Jump to content

jms1425

Established Member
  • Content Count

    148
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    2

jms1425 last won the day on October 30 2017

jms1425 had the most liked content!

Community Reputation

57 Neutral

Profile Information

  • Location
    Cleveland, OH

More information about you

  • Types/Levels of Baseball called
    pro, college, HS
  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    Search Engine (Google, Yahoo, Bing, ...)

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. And naturally, I just sold them on ebay... Dammit... Sorry Chris..... LOCK IT UP!
  2. I asked about the mechanics of signaling this play, and got feedback from some very well-respected instructors (no names please, cuz I'm not sure which of them responded... lol) At the moment we deem a runner to have abandoned his attempts to run the bases, we should point at said runner, call, "That's abandonment," and then signal the out. Here's the rest of their reply: "...once [R3] stops, turns 90 degrees and commits to heading to the dugout, he is out and we can signal. This might be different if he stayed near the plate and R2 then passed him.. now we have PASSING which in t
  3. Also, should PU have done this at some point, rather than waiting for the whole thing to play out? For example, once R2 touches the plate, R3 can no longer go back and touch, so would that be the moment at which to signal R3 is out? Thoughts?
  4. How do we signal "abandonment"? By pointing at the runner committing the abandonment and then signaling an out? Honestly, I've never thought about that before..... That is, how to signal the call when it happens.
  5. The announcers say PU called out R3; the box score says it was an appeal, and he was called out for missing the plate. That's not what happened - no appeal was made. That, of course, could have happened, but it didn't. There are two other options: R3 out for abandonment, or R2 out for passing R3 before R3 touched the plate (and, of course, R3 never did touch the plate, before or after being passed). If, as the announcers say, R3 was called out for abandonment, then that's the 3rd out, inning over, no one scores. If we go with "R2 passed R3 before he touched the plate".... Then
  6. This happened yesterday... Bottom 6, bases loaded, 2 outs, 1-1 on the batter
  7. How about half price... $35 per pair buy both pairs, and I'll ship for free... C'mon - get these out of my house! LOL
  8. ***** EDIT ***** In case people aren't reading my replies.... I have changed the price..... EDIT #2: one pair sold, one pair left 1 pair 2 pairs Brand New Fechheimer poly wool plate pants, never worn -- Waist 40 -- unhemmed bottom -- still have the tags on them - $70 on gerrydavis.com Gerry Davis Sports: Davis by Fechheimer Poly-Wool Charcoal Plate Umpire Pants I'll sell them for 20% off retail (which Gerry never seems to do... lol), so $55 each, plus shipping. Wow! That's actually over 21% off! What a deal! $35 each - that's HALF the price, and t
  9. Correct, which is why I placed it in the collegiate forum.
  10. Sorry, all - I posted as though everyone has Referee Magazine, which was a dumb assumption..... Let me clarify and summarize the magazine's somewhat more wordy ruling: The MAGAZINE'S ruling says the umpire must judge which fielder is protected (F3 or F4): If protecting F4, then call obstruction on F3, though R1 would only be awarded 1st (Type 2 obs, so award the base the runner would have attained had the obstruction not occurred.) Alternatively, if the umpire judges that F3 was the protected fielder on this play, "the double play would stand." MY
  11. Case Play #3 R1, 1 out "B3 hits a wind-blown pop-up to F4; R1 moves toward 2nd, but sees the ball will likely be caught and retreats toward 1st.F3 is looking up at the ball and sees it drifting toward him but is not ready to make a play when R1 bumps into F3 and both fall to the ground. After F4 makes the catch, he flips to F1 covering for an apparent double play." The Ruling provided is fine, at least until the last line, which caused me some confusion. In short, it says that if the umpire judges that F3 was the protected fielder on this play, the double play would stand.
  12. Eh... maybe someone gave Jeff an audible signal to say Altuve was going to swing, and he just went with the hint.....
×
×
  • Create New...