I reason that they won't be allowed to go across in high school, might as well have them learn that now.
  13. Fair enough. But I wasn't saying dismiss the advice. There comes a time when you have to be yourself and accept that fact. There are often times 85% of the advice matches across the opinions given in these threads. For example, hollering across the infield or the amount of jabbering/jockeying one will allow or tactics used to get a point across. How many times has a thread here stated, in part, "I would have done this"? I will duly note the example, but, at the end, I have got to be comfortable in doing those actions. Me being me. As a eleven month umpire I know I don't have the experience of most of you, but, I have experienced a lot of what crosses these threads - some before I have read the advice and some after. I have even gotten feedback from an evaluator (so real time eval) that said I should have dumped a guy but I didn't because what they said didn't bother me in real time as much as it did the evaluator afterwards. I am still iffy whether I should have or not, but, I am ok that I didn't. More to learn here.
  14. To hopefully add on to what the others have said here, more distinctly by Thunderheads. The question that came to mind was do you want to be liked as a person or as an umpire? From what I have read, you are trying to be liked as a person. Nothing wrong with that. And your actions are such that you are accomplishing that goal. However, the coaches don't seem to be giving a rat's butt if you are a liked person or not in the situation you are describing. They are disrespecting you. No way am I going to truly be 'liked' by a coach that I have only seen for 2 hours, I am judging the actions of his or his players, and all of the calls went against his team. If they subconsciously liked you or liked the color of your ball bags or weren't POS themselves, they wouldn't be disrespecting you. In other words, you be you. You can't please everyone. If you mature as an umpire to have a slightly harder edge for the situation, that is not necessarily a bad thing.
  15. <feeble attempt for joke about a strike mechanic.>
  16. Nice pics! But, who do you keep pointing to? 😀
  17. True story. At a camp and doing 3-man for the first time (3rd game over the weekend - all 3 games in 3-man) First time at 3U. R3, I am in 'D'. Out of the corner of my eye, I notice something dropping out of the sky and landing behind me to the right. When I found it, it was a 'bat' of the mammal variety laying on the ground in foul territory. It was twitching. Not really a stop all action type of situation, so I radioed the evaluator, since I didn't know the hand signals for bat removal, that I needed a towel to carry the bat off. 3BC, R3, and F5 are all distracted in between pitches looking at the bat on the ground. It keeps twitching. I thought it was in the last moments of its life. Maybe 15 minutes later when the inning ends and field maintenance (FM) comes out to remove the bat, FM touches the bat with a extension claw. Turns out, there were two bats lying on the ground. I can only assume that they were procreating. Who knew? Surprisingly, the bat lasted a whole half inning... longer than what I could...
  18. Let it be known, I did not derail or hijack this thread. (I do have a true live 'bat' story that did happen in one of my last games though. But, I will save it for another day.)
  19. I just wanted to add that determining if a ball hits the hands or the knob of the bat or both is a difficult call as well. I had about three of them... I think I will just start calling HBP and send the batter on his way to first.
  20. Sorry, the weekend cant come fast enough.
  21. Well, I did and that is why I asked. Both had a slightly different mechanic. But go with the Lentz mechanic. Got it. Thanks.
  22. OK, so what is the actual mechanic here? I know pointing out the obstruction and letting the play continue. Now, lets say the play is at the plate on the obstructed runner at another base, when that play is finished and there are no secondary plays (the ball being thrown to another base), does the umpire (a) give the safe/out call on the play and then wait for the play to end to call time and award per the obstruction? (b) give no call on the play and then wait for the play to end to call time and award per the obstruction? I had a play at the plate that I called obstruction on the catcher. I made the safe out call, waited for the play to end, and then called time and awarded the base. My thinking was/is call the obvious play so there is no question to what I saw and so that the play can continue but once the play stopped, immediately call time and make the award. I was told by my partner (who I wouldn't say was a veteran) to call time when the play at the plate happened and award the base with no waiting for a secondary play.
×
×
  • Create New...