Jump to content
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Guest Tad

Dead ball ground rule double

Question

Guest Tad

Its a timed ball game. With new inning starting as last out is recorded. Tie ball game runners on 1st and 2nd 2 outs. 15 seconds left on the clock. Batter hits a 1 hopper over the fence forna dead ball ground rule double. The runner from 2nd scores but the runner from 1st touches 2nd and thinks game is over. He back tracks to celebrate at 1st. With about 6 seconds to go the batter/runner passes the runner between 1st and 2nd. We call time and call the out. And new inning starts. Is this the correcr call 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Recommended Posts

  • 0

But if I scored 9 in the first inning and then shut them out for their innings, I don't get any "innings". We're done with me having 1 inning of batting.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
46 minutes ago, Lou B said:

15 seconds left, 6 seconds left: we're you watching a clock or the game?

Well, at least one umpire was watching the game if he/she noticed the runners doing this.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
10 hours ago, noumpere said:

R1 did not complete his award, and BR was out (for passing) before completing his award.

Okay, thanks.  Makes sense now.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

  • Similar Content

    • By Kevin_K
      https://www.ncaa.com/news/baseball/article/2018-08-16/college-baseball-video-review-challenge-system-approved
      It seemed as though it would only be a matter of time before the IBB and no fake to third would be implemented. The changes on pitchers' positioning is going to be problematic unless there is a universal effort to enforce the new standards.
      The HBP and runners staying at their bases changes are the most interesting to me. I wonder what the penalty will be for runners leaving their bases during a defensive conference.
    • By Kevin_K
      Saw this today
      https://chsaanow.com/2018-07-05/2018-19-baseball-rules-xhanges-focus-on-pitching-mechanics/
    • By MadMax
      This past weekend, I was acting as onsite UIC, and as I was rolling the cooler full of ice, water, and towels from one field to another, replenishing the guys between innings, one of my crews had a situation happen right in front of me which I was very proud of how they handled it... without botching it or consulting me or the TD.
      R1, R2, 2 outs, X-2 count (balls not relevant). Swinging strike, pitch makes contact with the bat, and ends up... in the F2's armpit, trapped there. F2 gets up, flips the ball towards the mound, and starts trotting towards his dugout while the DT fans applaud his outstanding catch... 
      ... but was it a catch?
      The 3BC (OTHC) starts bellowing, "That's not a catch! That's not a catch! Get the rule right!" while the PU steps back, and instead of making an Out mechanic, motions and calls, "Time!". I refrained from saying anything, as much as my younger umpire-self would have liked to, instead leaving it to this crew to determine. The PU motioned in the BU, and they met just in front of the mound. At this point, both the OTHC and the DTHC are on the field, and the PU has to signal to both of them to back off and return to their dugout areas, before he resumes discussing with the BU. Of course, the DT parents are, to a person, clamoring, "But it didn't hit the ground! He caught it!" I'm standing right next to the Field Marshal (FM, an employee of the TD), telling him, "It has to be the glove first for a foul tip. If it hits anywhere else on the catcher's body, like his mask or CP, it's a foul ball."
      At that moment, the PU disengages from the BU, heads back towards the plate, and announces, "Foul ball." DTHC approaches PU while his players resume their positions, and PU gives him a brief explanation, ending with, "My UIC is standing right there (points at me), he'll tell you the same thing."
      "Play!" Next pitch is a line-out to F5. Oh well. Nicely handled, Blue!
    • By BrianC14
      Does anyone have this ?    Is it worth the $20 ?
      Thanks,
       

    • By sd181612
      I'm watching the Astros/Angels game and Valbuena hits a ball towards right field. To me it appears that it hit the yellow line,; Davis called it a home run. Review ensues, call's overruled, double. Isn't the yellow line considered to be out of play therefore a homer? Thanks.
×
×
  • Create New...