Jump to content

Mister B

Established Member
  • Content Count

    539
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    2

Mister B last won the day on June 19

Mister B had the most liked content!

Community Reputation

186 Neutral

1 Follower

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Male
  • Location
    Portland, OR

More information about you

  • Your Association Name
    N/A
  • Occupation
    Production Artist
  • Types/Levels of Baseball called
    Little League/Rec
  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    Search Engine (Google, Yahoo, Bing, ...)

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. Expect many new/young umpires to get this wrong.
  2. Teach the pitcher that with R2, there's no need to hold the runner at 1B. With R1 and R2, F3 should be playing defense. R1 isn't going anywhere. RHP, should be watching R2. I was the 1B coach in a game against a lesser-skilled friendly team. F3 was holding with 2 outs and R1 and R2, I suggested that F3 play defense and not worry about the runner, so he did, next hit was a hard ground ball just to his right. Had he been holding the runner, it would have been a base hit. Not holding, it was the third out.
  3. Not looking at the Green Book, but I was always taught, if he throws a warmup, he must face at least one batter. Now, if the pitcher was ineligible and throws a warmup pitch, we fix the problem and play on if it's caught before pitching to a batter.
  4. So, I've gotten burned by this a couple times this season. But when is the best time to appeal a Batting out of order. Game 1, wrong batter gets on base, next batter takes 2 pitches, now this one, I screwed up on, we appealed, which then just substituted the correct batter assuming the current count. Game 2, Batter who isn't in the lineup, makes 3rd out. Neither name or number are on the scrap of paper we were given. Next inning, batter steps into the box and we appeal. We are told that the batter is legal and that we should have appealed the last inning. Also, told that numbers don't matter, everything is based on last name, which of course we weren't given.
  5. Mister B

    Immaculate Inning?

    I'm with this definition. To me, a perfect inning is 3 outs in less than 9 pitches. There was a recent game here in the Oregon State LL tourney and a pitcher threw 35 in 3 and a third. That's a damn good game.
  6. Mister B

    force out

    Yes, by stepping on the base first he removes the force. Since R2 never left the base, he is not out. Since only one out was scored the run scores. BTW, R1 refers to the runner on first base, R2 is the runner on second and R3 is the runner on third. If there were runners on 1st and 3rd, we'd have R1 and R3.
  7. This. We had a coach complain about it, with a new pitcher. PU allowed the glasses. During the first pitch, he called no pitch and had them removed. A brief flash was enough to make it distracting.
  8. Looks like the stiches broke, anyone with basic sewing skills should be able to put that back together.
  9. I've had a couple kids that go thru a 25 second ritual after they enter the box to hit. This is after taking 20-30 seconds to get the signs. Both teams get warned, then I start calling strikes.
  10. Mister B

    Bats

    I just had a coach in Districts respond with a mumbled "uh-huh" I looked at him and and said, it's a yes or no question. If I don't hear, "yes" we don't play. As for bats, at the Juniors level, every player should have their own bat, it's not my decision as a coach to let somebody else use it. About half of my 13u team is swinging BBCOR. My son (13) just moved from a 32 drop 5 (USA) to a 31 inch BBCOR. But he's still hitting the ball 250-300 feet. And $300 is the midrange for anything heavier than a drop 10. I had one coach tell me that I was robbing him of distance by using a USA bat vs. a bpf 1.15, the next game he put one over the fence straight-a-way center. 330 feet. How much further does he need to hit it? Personally, I think the transition from USA to BBCOR is better.
  11. Similar in the sense that the rules are the same in every park.
  12. IIRC, every field had a different ground rule, so MLB made it universal to make it easier. Plus there are places where the yellow line is painted on the wall. Above the top of the yellow line, HR, below the top of the yellow line, play on. Similar rules as the foul poles.
  13. We got warned once for stealing signs, when a couple of our players told the batter to watch for the curveball, on a 2 strike count. (not a fan of that rule) I agree with making sure the other team doesn't disrupt the pitcher. I also don't like when teams yell, "Trouble!" on a fly ball.
  14. Are coaches considered part of the team? There's a reason they wear a uniform at FED and above. Many LL Majors players are probably smarter than you think. I was watching a game, R1 with 1 out, hard ground ball hit right to F3, he touches the base and throws to 2B, F6 steps on the base and runs in, flipping the ball to the mound, BU calls R1 out. R1 says he was never tagged. BU says he was out on the force. R1 says there was no force, runner was out at first. BU looks very confused. PU overturns and calls him safe. Most of the defensive players, stayed on the field, as they knew he was safe. Both F1 and F4 were yelling, "you gotta make the tag!" during the play. Both BU and F6 looked like they wanted to disappear. The best part was F5 explaining what happened to the defensive coach, who kept insisting there was a force. I had worked a majors game with R1 and R2 and no outs. Short fly to F3 in foul territory. Both runners go on the hit. F3 makes the catch, flips it to F1, standing on 1B, who fires it to F6 on 2B. Triple play. I didn't need a verbal explanation, their intent was crystal clear. The offensive coach did need an explanation, as he thought all foul balls were dead. The question in your scenario, was F5 confused because he was waiting for a call that didn't happen, or because he didn't know what he was doing?
  15. Mister B

    Last batted out

    Because he was the last to complete an at bat and make an out. Because he wasn't out. Okay, I'll amend my initial answer. The last batter to complete an at bat and be called out or complete his at bat on or just prior to the third out. R1 and R2 with 2 outs, R2 gets picked off for the third out. R1 would be the last batted out.
×
×
  • Create New...