Jump to content

Search the Community

Showing results for tags 'situations'.



More search options

  • Search By Tags

    Type tags separated by commas.
  • Search By Author

Content Type


Forums

  • Umpire-Empire
    • Introductions
    • Ask the Umpire
    • Minor League Baseball Umpire Training Academy
    • Umpire-Empire
    • Memberships
    • Announcements & Milestones
    • Buy, Sell or Trade
  • Speak out
    • Free For All
    • Situations
    • Umpire Mechanics
    • Rules
    • Ejections
    • Umpire Equipment
    • Books
    • War Stories
  • Umpire News
    • Quick Tips
    • Close Call Sports/ Umpire Ejection Fantasy League
    • Umpire News From Around the Web
    • Ump-Attire.com
  • Level of Play
    • High School
    • Collegiate
    • Recreation
    • Professional
    • Softball
    • Cooperstown Dream Park
  • Off-Topic
    • Off-Topic/Funny Stories
    • Photography
    • Humor
    • Other Sports
    • Announcers

Product Groups

  • Memberships
  • Umpire-Empire Items
  • Cooperstown Dream Park Posting/Advertisement

Categories

  • Interviews
  • Equipment
  • Game Management
  • Self Improvement
  • Health & Fitness
  • Miscellaneous
  • Get to Know

Categories

  • Equipment
    • Chest Protectors
    • Hockey Style Masks
    • Traditional Masks
    • Plate Shoes
    • Base Shoes
    • Shin Guards
    • Athletic Cups
    • Mask Pads
    • Other Equipment
  • Umpire Accessories
    • Equipment Bags
    • Indicators
    • Ball Bags
    • Line up card holders
    • Sunglasses
    • Other Accessories
  • Uniforms
    • Umpire Shirts
    • Umpire Pants
    • Undergarmets
    • Umpire Jackets/ Plate Coats
    • Umpire Caps
  • Suppliers
  • Umpire Manuals, Rules/Interpretation Manuals, Mechanics Manuals
  • Umpire Camps & Clinics
  • Books (pleasure reading)
  • Products no longer available for retail sale

Find results in...

Find results that contain...


Date Created

  • Start

    End


Last Updated

  • Start

    End


Filter by number of...

