Jump to content

Jimurray

Established Member
  • Posts

    5,304
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    23

Jimurray last won the day on October 8 2021

Jimurray had the most liked content!

Recent Profile Visitors

13,607 profile views

Jimurray's Achievements

985

Reputation

6

Community Answers

  1. I got this question wrong on the NCAA test. "R2, no outs. F1 accidentally drops the ball while beginning his motion to pitch. The ball rolls and crosses the foul line before it stops." I had a ball but NCAA says it's a balk and by their rule 9-2-b it is a balk. NFHS would not have a balk. But OBR might discern between a dropped ball and a slipped pitch which NCAA doesn't. I believe OBR would not balk a slipped pitch that crosses the foul line.
  2. The rule verbiage requires you to surmise a little bit but Steve the Ump's record of interps makes it clear: 2006 NFHS Interps "SITUATION 18: With a runner on first and the pitcher struggling in the top of the fifth inning, S1 comes to the mound and begins to throw his warm-up pitches. His coach announces to the plate umpire the change, who marks it on his lineup card and announces to the home scorekeeper. After only four warm-up pitches, the defensive coach decides he wants a different player to pitch. The visiting coach argues that since the ball had not yet been made live, the substitution had not been made and he can change his mind. RULING: Once the umpire-in-chief has accepted the change, marked it on his lineup and announced the change, the substitution is in effect. The substitute pitcher must pitch until the batter then at bat, or any substitute for that batter, is put out or reaches first base, or until a third out has been made. Therefore, the coach cannot change his substitute pitcher until the pitching conditions have been met. The only exception to this requirement would be if the substitute pitcher became incapacitated or guilty of flagrant unsportsmanlike conduct. If there had been no announcement of the substitution, the unreported substitution would be considered to have been made when the pitcher took his place on the pitcher’s plate and the ball was made live. (3-1-1, 3-1-2)"
  3. I was in remiss of not citing where my “e” cite came from. Others are remiss in not perusing the whole thread and noting the FED cite “e” which I didn’t fully cite. Even without cites I’m pretty sure amateur umpires should ask coaches if they want the penalty or the play and I’m surprised you can’t find that in the BRD. I’m also surprised that some think the coach should be given a choice in the OP in that the CI/CO should have been ignored. That would be the protest.
  4. Jimurray

    Stealing Home

    The special penalty is 5.09(b): (8)  He attempts to score on a play in which the batter interferes with the play at home base before two are out. With two out, the interference puts the batter out and no score counts;"
  5. So why not post that info in the original thread instead of revisiting with this thread without advising of what you already knew?
  6. The order of appeals does matter if one is a missed forced base and one is a missed base that was not forced that add up to the third out. But who/what are you citing as to whether the order of two forced base appeals matters?
  7. This rule existed since at least 2013, my bold: 8-5-j. "The individual fails to reach the next base before a fielder tags the runner or the base after the runner has been forced to advance because the batter became a runner; Exception—No runner can be forced out if a runner who follows in the batting order is put out first. However, if a runner is put out during live action, it does not remove the force on any runners who might subsequently be declared out for a running infraction."
  8. I don't know what the NCAA rules were back then but the current rules would make that advantageous fourth out a force out. Where NCAA differs from OBR is if it was 1 out and the batter missed 1B also appealing him first in relaxed action would make the appeal of missing R2 2B not a force any more.
  9. I believe MLB in the Jaska-Roder era actually had this as their procedure. Ball live when pitcher takes the rubber with it. In the following years MLB certainly seemed lax in a point or a "play" but their MLBUM did reference the need to do at least a point and have a batter in the box. In recent years most of them seem to be pointing the ball in play consistently. Muchlinski in game WS game 6 seemed to me to do it consistently.
  10. In OBR according to Wendelstedt if the force existed at the time of the miss it will be a forced base appeal.
  11. 5.09(b)(c) does not clearly point out that the the force is removed when a missed base is appealed and the force existed at that the time of the miss. If fact the wording of that rule needs some common sense applied. "(6)  He or the next base is tagged before he touches the next base, after he has been forced to advance by reason of the batter becoming a runner. However, if a following runner is put out on a force play, the force is removed and the runner must be tagged to be put out." The BR out at 1B is not a force play but yes it does remove the force in live action. "The force is removed as soon as the runner touches the base to which he is forced to advance, and if he overslides or overruns the base, the runner must be tagged to be put out." While this sentence follows the following runner being put out sentence we know that the force has already been removed in live action and that force is not again removed by the runner touching the base. This refers to when the runner touches the base while still forced. "However, if the forced runner, after touching the next base, retreats for any reason towards the base he had last occupied, the force play is reinstated, and he can again be put out if the defense tags the base to which he is forced;" The force play is reinstated if it still exists. In your OP you do not have a forced and unforced runner: "So, in essence, we now have the lead runner (R2) NO LONGER FORCED, yet the runner immediately following him (R1) is still considered in a FORCE SITUATION! (WOW)" Both have to be tagged. But if the missed base was appealed the Wendelstedt interp considers it a miss of a forced base.
  12. Just keeping up with my tally. 3 balks with a dead ball on U-E. 1 more I'm aware of personally. The question is, if you explain the rule kick to the umpire, will he acknowledge his error? The one I personally have knowledge of was agreed with by half my chapter that if they fool him into pointing it live it's a balk.
  13. That might be. What little I saw looked like a slide straight toward Correa with a hand up ( natural or intended). Camera pulled away so who knows what happened.
  14. I don't think he could have complied with #2. It looks like he goes directly at Correa who has stepped to the outfield side of 2B.
  15. Did he attempt to make contact? "(j) Sliding to Bases on Double Play Attempts If a runner does not engage in a bona fide slide, and initiates (or attempts to make) contact with the fielder for the purpose of breaking up a double play". I don't know what happened after the camera pulls but the MLBUM advises that with no or minimal contact the umpire will judge if hindrance took place. So while it appears he tried to violate the rule he was unsuccessful. No hindrance equals no call.
×
×
  • Create New...