Jump to content

Richvee

Established Member
  • Posts

    5,170
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    100

Everything posted by Richvee

  1. Thanks 1) i cant count how many times i have seen pitchers lean down to look at sign and maybe cant see again and try to lean closer, or just do it twice quickly for no reason at all If he’s leaning in, then leans in a little more that’s fine. What will trigger a balk is after getting a sign, starting to come set ( maybe even the start of the arms coming together) , and then an “ oh wait” moment where he stops, and looks back in for another sign.
  2. I’ve said that often in FED games . “ hey I’m gonna need a better stop than that” after the first pitch with runners on. I’ve also called my share of no stop balks on pitch 2 with runners on. Some don’t get it. Or don’t believe you’ll call it. I’m not sure which it is.
  3. As far as I’m concerned, he balks every time he pitches from the set with runners on. I’m curious to know if his set looked any different the rest of the game, or was it the same old no stop set he’s been doing for 2 years now? Maybe MLB has gotten heat from other teams about it? And now they want to crack down on him?
  4. I don't know about this on a play at home. I thought the play is dead the moment you call the interference at home. I don't think we're waiting for the play to unfold see the outcome before enforcing the interference. Less than two outs, R3 is out for batter's interference. R2 returns to 2b. If two outs, the batter is out. If less than two outs and strike three, you have both R3 and BR out, R2 returns (if there were no outs to start) on second thought...... This one's got a little twist in it though, because the interference actually occurs prior to the pitch crossing the plate. Perhaps we should just apply the rule for a batter switching sides when a pitcher is ready to pitch, and call the batter out, kill it right there, send the runners back. In which case you were 100% right
  5. To each their own. Whatever works for you, I go Boxer Briefs (I like the haines x-temp) NB cup NB jock Tights. (Maybe full length maybe to the knee. weather dependent) Pants Cheap color appropriate moisture wicking tee under the chest protector. I do like these in the cooler weather. Or under a jacket on the bases. https://www.ump-attire.com/Products/TMMT717-BK/New-Balance-Challenger-Mock-Neck-Short-Sleeve-Compression-Shirt
  6. I don’t think there’s a one size fits all answer here. For the most part, I’m fine with calling time when F2 leaves for the mound. But…….. Lets say I have an “ active” r3. He’s running a few steps down the line every pitch because F 1 is winding up. Daring a throw from F2. He’s on his toes watching F2’s throw back to the mound looking for any miss step that may give him a chance to score. F2 catches the next pitch and before I can even say “ ball” or “ strike” he’s popped up and heading to the mound to talk to F1 without even turning around and holding up a hand. I know R3’s been waiting for something like this and I’m watching him before I think about calling time when no one asked for it. If r3 is heading back to third? Which is 99% if the time, call time.
  7. Disagree. I’m a proponent of turning the coach towards the stands. Let all those phones catch the coach losing his cool.
  8. Wow. Who was that second broadcaster? None of them have anything right, but that last clip…… That guy was the talking version of the MSU rulebook
  9. Nope. After I got the “ deer in the headlights” stare. I can see he just wasn’t comprehending it. He just said “ well you’re wrong” and walked back to the dugout. I was going to get snarky and tell him to read the rulebook, but thought better if it. Unfortunately the impression he gave me was he probably wouldn’t understand the rule real well even after reading it.
  10. I’ve got nothing. He didn’t “ step out of the box or make any other movement”. He’s under no obligation to move. As a matter of fact, if he moves to try and get out of the way of F2, and accidentally bumps him, now he’s interfered. Now if you move the runner up to r2, use you scenario and have r2 round third and head home while F2 is fumbling around, then yes, BR had the responsibility to clear the area. He’s got plenty time to do so.
  11. I can’t think of one. So my simple answer is No
  12. Maybe it’s not spelled out with that language in the rulebook. Just out of curiosity, r2 takes off for 3rd, rh batter looks at ball 1, never moves a muscle. Somehow you call BI. When DHC wants to know what did my batter do wrong, what is your answer?
  13. Umpiring the semis and final of a tourney yesterday. Perfect game has some convoluted rules....Basically FED, with the typical batting order and sub usage amendments. But Prefect Game pithing rules are "MLB pitching rules, so balks are live, but fake to third is legal" So, onto the game. R1, first pitch to next batter F1 blows through the stop. I call "balk" from "B", batter fouls off the pitch. I send R1 to second, DHC asks my HP umpire "what's the count" He says "no count" DHC- "But balks are live" PU - "oh yeah, 0-1" ....Oh boy, time for me to get involved. I walk to my partner and say "there's no count, the balk nullifies the pitch unless all runners and the batter runner reach base. " PU- "damn, Oh yeah, OK, 0-0" Well of course now here comes the DHC and he's genuinely perplexed. he says.. "Now wait a minute, that's what I though until yesterday, the same thing happened to my team at bat, and the umpire said "No it's strike one because balks are live." The coach went on to say "He told me if the guy hit a double to left field and all runners scored you would count it, so we count the strike as well with live ball balks" I did my best to explain the concept of batter and all runners must advance at least one base in order to nullify the balk and "count" the pitch, but I could see it was twisting his mind. .He had that "I have no idea what you just said" look in his eyes. He left me with a "well you're wrong " comment and turned back to the dugout. I told him politely read the rule when you get a chance and the ballgame continued with the correct 0-0 count and no further issues. If that's not enough, next inning, the OHC is in 1B coaching box and askes what did he want on that balk call. I told him he wanted the pitch to count and enforce the balk. to which the OHC replies, "Geeze, everyone knows it's coaches choice, the balk or the play".
