Jump to content

Rich Ives

Established Member
  • Content Count

    6,263
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    25

Rich Ives last won the day on July 27 2020

Rich Ives had the most liked content!

Community Reputation

1,189 Excellent

More information about you

  • Occupation
    Retired

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. It was removed after the 2008 Olympics. Added back in 2016 for the 2020 games. Should have had plenty of time, especially with Japan being a SB power.
  2. Replay in all sports has proven, as in proven, that sometimes calls are missed. Perhaps questioning a call has validity after all.
  3. Rich Ives

    Rundown

    Balk. Has to throw to the base.
  4. You haven't watched enough people run into a wall. One usually extends the arms to act as a shock absorber.
  5. Rich Ives

    Rundown

    This is defined in the rules. The runner creates his own basepath. In a rundown it is from the point where the runner is at the start of the tag attempt straight to the base he is attempting to reach. Every time the runner reverses direction a new basepath is established. If the runner deviates from that path more than three feet perpendicularly the runner is out for that, not for abandonment. If there is no tag attempt the runner can run anywhere without penalty.
  6. Rich Ives

    Scoring

    Where was the winning run runner? You only get credit for as many bases as the scoring runner needed to advance. There is an exception for a home run, but not for a book-rule double.
  7. You don't live where I live so maybe it's a local colloquialism. But Google has several articles that agree with me. https://www.google.com/search?q=see+daylight+between&oq=see+daylight+between&aqs=chrome..69i57.12218j0j15&sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8
  8. You misinterpreted. It means be sure the runner is completely past, hence making a space for daylight to pass through.
  9. You'd better see daylight between them.
  10. Yes - he made a move then changed his mind.
  11. Rich Ives

    Called Game

    No. The out was nullified by the CI call. Only two outs now. Keep playing.
  12. Safe - no longer forced. Should have tagged R1 first, then stepped on the base. Both out then.
  13. Rule only requires closer. Nothing in the rule or the MLBUM says "cross the rubber" MLBUM: "In stepping to a base, the pitcher must lift his entire non-pivot foot off the ground and bring it down in a location different from where it started and toward the base. The entire non-pivot foot must move in a direction and distance to the base. This will constitute a step. The pitcher is not allowed to lift his non-pivot foot up and bring it back down in the same spot where it started. In stepping, the heel of the pitcher's free foot may not end up in the same spot it started."
  14. Failing to stop with no runners is not a balk or an illegal pitch in OBR.
  15. 2B + error. The fair ball did not deflect out of the playing field. It was kicked by the fielder. Treat it as a throw OOB. I'm not trying to desparate4ly catch you in a mistake. I'm presenting my opinion. This is what happened. 9.12 Errors An error is a statistic charged against a fielder whose action has assisted the team on offense, as set forth in this Rule 9.12. (a) The Official Scorer shall charge an error against any fielder: (1) whose misplay (fumble, muff or wild throw) prolongs the time at bat of a batter, prolongs the presence on the bases of a runner or per
×
×
  • Create New...