Jump to content
  • 0
Wiggledoc

Dropped 3rd strike

Question

Here is the scenario: batter swings at strike 3. Ball is dropped. Catcher throws the ball into right field. Batter, now runner advances to 2nd. He sees that RF has trouble with the ball and goes to third. He slides safely into 3rd. Player tags him after he is on the base. Now here is the question: if the batter misses first, and no one but the umpire sees it, at the point the runner is tagged out is he out, or does the opposing coach need to appeal? The umpire sees that the batter hasn't successfully reached 1st, so is he out? It is a continuation of the dropped 3rd strike, so the tag at 3rd would be just like a tag by the catcher.

Thoughts.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

12 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

Needs to be appealed. A tag at at 3rd is not an appeal unless they tell you they are appealing.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

They have to make it known they are appealing, but then the tag is enough. Many coaches think it has to go to the mound, step off, then throw to first. Way too many things that can go wrong with that. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

A batter who has passed a base is assumed to have touched it until and unless the defense appeals (excpet in whatever state it is where the umpire calls the runner out in HS ball).

 

So, in your play the runner passed first and the play at third is just a play at third and its not an appeal unless theres more than you mention.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Thanks all. It came up in a game Monday, and it made me wonder. In the case Monday, the runner was called out on a tag, but I wondered if the ump could call him out there for missing first as described.

I had seen it come up with a runner missing 2nd, but never 1st on the dropped strike. I guess the situation would be the same if it were just a batted ball and the throw was punted.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Wiggledoc, the runner could have been put out on the tag at third, then they could go back and get the advantageous fourth out. The only reason to do that is to kill a run. It can be argued that you can't call the runner out twice. Two different plays, one is a time play, the other a BR at first. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Wiggledoc, the runner could have been put out on the tag at third, then they could go back and get the advantageous fourth out. The only reason to do that is to kill a run. It can be argued that you can't call the runner out twice. Two different plays, one is a time play, the other a BR at first. 

 

I would not put it this way, which reinforces the impression that you're calling a runner out twice.

 

Rather, we should say that the out at 1B supersedes the out at 3B. A "fourth out" has always been merely apparent, as no team really gets four outs in their half inning.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

It has to phrased that way to show you can have opportunity to get an advantageous fourth out even with the same runner. Because the initial out is a time play, the appeal is a force out it would negate the run. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • Similar Content

    • By jms1425
      NCAA rules (i.e. no dead ball appeals)
      While the ball is dead, the defense attempts to make an appeal ("runner left early" or "runner missed the base"whatever - the play is immaterial to this question).
      Does the umpire responsible for the call a) make a "soft" safe signal (not indicating judgment on the playing action, but denying the appeal, without saying he is denying the appeal), or say something like "the ball is dead" and making no signal or further comment?
    • By basejester
      Little League Major Softball tournament.  Ball is dead.  Defense wishes to appeal a runner missed home.  Coaches are yelling instructions regarding the appeal process across the field.  Offensive coach tells his batter to swing if it's a strike.  Pitcher toes the rubber.  Home plate umpire puts the ball in play.
        Pitcher steps off and then moves about 3' to her left of the rubber and throws the ball overhand toward home.  (None of the players speak during the play.) The catcher moves forward toward the pitcher.  The ball comes in near the outside corner of the plate.   The batter swings at the ball and hits the catcher's mitt and hand.  The catcher is unable to catch the ball.  No runners attempt to advance.  Home plate umpire calls time for injured catcher.   What's your ruling?
    • By LMSANS
      Opening day is tomorrow for NJ HS.  Here is part of an email from our association interpreter, a very opinionated individual...
      We do not go to our partner on a check swing because the coach has requested it.  We can go to our partner IMMEDIATELY if needed.  We all must be consistent in this mechanic all the time.  Coaches have told me and umpires that some umpires still go when requested by coach.  Please stop that and be consistent and the coaches will understand better and not ask.
      While I know that we are not required to in HS, but I have always done it as long as the coach hasn't been a d!ck about it.
       
    • By MadMax
      R1, R2, 1 out. OT has been running the bases like a merry-go-round for the past inning, and has racked up 5 runs. 1B to 3B, 2B to plate, the works.
      Towering fly ball to F8. Flat sky, so nearly everybody loses sight of it (this umpire, as PU, included), but figure it has to be somewhere towards centerfield. R2 figures that, based on F8's previous body of botched catch attempts work, he'll take his chances and reaches 3B and rounds it towards HP. R1 follows suit, and is nearly to 2B when F8 actually... holy crap how'd he find it?... catches it. "Catch!" voices my BU.
      Now panic ensues. R1 taps on R2 (never breaks the plane of it, just touches on the front edge), then retreats to 1B in a mad dash while F8 throws a... oh no... pond-skipper to F3, who can't field it cleanly and can't secure it before R1 arrives at 1B, touches it, then at the pleading of his coaches and fans heads to 2B (it turns out, these pleas and promptings were to R2 to return to 2B). While this is going on, R2 suddenly figures out he has to head back and tag up, so retouches 3B, and heads back towards 2B. F3 now throws to 2B, but R1 has already "safely" arrived there, and is sitting on it after sliding into it. F6 catches throw with his foot on the bag, and then tags R1.
      Who is (technically) out?
      FWIW, we called R2 out on the touch of 2B by F6 in possession of the ball. I made a point of saying, "That (point at) runner is out!" Was there an out sooner that we missed? Is R2 the one who is the third out or is R1 the third out?
    • By Mister B
      While reading the LL rule book, I try to come up with scenarios to confound them. It's LL the more you think it can't happen, the more likely it is to happen.
      First situation, B hits and heads for first hard. F3 has his foot on top of the base, covering most of it. BR would have been safe but jumps over/goes around the base to avoid an injury. Would you call obstruction? Is it obstruction? 
      Second situation, 1 out runners at 1B and 2B. A hit to deep right, for a triple with R1 and R2 scoring. R1 missed touching 2B. DT appeals by touching 2B and calling that he's out. R1 is out and his run is removed. I'm thinking that nothing happens with R2 or BR because R2 was out before they passed him. Am I correct? 
      Same situation but with 2 outs. R1 is out by force upon the appeal, therefore no runs are scored. Correct? 
      Thanks. I guessing that regardless of the appeal the out occurs when it should have happened, not upon appeal. 
×
×
  • Create New...