Jump to content

noumpere

Established Member
  • Content Count

    9,695
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    113

noumpere last won the day on June 28

noumpere had the most liked content!

Community Reputation

2,911 Excellent

2 Followers

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. noumpere

    Missed Base

    R1 touched the base the "last time by" and has corrected his baserunning mistake. (I am assuming R1 re-touched first.)
  2. The rules don't differentiate between "inside move" and "outside move," so if the move to second is otherwise legal ...
  3. Curious to see where this is going ... (Maybe)
  4. I will amend my answer above by stating that I don't now much about LL specific rules -- I only worked a handful of LL official games in my career.
  5. I don't know that there's any specific rule, but most apply the "no shiny glass or metal buttons" or "no reflective helmets" (the specific wording might be different from that) to apply to the mirrored-sunglasses. Normal sunglasses are allowed.
  6. The umpire must determine who the "protected fielder" is -- that is, the fielder most likely to make the play. If that was F6, then this is INT. If it was F4, then this is (likely) OBS. Note also that if this is INT, and the umpire thinks the INT prevented a likely double play (catch the fly, "double off" R2), the umprie can declare both outs. (OBR is different in how this is judged) Here's the specific FED rule: 1. If two fielders try to field a batted ball and the runner contacts one or both, the umpire shall decide which one is entitled to field the ball and that fielder only is entitled to protection. If a fielder drops a batted ball and contact with a runner occurs during a subsequent attempt to field the ball, the fielder has the greater responsibility for avoiding contact.
  7. This, with the addition that if the move is associated *both* with the wind-up and the pick-off, it's still legal. So (with R1), LH F1 could go to the balance point and still throw to first or pitch; RH F1 could only pitch if he goes to the balance point. And, note that if LH F1 steps back before going to the balance point, he's committed to pitch and can't pick. And if the hands (of either) go rocking back, it's (likely) a motion to pitch. etc. I've seen hundreds of moves / posts described with words similar to " showed me his pickoff moves from the stretch and they were lethal." In the bvast majority of the times, the moves were illegal. I do agree that I would answer a basic "is a pickoff attempt from the wind up legal" question -- but I won't get into the specifics of the pitcher's move until I've seen it.
  8. noumpere

    Feint to Third

    It does (although I prefer the term "breaks contact" as opposed to "disengagement"on these moves) -- but a throw to first is required if the move *starts* while engaged with the rubber. If you think about it, you know better. You've seen in OBR (before the rule was changed) and FED (still) hundreds of times where F1 stepped-and-feinted to third, and then feinted to first -- all perfectly legal and not a balk because F1 broke contact with the rubber as part of the feint.
  9. noumpere

    Feint to Third

    Here are a couple of FED case plays on the subject (from 2014, so the numbers might be different) 6.1.5 SITUATION: With R1 on third base and R2 on first base, F1 steps and feints to third and then steps and throws to first attempting to pick off R2. The throw goes into dead-ball territory. The offensive team's coach wants a balk to be called because the pitcher never threw the ball toward third. RULING: When the pitcher stepped off the pitching plate in his feint to third, he became an infielder. Hence, when his throw goes into dead-ball territory, all runners are awarded two bases. R1 gets home and R2 gets third. Had F1 stayed on the pitching plate during his feint to third and his throw to first, all runners would be awarded one base. R1 would get home and R2 would get second. This would not be a balk as F1 made a legal feint and a legal pickoff attempt with no prior motion to pitch. 6.2.4 SITUATION C: With R1 on third and R2 on first, F1 comes set. He then feints toward third, or he removes one hand from the ball and makes an arm motion toward third but does not step toward third. He follows with a throw to first base. RULING: This is a balk. F1 must step toward third base when feinting there. F1 may not feint to first base. He must step toward the base and throw. He might, while he is on the plate, step toward occupied third and feint a throw, and then turn to step toward first and throw there with or without disengaging the pitcher's plate. If F1 steps and feints to first, he must first disengage the pitcher's plate or he is guilty of a balk.
  10. Agreed. This is directly from OBR: Rule 6.03 (b)(7) Comment: The umpire shall not direct the attention of any person to the presence in the batter’s box of an improper batter. This rule is designed to require constant vigilance by the players and managers of both teams. And, this is from J/R: An umpire cannot suggest or indicate that a batter is improper, nor can the offense appeal its own error, although the offense can change batters. Only the defense can appeal that a 6.07d batter has batted out of order.
  11. FED has a specific rule on this: Do "what would have happened" -- and since F2 cleanly gloved the ball (as I read the play) , it's likely that BR is still going to be out. I'd use that at all levels we do. The last thing to happen is a "do over." Lah me.
  12. Yes -- if the motion to disengage is continuous and smooth. Sometimes, however, the pitcher starts to come set, decides he wants another sign, starts to drop back down, realizes that won't be allowed, and then tries to step off. That's a balk. This is from JR (NOTE: It's an OLD version. Don't want anyone to be confused). It is a balk if a pitcher 1. hesitates in or interrupts his motion to join hands, pitch, throw, or disengage. However, it is not a balk if a pitcher who has begun his motion to join hands shifts in a fluid and continuous motion to throw or to disengage the rubber. Also, an umpire must recognize the difference between the motion to join hands and other neutral movement that is not relevant to the joining of hands, e.g., a pitcher rotates his glove to signal the catcher for another set of signs, or a hunched-over pitcher straightens his body when the catcher requests time. NOTE: The motion to join hands is optional in the windup mode. The pitcher may pause once his hands have become joined before proceeding to pitch, step and throw, or disengage. The motion to join hands is considered a motion to pitch until a pitcher pauses, so if a pitcher interrupts this motion before pausing, it is a balk. Examples: (a) R2 and R1. A right-handed pitcher, uncertain of the first baseman's approach of the base, steps to first, but throws only after hesitating in his motion to throw: balk. (b) R1. A left-handed pitcher lifts his free foot and suspends it still for a split second before proceeding in his motion to throw: hesitation, balk. (c) R1. After coming set, a right-handed pitcher's right knee quickly buckles before he throws to first: if the buckling is a separate, discontinuous motion before the motion to throw, there is a balk. However, if the buckling is merely part of a fluid and continuous motion to throw, there is no balk. (d) R2. From the stretch position the pitcher begins a motion to join hands, but stops and disengages: if the shift is fluid and continuous, there is not a balk. However, if the shift is discontinuous, there is a balk.
  13. Correct. (Also, I edited point 2 above while you were sending this)
  14. 1) UIC is wrong. There are no rules differences for RH and LH pitcher. 2) Legal IF the pitcher breaks contact with the rubber as part of the move (which happens 99.99% of the time) -- In FED, the pitcher need not break contact. F1 needs to step toward third, break contact and replant the pivot foot, and then throw or feint to first (which will usually entail a step but is not required). He cant pivot again off the pivot foot still on the rubber. He cant' just step toward third and pivot off the foot to throw (or feint) to first without placing the pivot foot on the ground first. 3) the traditional spin move is not a balk (or it wouldn't happen, and wouldn't be traditional) -- so I'm not quite sure what you are asking here.
×
×
  • Create New...