Jump to content

HumblePie

Members
  • Posts

    62
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Profile Information

  • Location
    Georgia

More information about you

  • Occupation
    General Aviation
  • Types/Levels of Baseball called
    Adult MABL down to 9-year-olds
  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    ABUA (umpire.org)

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

HumblePie's Achievements

21

Reputation

  1. Does it matter at all that he was faking rubbing down the ball?
  2. R2 steals 3rd. F5 fakes dropping ball into F1's glove. F1 fakes like he's rubbing down the baseball in his glove and walks across the dirt surrounding the mound, within five feet of the rubber, but never stopping and walks off the other side. Runner never bites. F5 gives up, shows the ball, and I call a balk and advance R3 to score. The debate started after the game as to whether walking across the dirt qualifies as "taking a position." One partner says yes. One partner says no. ...................................... NFHS 6-2-5 It is also a balk if a runner or runners are on base and ... the pitcher places the feet on or astride the pitcher's plate, or takes a position within approximately 5 ft of the pitcher's plate without having the ball.
  3. Fed Varsity Gm. R2, R3. Infield playing in for bunt. Pitcher steps toward 3rd, fakes a throw, no defender anywhere near the 3B bag. Legal? Balk?
  4. Velho, I think you just cleared up something in my mind, the rule could be worded better, and I was viewing this play that he failed to slide legally as he did something illegal. Also, I believe I have seen language in youth brands of baseball that state, "When a tag play is evident ..." and goes on to state that the player must behave very similarly to the FPSR ... SLIDE ... or GIVE HIMSELF UP. AVOID COLLISIONS AT ALL COSTS
  5. Yes, contact with the pitcher's glove and outstretched forearm.
  6. FED Varsity game. No outs. Bases loaded. Passed ball, all runners try to advance. Catcher corrals the ball, flips it back to the pitcher covering home, and one half a stride before R3 steps on the plate, the thrown ball hits R3 in the right hip as the pitcher awaits the throw. Nothing? INT?
  7. This is going to be a two-parter, in the NFHS rules set. 1) Please give me examples of when you decline to go to your partner on a half swing appeal. Mine is limited to when I believe the appeal is frivolous, such as a catcher or coach asking to appeal every little flinch. I never refuse to go to my partner based on his position in the field, with one exception: to go to my partner in A with a left-handed batter, I have to be really sincerely questioning myself. 2) Is there any, perhaps "rogue" video, circulating that says something to the effect of: "Going to your partner in B or C, (or A with a lefty), for a half swing, is not a legitimate appeal in 2-man."??? Please don't tell me this is wrong ... I already know it's wrong and that's not my question ... But my question stems from multiple Varsity coaches using that same argument, that they have seen an instructional video that says it is not legitimate to appeal to a partner in the middle of the field or on the opposite side of a lefty.
  8. So ... To put a bow on this topic, are we (mostly) in agreement that the FED Rulebook gives three good examples, but not an exhaustive list, of ways that a batter can cause (even inadvertently) a balk? Another way I've seen it happen is when a batter simply seems to lose concentration ... pitcher is set, and the batter looks down and messes with his grip or his gloves ... point being, he looks away from the pitcher and the pitcher (too nice of a kid for his own good) stops his motion. With safety rules in place to the point of sterilizing the game, I would think the FED Gods in Indianapolis would expect us to congratulate the young pitcher for being considerate enough not to throw an 88-mph heater when he sees the batter is not looking ready.
  9. NFHS 2025 RULES BOOK Page 44. Rule 6-2 Art 4 d.1.(c) "If the pitcher, with a runner on base, stops or hesitates in the delivery because the batter steps out of the box (a) with one foot or (b) with both feet or (c) holds up a hand to request "Time," it shall not be a balk. In (a) and (c), there is no penalty on either the batter or the pitcher. The Umpire shall call "Time" and begin play anew.
  10. Thx ... but can you provide rule refs and casebook refs?
  11. I need help ... I have come to understand, possibly erroneously, that in FED, virtually ANYTHING a batter does that induces a balk (raises his hand to call time, looks back at me, both, takes a puppy step backward as he does it) would be cause to nullify the balk, as both the pitcher and batter have erred (made an infraction). Now as I read the Rules Book and the Case Book, I only see this rule effected by the batter stepping out of the box and thus, causing a balk. One partner tells me (convincingly, although not with a rule reference) that the "stepping out of the box" issue is in the book to show us how we call automatic strikes, but that ANYTHING the batter does that induces a balk shall result in the balk nullified and start from scratch. I had a JV game tonight. Batter raised his hand for time, then looked back at me and took what I call a "puppy step" back, but not out of the box. The pitcher CLEARLY stopped his motion seeing the batter look back with his hand up. My partner called a balk, and I nullified it based on the batter inducing it. Very mild discussion with the head coach, but being that he was up by ten runs, I think he let me off the hook rather easy. When I told my partner after the game I think I may have stretched the spirit of that rule, he insisted that we got it right. Now I'm not sure. I'm all ears ...........
  12. I think, as Replacematt said, I'd kill it and call the balk as soon as he stopped his motion.
  13. Agreed ... point taken ... and yet, using the term "wild pitch" would make things so easy. So clear.
  14. Here's where all my confusion comes from, as well as many of my colleagues ... "APPROVED RULING: In cases where a pitcher balks and throws wild, either to a base or to home plate, a runner or runners may advance beyond the base to which he is entitled at his own risk." This says THROWS wild either to a base or to home plate. That tells me it's not referring to a pitch (wild pitch) but only a throw to home, such as when R3 steals home, the pitcher disengages, and throws home. Only the language in the MLBUM uses the actual phrase wild pitch.
  15. OBR R1 No outs. 2-0 count. Pitcher balks by failing to stop, PU calls it, then pitcher delivers the pitch. Pitch is wild, kicks away from the catcher, and R1 advances safely all the way to 3B. Defensive Head Coach comes out and argues that the balk needs to be enforced, the ball was dead, and that R1 must return to 2B, all on the basis that the batter did not become a runner and reach 1B. He further argues that a wild pitch is not the same as throwing wildly to a base (including home plate). Please use the OBR rulebook and/or other interp manuals to officiate this play properly. For 25 years, I've considered a wild pitch in this scenario to end the action on the basis that the Batter cannot reach 1B. However, I'm now confused by wording in the MLBUM.
×
×
  • Create New...