Jump to content

TOMUIC

Members
  • Posts

    13
  • Joined

  • Last visited

More information about you

  • Your Association Name
    USSSA
  • Occupation
    Retired
  • Types/Levels of Baseball called
    High School
  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    Other (explain below)

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

TOMUIC's Achievements

1

Reputation

  1. Just refer to Señor Azul’s response( Oct 14) and you will have the right answer. As he stated we are right and the others are wrong. Unless they can show us a current MLB interpretation, which evidently they cannot.
  2. I am not sure if I’m following the last sentence of your response properly. Suppose with loaded bases and a ground ball to the first baseman who steps on first (retiring the BR)before the runner from first is anywhere near second, and now this same runner misses second on his way to 3rd due to a wild throw, If this runner is out on appeal and it’s the third out, any runs scored ahead of him will count because his out is NOT a force out. Again, if I’m not following your last statement properly I apologize. Also my only concern here is OBR, nothing else
  3. Senor Azul, thank you for your response. I value your responses and know you won’t state anything that cannot be supported by rule. I have been less aggressive in my stances on this website, not because I’m not sure of myself, but I haven’t been involved as long as many of the names found here. I was hoping you would get involved in this ongoing discussion, and I am so glad that you did. One gentleman on this site (several weeks back) who did not agree with what you and I are agreeing upon now, told me to call it the way I want and enjoy my 10U career. That was quite a remark, but I’m not here to argue, I just want proper rule interpretations presented, just as I know you do.
  4. The only Wendelsted RIM that has been cited here was the 2013 manual, which states that the order does matter when exactly 3 outs result from multiple appeals.. As Señor Azul stated, is there a more current ruling regarding this matter. I contend that the current OBR interpretation is that the order of appeals matters.
  5. Señor Azul, are you agreeing that as long as a force out occurs on a following runner, then the moment that the preceding runner misses the next base does not matter. That is the point I have been trying to make regarding 5.09(b)(6), which would then also support the fact that the order of appeals does matter with regard to negating runs.
  6. Thank you Senor Azul for citing the Wendelstedt interpretation in its entirety. If others refer to the current OBR Interpretation of “the order of appeals “ I think they will see that it is in agreement with what you quoted from the Wendelstedt Manual.
  7. R1 & R3, one out. Ground ball thrown past the 1st baseman who retrieves the ball. R3 has crossed the plate and R1 has already passed second when the first baseman steps on 1st appealing that the BR missed 1st base.The umpire immediately calls the BR out (now 2outs) as the ball is then thrown to 3rd where R1 is called safe. Now the 3rd baseman properly appeals and R1 is called out for missing 2nd base (for the third out). Based on current OBR interpretation should R3 legally score a run?
  8. The wording is quite precise, it says that if a following runner is put out on a force play, the force is removed.
  9. Loaded bases. One out.Ball hit sharply to center. R1 is forced out at second base AFTER R2 has PASSED AND MISSED third base. Both R3 and R2 score. Now R2 is out on appeal for missing 3rd base for the third out. Since OBR 5.09(b)(6) clearly states that THE FORCE IS REMOVED ON A RUNNER IF A FOLLOWING RUNNER IS PUT OUT ON A FORCE PLAY, it appears that R3’s run will count despite the popular thinking that the force existed at the time the base was missed, which in many instances is indeed the case, BUT NOT SO IF 5.09(b)(6) is properly applied. If “when the missed base occurs” is the only factor in determining whether the force is still in place, then there is NO REASON WHATSOEVER for 5.09(b)(6) to include the wording “ON A FORCE PLAY”. Simply stating that “retiring a following runner before a runner reaches the base originally forced to”would be a more than sufficient interpretation. However, the wording of 5.09(b)(6) has been in the OBR no less than forty years,so to categorize it as just one of the many “errors” found in the rules is somewhat narrow minded. I would think 5.09(b)(6) may also play a role in the seemingly ongoing debate regarding the “order of appeals”. Looking forward to healthy discussion.
  10. Maybe the answer to this discussion lies with OBR 5.09(b)(6) which states that the force is removed if a following runner is retired ON A FORCE OUT.
  11. TOMUIC

    Infield Fly

    The act of a fielder intentionally dropping a fly ball or line drive, AFTER MAKING A CATCH, can occur at any time. Naturally, the application of the rule ( ball dead , batter out , runners return ) is determined by the conditions found in the rule itself. PLAY: Runner on second, one out. Pop up to the second basemen. The ball is caught, then voluntarily and intentionally released (dropped) to the ground ( the runner was several feet off second from the time the pitch was delivered). The runner breaks for third (without retouching second) and is safe at third. if a proper appeal is made ,the runner will be out. In this play the fielder clearly made a catch ,then chose to drop it, (for whatever reason). If asked, the umpire will simply explain that a catch was made (batter out), but the ball remains alive (first base not occupied). Once again, the physical act of dropping the ball intentionally after making a catch, can occur at any time, yet is totally independent of whether or not the rule for an intentionally dropped ball will be applied.
  12. TOMUIC

    Infield Fly

    OBR A declared infield fly is caught, then intentionally dropped to the ground. The runner from third, standing several feet off third base from the time the pitch was delivered, sees the ball on the ground, breaks for the plate, (without tagging up) and scores. If the defense appeals, is the runner out?
  13. TOMUIC

    Runs Scoring

    PLAY: Loaded bases, 2 out. On a base-hit to the outfield, the runners from second and third score. The runner from first misses second and when he is almost to third base the coach yells to him to go back and touch second. As he is returning to second, the batter-runner is tagged out between 1st and 2nd (for the third out), JUST BEFORE the runner is able to get back to second base. Playing under OBR, can the defense appeal the runner missing second and if so, what happens?
×
×
  • Create New...