  14. The best ever. No one else is even close.
  15. Gausman balks close to every time as far as I'm concerned. there's rarely a stop, and I consider myself fairly lenient on what I consider a stop. Just like this guy's windup is illegal but MLB doesn't care. The rule clearly started ONE step forward sideways or back and ONE step forward to deliver the pitch. This is 3 steps all day every day. But no one cares in MLB.
  16. I’ve found as the years go by and being screened more than I care to remember on f/f calls, I’ll sometimes take a step or 2 off the line ( oh, the horror) to get a look around multiple players. Just be set when the ball lands or is touched. Another issue can be fields themselves. Unless it’s a well manicured, perfectly flat field, there’s a good chances there’s some small hills gullies out there. I’ve had more than one fly ball on the line disappear into a low spot before contacting the ground.
  17. With less than 2 out, PU can come up the 1BL to get the fair/foul, Catch/no catch. He should communicate this with the BU so BU can help out on getting the tag up if there's an R3. If it's a catch and/or fair, PU gets back to the plate for any plays there. With 2 outs and an R3, now PU needs to stay 1BLX to see the touch of R3 at home. Nothing he can do. BU never covers home
  18. There’s more to this story. The announcers mention “yesterday”. So there’s carryover here. The umpire loosing his cool (and his shoe) is U3. PU tries to keep players and coaches back as they head to the exit, but U3 is certainly not acting calm and cool. Doesn’t look like U1 even catches up to his crew until they’re at the exit.
  19. Probably a good reason why he's still bouncing around these indy leagues. Strange similarity to Wally Bachman's managerial career.
  20. I'm 100% fine with 2 steps fair, but he's to close, and like we said, not square and not stopped. Real strange look.
  21. Real odd positioning from U1 here. Pretty straight forward play at 1B...Not set, and extremally nonchalant for a bang/bang game deciding call. Of course this doesn't excuse the behavior of the players/coaches, but U1 did himself no favors with his mechanics here.
  22. Oh for sure an improvement. And a lot easier to enforce and explain.
  23. Copied this from FB. ART. 12 . . . (GONE) Rationale: Any jewelry worn that poses harm or injury to the player or their opponent is covered in existing rules. Note: We still have Rule 1-5-9 which allows an umpire to disallow any jewelry deemed unsafe and Rule 3-3-1f to handle any jewelry determined to be of an unsporting nature. Change: Rule 6-1-1,2,3 (Pitching Position to be determined by the position of pivot foot only. Hybrid no longer an issue) ART. 1 . . .The pitcher shall pitch while facing the batter from either a windup (Art.2) or a set position (Art. 3). The position of the pitcher’s feet determines whether the pitcher will pitch from the windup or the set position. The pitcher shall take or simulate taking the sign from the catcher with his pivot foot in contact with the pitcher’s plate. The pitcher will be in the set position when the pivot foot is in contact with or directly in front of and parallel to the pitcher’s plate. The pitcher will be in the windup position when the pivot foot is in contact with the pitcher’s plate and is not parallel to it. The pitching regulations …but not both. ART. 2 . . . For the wind-up position, the pitcher is not restricted as to how they shall hold the ball. A pitcher assumes the windup position when the hands are: (a) together in front of the body; (b) both hands are at the side; (c) either hand is in front of the body and the other hand is at the side. The pitcher is limited… lifting either foot. ART. 3 . . . For the set position, the pitcher shall have the ball in either the gloved hand or the pitching hand. The pitcher’s hand shall be down at the side or behind the back. Before starting the delivery, the pitcher shall stand with the pivot foot in contact with or directly in front of and parallel to the pitcher's plate. The pitcher shall go…any other fielder. Rationale: In reference to the high school pitching rule, the position of both the pivot and non-pivot foot was the determining factor in deeming if a pitcher was pitching from the windup position or the set position. The game has evolved throughout high school baseball for the pitcher to launch with the pivot foot in a windup description with the non-pivot foot in a set description. This "hybrid" position was previously illegal by NFHS rule. What is essential is that umpires, coaches, and players know what position the pitcher is using so they know which part of Rule 6 is in play. Deleting the use of the non-pivot foot does no damage to the existing pitching position rule and having only the pivot foot determine makes it clean and easily discernible for all involved. The way I read this, what doesn’t change, (I think), is a pitcher in the set position still is not allowed to “wind up” … i.e take a “rocker” step with the free foot when the pivot foot is parallel to the rubber.
  24. Two meaningful changes. Very cool. 😀
×
×
  • Create New...