Jump to content

oswalmar

Inactive
  • Content Count

    33
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

11 Neutral

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Male

More information about you

  • Your Association Name
    CNABV - Venezuela
  1. Gracias Matt!, thanks Matt! Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
  2. Hi! I have a doubt: If 3rd out is made on appeal play (R1 or R2 on 2nd base), can the defense team - after this appeal - choice another appeal play to look a 4th out and void the run (R3 on 3rd base)?
  3. I just wanted make an exercise, but selected the wrong play. Thanks Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
  4. Beyond the comments pro and contrary to the position of Drake, I think a play like this could happen to any of us commenting on here. The colleague Drake (I say colleague because he is an umpire, beyond he is MLBU) called "safe" despite that catcher touched him first and pulled it out of balance (almost falling). He made interference. The fielder is on the field to make plays and may make its by where believe needed, right or reversed, we must keep a safe distance. Question: It couldn't be better raise the hands, call "timeout" and award the 3rd base? Or was it better to leave everything as it happened. I would like to read your opinions. Again, is just an exercise. Could happen to anyone of us...
  5. my poor english management... Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk - now Free
  6. That is correct, sorry (is not me, is my spanglish, LOL). DH is removed, no out. S3 for DH (B3) before any play. I think this is better... Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk - now Free
  7. F1 batting was an unannounced termination of the DH(B2) coming to the plate when he did was a BOO. But that BOO was negated by the next pitch to B1 (now also a BOO). But that BOO is also negated by the next pitch to DH (an illegal sub for B2/F1). Though the rules only say this is illegal and don't prescribe a remedy, calling DH out seems the logical thing to do, but who is the proper batter now? This is not a BOO where the proper batter is out, this is an illegal sub. Is B2 (F1 standing on 3B) the next proper batter?... What a mess. I think that's generally how I'd handle it. The first pitch to the "DH" legitimizes B1's at bat. So, B2 (who was the DH and is now the former F1) is due up. He's on base though, so he is skipped. That makes B3 the proper batter. When DH shows up, he's an illegal sub for B3. The hit stands (actions by an illegal sub are still valid under OBR), but B3 is now out of the game, the DH is out of the game. Put a legal sub for B3 on first and B4 bats. The batting order is now B1, B2 =(old F1), S3, B4, B5 ... I like this solution. Especially since it is supported by Rule 3.03 which, I must confess, I had not thoroughly reviewed. Now if the umpire is aware of what is occurring, could to stop the DH and inform to manager that he ended his acting in the game. The umpire must intervene before he is positioned in box and to call to bat the proper (B3) to prevent the out of both. Do not you think? ... and would also prevent something like what illustrates ricka56
  8. F1 batting was an unannounced termination of the DH(B2) coming to the plate when he did was a BOO. But that BOO was negated by the next pitch to B1 (now also a BOO). But that BOO is also negated by the next pitch to DH (an illegal sub for B2/F1). Though the rules only say this is illegal and don't prescribe a remedy, calling DH out seems the logical thing to do, but who is the proper batter now? This is not a BOO where the proper batter is out, this is an illegal sub. Is B2 (F1 standing on 3B) the next proper batter?... What a mess. I think that's generally how I'd handle it. The first pitch to the "DH" legitimizes B1's at bat. So, B2 (who was the DH and is now the former F1) is due up. He's on base though, so he is skipped. That makes B3 the proper batter. When DH shows up, he's an illegal sub for B3. The hit stands (actions by an illegal sub are still valid under OBR), but B3 is now out of the game, the DH is out of the game. Put a legal sub for B3 on first and B4 bats. The batting order is now B1, B2 =(old F1), S3, B4, B5 ... I like this solution. Especially since it is supported by Rule 3.03 which, I must confess, I had not thoroughly reviewed. Now if the umpire is aware of what is occurring, could to stop the DH and inform to manager that he ended his acting in the game. The umpire must intervene before he is positioned in box and to call to bat the proper (B3) to prevent the out of both. Do not you think?
  9. F1 batting was an unannounced termination of the DH(B2) coming to the plate when he did was a BOO. But that BOO was negated by the next pitch to B1 (now also a BOO). But that BOO is also negated by the next pitch to DH (an illegal sub for B2/F1). So who is the proper batter now? This is not a BOO where the proper batter is out, Is B2 (F1 standing on 3B) the next proper batter?... What a mess. Notice: DH is B2, not B3...
  10. Very hard situation. Reading the comments, it seems quite reasonable to let the actions continue and wait for this team go to the defense. In this moment would be clarified waters. But the problem could persist if they make the appeal later that both DH and pitcher are on the bases and have made a pitch to the B3...
  11. I regret not having fully explained my question. In the previous post I reported that there is no special regulation that allows 10 players at bat. Can only bat 9. My question still focused where this. The 6.10 Rule (OBR) says, in one of its sections, that when the pitcher enters by any player other than the DH, this action ends with the DH for the rest of the game. And another section says that the pitcher can only enter to bat for the DH. I think the first section is concerned when the pitcher goes to another defensive position, but does say nothing when this suititución is made ​​in the moment that team is hitting. If a manager can do this and both, pitcher and DH can staying in the same time on base, is not mocking the established in the Rules?
  12. Friends, thank you for your opinion. First I inform you that, in Venezuela we work under the OBR without any modification regarding to the DH. Based on this principle, I think this is one of many situations that are not entirely clear in the OBR and must be resolved by us, the umpires, using analogies. I would want to discuss this extensively and come ultimately to a decision (or opinion) approved. Now, if the pitcher takes a turn at bat of the 1st in the lineup, can be understood as that, apart from being a unannounced replacement of the DH also is a Batting Out ​​of Turn (Rule 6.07). As I interpret the Rule 6.10 (b) (10), so must be. I am persuaded the pitcher is not allowed to enter to bat for any player other than the DH. If I am wrong and he can do it, I like to know where I find that comment, because in the OBR is not explicitly. If so, things would change, not for the DH, but yes to the pitcher and the rest of the players.
  13. In a lineup card with BD, once the battery turns around, the pitcher -placed in tenth place in the lineup- takes the turn before for the first batter and reached first base hitting to left. The first batter occupied the batter box after the pitcher and got walk. The BD, which is as second batter, stops in batter box, bunt the ball and reaches safe to first base. Bases loaded. My question is: should I, as umpire, to prevent that the BD consume the turn, as he was replaced by the pitcher and therefore is now officially out of the game? or I should await the defensive team makes the claim to bring the situation in order?
×
×
  • Create New...