Jump to content

Vegas_Ump

Members
  • Content Count

    33
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

3 Neutral

More information about you

  • Your Association Name
    Clark Co. Umpire Assn
  • Occupation
    USAF Retired
  • Types/Levels of Baseball called
    Little League Baseball & Softball
  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    Search Engine (Google, Yahoo, Bing, ...)

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. Careful how the word "appeal" gets thrown around! There are certain plays that are "appeals" of the offense committing a running violation. Whether or not the ball was fouled is NOT an appeal play! So don't use that terminology like that. You do not ever have to "ask for help" from the other umpire unless you want to. (No coach can force you to, but it's often courteous that you do--good form--, but by no means can you poach--overturn--a call that isn't one of yours. That's one of those myths of baseball.) Anyway, you gathered data from your partner. That's a good thing as long as you don't keep doing it for every other play! Mainly understand the difference between the terminology of "appeal" and "going for help". Its important that you use that language precisely. Here's a play I had that was quite the opposite! 2-2 count and the batter swings and.......well, I heard a tick. I ruled FOUL as the ball rolled to the backstop. Everybody else was telling the kid to run (as if it were a U3K). There was all kind of bedlam going on. I had my hands raised, and I ruled foul and the ball was dead. Batter comes back with a 2-2 count. The claim was made that the "tick" sound was the bat hitting the plate and NOT the ball. (Could have been.) I did ask for help, and my partner (in "A") said that he was not sure either way. I pronounced the following: "I cannot UNfoul a ball. The call stands. I am NOT Angel Hernandez!" You had a better choice! If you let the play go, and then you and your partner were 1000% sure it WAS foul, you CAN reset it! And that IS making the right call. In my case, I thought I was right--I had it "foul" and so called it. (I might have been wrong.) At least I felt I handled it gracefully as I could, and I did get help from my partner. Mike Las Vegas
  2. In LL Rules, a runner is NOT out if he is hit by a batted ball IF (and only if) he is "immediately back" of the fielder. See 7.09(k) In your case, R1 is out and the ball is dead. Mike Las Vegas
  3. 80% of the beefs I have had are due to lack of rule knowledge. The usual suspects are Type B instruction, 3-foot lane interference, and ball OOP base awards. I offer every District in this State a comprehensive rules clinic, and no one has ever taken me up on the offer. And they ask me why I drink! :-) Mike Las Vegas
  4. Here I am having missed a lot of the 2019 season because I had knee surgery in February. My PT requirements eventually got me to leg curls, leg presses, and calf raises. My biggest problem was that I had to be inactive for so long, and my "good" knee/leg atrophied in its fitness. So I have been doing recumbent bike for cardio and my PT twice to three times a week. (Just getting back to treadmill. Perspective: I used to run marathons!) Of the plate games I did, I wore some pretty sophisticated knee braces, and I felt pretty good. I was tired from the work, but I know I'll have to stay with the PT through out the year. I assume you have taken some clinics that show you the proper way to squat at the plate. If so, this will biomechanically work your lower body properly and then keep your back out of pain. Staying in shape is a year-round process. I have a ways to go to get back to 100%, but so far the PT has helped a bunch! Good luck! Mike Las Vegas
  5. Ever done a girl's softball game? Those chants are festive! They ought to put those on "America's got Talent!" Basically, the defensive manager is scatalogically overburdened! Chanting in support of your own team is allowed. Sounds like that's what that was! If, on the other hand, you feel that the offensive chants are deliberately synced with the pitcher's delivery--in other words, trying to make him goof up--, then you have authority to put the kibosh to it. That IS definitely unsporting! (And other posters have cited the rule.) IMO, tell the defensive manager to obtain a deck of cards and deal with it! Mike Las Vegas
  6. If we don't allow Little Leaguers to wear jewelry, it's a little hypocritical for the umpire to have a watch on his wrist. If you need to follow the time, put a sports watch in your pocket. Mike Las Vegas
  7. Hey! The ball was NOT in play! Nothing can happen. A pitch cannot be delivered, nor can it count for pitch count rules. So this can't be an "illegal pitch". But it was damn dangerous! An umpire who does nothing (ejection or at least a warning) needs some churching' up! Mike Las Vegas
  8. There I was....... Fall Ball, LL Majors. We had the plate conference 5 min prior to the scheduled game time. After the plate conference, the two managers went off and had some kind of seance or something! Might have been talking about the Sunday Club Ball, or some other thing. (Stock market? A great restaurant? Heck, I don't know!) Absolutely nothing was going on! Defense didn't take the field; first batter did not come out. I waited and waited and waited. I tossed a ball out to the mound. I waited some more. Then I counted off 8 "constructive" warmup pitches. The next thing I said was, "Lets have a batter!" I was going to to award the game by forfeit to the team that answered that call first! Well, a batter emerged, and the defense took the field, and so we started. No way was I going to entertain any BS from the defensive team about not giving them time to warm up. We started when I said "Play!" And throughout the game, I kept them hustling on and off the field. Punish stupidity whenever possible! Mike Las Vegas
  9. The ball was Not in play according to the OP because the PU had the "stop sign" up. The pitcher delivered anyway--against the direction of the umpire. The fact that he hit the batter suggests to me (without any other data) that something dangerous--if not nefarious--took place. Agree that the batter does not get first, but I'd eject the pitcher for dangerous play. Now before all the "material" hits the fan, let me ask: Did the pitcher have a tendency to work fast? I do see that in the younger levels. A warning long prior to this incident might have been in order. If this was an out of the blue quick pitch, bango! He's gone! But if he's been working too fast, I would have warned him early in the game. Might have prevented the incident in the first place. Mike Las Vegas
  10. Vegas_Ump