Joined

  • Start

    End


Group


AIM


MSN


Website URL


ICQ


Yahoo


Jabber


Skype


Location


Interests


Your Association Name


Occupation


Types/Levels of Baseball called

Found 7 results

  1. R1, R2, 1 out. OT has been running the bases like a merry-go-round for the past inning, and has racked up 5 runs. 1B to 3B, 2B to plate, the works. Towering fly ball to F8. Flat sky, so nearly everybody loses sight of it (this umpire, as PU, included), but figure it has to be somewhere towards centerfield. R2 figures that, based on F8's previous body of botched catch attempts work, he'll take his chances and reaches 3B and rounds it towards HP. R1 follows suit, and is nearly to 2B when F8 actually... holy crap how'd he find it?... catches it. "Catch!" voices my BU. Now panic ensues. R1 taps on R2 (never breaks the plane of it, just touches on the front edge), then retreats to 1B in a mad dash while F8 throws a... oh no... pond-skipper to F3, who can't field it cleanly and can't secure it before R1 arrives at 1B, touches it, then at the pleading of his coaches and fans heads to 2B (it turns out, these pleas and promptings were to R2 to return to 2B). While this is going on, R2 suddenly figures out he has to head back and tag up, so retouches 3B, and heads back towards 2B. F3 now throws to 2B, but R1 has already "safely" arrived there, and is sitting on it after sliding into it. F6 catches throw with his foot on the bag, and then tags R1. Who is (technically) out? FWIW, we called R2 out on the touch of 2B by F6 in possession of the ball. I made a point of saying, "That (point at) runner is out!" Was there an out sooner that we missed? Is R2 the one who is the third out or is R1 the third out?
  2. We all Most of us know about the "Skunk In the Grass" play, yes? I had a team set one up during a MLK Day Weekend Tournament here... R1 and R3, and R1 started leading off down the 1BL to RF, but the pitcher never looked over and the batter wasn't disciplined enough to resist swinging at a fairly fat pitch and popped out. The entire crowd in attendance didn't get a chance to see the play (stand-off) develop to its full potential, but it got several buzzing and twittering (no, not actually on Twitter). It got me thinking of other time-bleeding "legal" plays and "stand-off" situations where a team is trying a trick at scoring R3 at the accepted risk of losing R1. So here's what I came up with... R2. 2 outs or less (inconsequential, but more likely with 2 outs because a sac fly or squeeze bunt won't work). Batter lays down a bunt, and beats the throw to 1B. He touches the base, but keeps right on going down the 1BL some 30-to-40-perhaps-more feet. Meanwhile, R2 arrives at R3, rounds it, and stays off the bag in a threatening-to-score position. R1 (perhaps at the cue of his 1BC) then makes a definite move towards 2B, drawing the attention of nearly the entire DT and the BU (PU is, of course, still watching the plate and now-R3). Because R3 has not returned to the 3B, and is instead in a posture to attempt to go to HP, a knowledgeable umpire is not going to just ambiguously call "Time!" (there are no injuries or technical failures (dislodged base)). So how does this go? Obviously, R1 has negated his right to return to 1B unaffected ("directly") because he made that move towards 2B. What limitations are now on him? Also, nothing has occurred to make the ball Dead. R1 did visibly touch 1B, so he can't be out on Appeal. A play has to be made somewhere... right?
  3. In a lineup card with BD, once the battery turns around, the pitcher -placed in tenth place in the lineup- takes the turn before for the first batter and reached first base hitting to left. The first batter occupied the batter box after the pitcher and got walk. The BD, which is as second batter, stops in batter box, bunt the ball and reaches safe to first base. Bases loaded. My question is: should I, as umpire, to prevent that the BD consume the turn, as he was replaced by the pitcher and therefore is now officially out of the game? or I should await the defensive team makes the claim to bring the situation in order?
  4. A friend and I were talking this weekend about a play he saw in the game before his.   Situation - Competitive collegiate wooden bat league, R1, no outs.   R1 breaks to second on the pitch, batter steps back out of the box (away from catcher).    F2 misplays the catch and the ball bounces back toward the batter.    The batter for whatever reason taps the rolling ball back to the catcher with his bat.    PU calls the batter out for interference and returns the runner.   The excrement hits the rotary device and the offensive manager argues. ....   My friend and I both agreed that within the letter of the rules this is probably interference; but there was not a chance to put out the runner once the ball rolled that far away and common sense should have dictated a no call.   We thought this was grabbing the dirty end of the stick and not a word would have been said with a no call.    Thoughts?
  5. Dix posted a good question under rules about HBP. It got me thinking.   How would you handle each of these situations in NFHS?    Remember NFHS 7-3-4 states: "The batter shall not permit a pitched ball to touch him."    
  6. Hi! A colleague asked me a question that, sincerely, made ​​me doubt his decision. Situation: Bases loaded, two outs. The pitcher gives BB to BR and all runners should advance to next base. The 3rd base run leaves the defensive team on the field. The BR begins to celebrate with their patners without reaching the 1st base. The 1st base coach, seeing that did not quite reach the base, grabbed his arm and took him to her. The umpires call it the BR out for the coach interference. Like the BR was out before get the 1st base, 3rd run is voided (third out on the BR before 1st base). I'm not sure this decision. What do you think?
  7. I want to know you opinion about it and standardize criteria : R1, 1 Out. Situation: The pitcher is in Set position, the R1 tries steals 2B (reaching 2B) while the pitcher still in set position (Watch out! pitcher never detaches), then he pitched the ball, batter connect a fly to CF, CF threw to first base because the runner returned to that base. The 1B fielder tag that base and the umpire's call out. Is the call right? Please support, if possible, your answer citing baseball rule point or umpire manual. Thanks.
×
×
  • Create New...