Jump to content

Richvee

Established Member
  • Posts

    4,965
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    81

Everything posted by Richvee

  1. ooops. Only smalls left. https://stripes-and-strikes.myshopify.com/collections/umpire-shirts
  2. And given that, I can see why it’s not a balk. . I had a kid doing something similar last weekend in an 18u tourney, but the continuous movement was more obvious and the final stop was a bit more pronounced.
  3. I’m fine with no established time. But from where I’m watching, he’s either pausing multiple times or never pausing. .The amount of time between each “tap” is the same. .
  4. I don’t think missed. I agree they don’t want to call it.
  5. That’s where I disagree. That free foot/ leg bounces several times. Each time the pause ( or lack there of) before the next bounce is the same. Furthermore, the last pause( or lack there of) before he delivers is just as long ( or short) as each previous pause. So you either have multiple pauses, or no pause at any point because , from what I can see , each “ pause” is identical.
  6. Scroll down the highlights to Fernando Tatis' RBI shingle. Can someone tell me why this isn't a balk? https://www.mlb.com/gameday/giants-vs-padres/2021/09/21/632378#game_state=final,lock_state=final,game_tab=videos,game=632378
  7. I think you have a case for interference here. OBR 6.01(a)(5)…. It is interference when a lead runner who has just been put out or scored interferes with any play being made on a following runner. The other side of the coin is the runner is just continuing through the plate, which, in and of itself is not reason for interference. 6.01(a)(5) comment; if the batter or runner continue to advance after being put out he shall not by that act alone be considered hindering or impeding the fielders. ( I think it would’ve safe to extrapolate that to include a runner crossing home plate. ) So, I think what we have here is another classic example of a “ judgment call”.
  8. Didn’t even notice until I got to this post. 😂
  9. The only time I have seen that rotation called off pre pitch is 2 outs, full count. Runner is going to be off on the pitch, so PU isn’t gonna get to 3b on time. In your play, why would PU not rotate on a clean single? On the hit in the gap, obviously PU would call it off during the play, but pre- pitch? Why?
  10. So true. Anyone who says they’re as good in game one as they are in game 4-5-6 is fooling themselves.
  11. Never tried these. A banana before and in between games has been part of my routine for years.
  12. Did it a few weeks ago. 100+ on the turf. One base then 2 plates. Exhausting, but not terrible when you prepare even at my age. This is one of those cases where there's NO WAY I want to be out on the bases after 2 plates.
  13. I would guess the majority of our DH’s have been your plate first. Honest, it’s only this season where I’ve noticed a bit of a lethargic feeling I need to fight through when I do a game on the bases after a plate. With DH’s it’s not a huge deal. The few times this year I’ve done 3 in a day, I need to be on the plate game 3.
  14. When I do multiple games I actually prefer ending up with a plate. Three in a day is my absolute limit these days. If it's two plates I'd rather be on the plate for games2 and3. I get stiff standing on the bases after a plate or 2. . DH's not a big deal either way, but still prefer the plate game 2.
  15. indeed. I've done my fair share of Varsity ball where I'm begging for more than 2 or 3.
  16. For high school , our plate and base assignments are assigned. We stick to them pretty closely. I've switched up with a partner running late to get the game going on time, but that's the exception. My college group does not assign plate/base. We have a UIC listed in bold, and we work out plate/ base. That said, I don't do a lot of college, so I'm never the UIC. I worked more summer college this year than ever, and, unless it was a DH, I can count on one hand where the UIC said, "I'll take the plate for this one". Not complaining. I need the upper level reps behind the plate. But it is what it is.
  17. Nice!! I'm adding this in to my routine. Never heard or seen it before. But a real nice touch.
  18. Welcome to the fraternity. So you missed a few balls and strikes? I’m at this for 13 years and I know I missed a few last night, and the night before, and the night before that. It’s gonna happen. Just focus and move on NEVER try to to “ make up for it” by calling another pitch wrong to “ even things up”. You’re gonna gonna kick some safe/out calls too. Those tend to stick with me longer, but on the field, you must learn to put it behind you, re focus, and get the next one right.
  19. Ignore unless it’s verbal. I’m a little surprised how many are saying they don’t see it from “ good baseball guys”. I see it at every level I work, and levels higher than I work…. All the way up to MLB. Not only the coaches, the runner too…….usually before he even touches the base. For me it’s harmless. I just laugh. ( on the inside)
  20. Not sure what’s worse. Ads on the umpires ,or the hideous player uniforms.
  21. Like I said, I don’t do, I don’t know, nor do I care to learn any code’s softball rules. I simply cited a softball base award that MAY be a source of the one base award myth.
  22. My guess is there may have very well been a memo after the missed call here. https://www.closecallsports.com/2021/06/intent-to-advance-when-overrun.html?m=1
×
×
  • Create New...