    SPR

    Just know that the ONE SPR for that inning has been used. So they cannot SPR again that inning. Furthermore, the starter for whom the SPR was done can NOT be SPR'ed for again any time in the remainder of the game. In tournament play, any team may use an SPR a total of twice in any game. That is a recent change! The big problem is that during the regular season, most teams bat the lineup, and so SPR is moot. By the time they get to tournaments, they are not as comfortable with the rules. So the umpires and official scorers need to be on their toes to prevent grounds for protest. Once a pair of players has been linked by substitution rules, I often see pinch runners done by the other player with whom they are linked. Thus is it a "substitution" done legally, and it is NOT an SPR. Need to make that clear as well. Have a great LLWS tournament! Mike Las Vegas
  11. I just received this link/video from Little League that discusses the event. Note that this was NOT a Little League baseball program! 7 year-olds? YGTBSM! Mike https://www.littleleague.org/university/articles/dont-let-this-happen-two-people-give-face-to-the-worst-in-youth-sports-2/?utm_source=steve keener colorado&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=dlth link
  12. Some leagues have "time limit" rules with unintended consequences. One league where I officiate has a 1:45 rule. BUT it only applies to ties! That is, you will play all 6 innings regardless of the time limit, but if it ends in a tie at 6 innings AND 1:45 has expired, the game cannot continue. The unintended consequence was that both teams were inept and it took 2:45 to finish the 6 innings (on a school night, no less!) This is LL Majors, BTW. The parents were livid! I was Field ump, and I told the Plate ump that he lacked a basic game management skill: He needed to keep the game moving! You get a minute between innings, period! Have someone warm up the pitcher if the catcher is getting his gear. Go ahead and call for a batter if the defense is lallygagging. Sure, a new pitcher gets usually 8 warmups, but if his buddies want to chat about useless stuff, penalize his lack of urgency. Encourage hustle! As bad as that game was, some useful game management techniques could have finished it in under 2 hours. But don't allow stupid rules to begin with! Mike Las Vegas
  13. Whoa! All a pitcher has to do is disposition one batter before he can be replaced. Sounds to me like he had dispositioned more than 15 batters, having pitched 5 innings! So he can be replaced any time. There are huge amounts of bogosity in this situation! The defensive manager was acting well within the rules. Mike Las Vegas
  14. The runner running outside the lane is NOT interference.....yet! There are three criteria that must be met: 1. The runner is running out of the lane. 2. The REASON that the play was not completed was BECAUSE the runner was outside of the lane. 3. The throw to first must be a "quality" throw. [Most of the time, you never get all 3 criteria, so that's why it's rarely called.] IMO, the reason that the play was not complete at first--although the initial call suggested that the runner was retired 1-3, but replay showed the fielder off the bag--, was because the fielder did not have the ball with his foot on the bag. So the quality of the throw comes into question. (Not sure if U1 felt the tag was applied in time......perhaps he did.) Add to this the fact that the announcers didn't have a clue, and they were trying to justify or unjustify the ultimate call. I do not know which umpire called 3-foot lane violation (probably the PU); but if he did, he owned it. And that--for better or worse--makes the call correct. And (as the ruling link points out) the INT occurred before the play at first, so it kills the ball and renders all else moot. Mike Las Vegas
  15. Last year in LL District Play (different District than mine), there was a weird one! R2, R3, no outs. B3 hit a screaming line drive that hit F1 in the head! [He was immediately taken to a hospital under concussion protocol.] The ball bounced up in the air, where F8 came running in and made a spectacular catch. R3 and R2 had already run around and scored. Defense wanted to appeal R3 and R2 for leaving their bases before the catch. Umpires ruled that the beginning of the catch was the contact with F1! Two runs scored. F1 was cleared to play after a few days; he's OK. Mike Las Vegas
×
×
  • Create New...