Jump to content

Recommended Posts

Reviewing the guidelines for an illegal slide....letter "f" caught my eye

"f. the runner, on a force play, does not slide on the ground and in a direct line between the two bases."

To those of you out there who work NFHS baseball.

On a double play ball is letter "f" to be interpreted as a violation of FPSR if R1 goes in standing to 2B past the halfway point? 

Is there an NFHS interpretation to support a violation or no violation?

In my mind, I read it as the NFHS wanting the runners to get down or veer away to avoid an overzealous middle infielder slinging the baseball into R1 chest or face. A preventative safety measure. 

A 2007 NFHS Interpretation States the following but doesn't necessarily apply to the question being asked:

SITUATION 3: With no outs and R1 on first base, B2 hits a hard ground ball to F6. F6 fields the ball and steps on second base and then throws to first base in an attempt to double up B2. R1 is running standing up in a straight line to second and is hit by F6's throw. R1 was not even half way to second base and did not intentionally interfere with the throw. The defensive coach states that B2 should also be out since R1 violated the force-play slide rule. RULING: This is not a violation of the force play slide rule. R1 cannot be expected to slide at that point in the base path. The play stands. R1 would be out only if he intentionally interfered. (8-4-2b penalty)

2016 BRD Childress seems to support the assertion.

See attachments.

What are your thoughts? 

Thanks.

 

 

Screen Shot 2019-05-27 at 12.45.36 PM.jpg

Screen Shot 2019-05-27 at 1.06.55 PM.jpg

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

To me, the key  phrase is "R1 cannot be expected to slide at that point in the base path."  So if he IS at a point in the base path where is CAN be expected to slide, then he either needs to slide legally or move out of the way.  I would not use the halfway point as some sort of line of demarcation - it would be somewhat close to 2B, IMO.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
4 hours ago, grayhawk said:

I would not use the halfway point as some sort of line of demarcation - it would be somewhat close to 2B, IMO.

Absolutely. By no means...I guess I'm heading toward an "it's automatic if he goes into the base standing straight up" interpretation. 

Is that how you're interpreting it? 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
6 hours ago, johnnyg08 said:

On a double play ball is letter "f" to be interpreted as a violation of FPSR if R1 goes in standing to 2B past the halfway point? 

You're conflating 2 distinct provisions of the rule.

Letter 'f' is an additional constraint on legal slides during a force play: beyond a–e, which apply to every slide, a slide on a force play must be in a direct line between the bases (I'm not sure what "on the ground" adds to the legality of a slide: are there "air slides"?).

An independent issue is, when does a runner need to slide? Evidently, according to Hopkins, not halfway. Well, that narrows it down.

But this is not the clause you want, as it merely constrains legal slides. The runner you want to call out did NOT slide, and so he cannot have committed an illegal slide.

Instead, you want the "illegally alters the action of a fielder in the immediate act of making a play" from 8-4-2b. A retired runner "near" 2B must either get down or veer off: anything else would count as illegally altering the actions of the fielder and warrant calling the BR out for R1's FPSR violation.

The "alteration" at issue is forcing the fielder to move in order to "throw around" R1. A runner who goes in standing up is (usually intentionally) trying to hinder the backend of the double play in that fashion, and it's illegal by 8-4-2b.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
17 minutes ago, maven said:

Instead, you want the "illegally alters the action of a fielder in the immediate act of making a play" from 8-4-2b. A retired runner "near" 2B must either get down or veer off: anything else would count as illegally altering the actions of the fielder and warrant calling the BR out for R1's FPSR violation.

The "alteration" at issue is forcing the fielder to move in order to "throw around" R1. A runner who goes in standing up is (usually intentionally) trying to hinder the backend of the double play in that fashion, and it's illegal by 8-4-2b.

Which makes this essentially an automatic? Is that how it's interpreted and enforced in your area? 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 hours ago, johnnyg08 said:

Which makes this essentially an automatic? Is that how it's interpreted and enforced in your area? 

 

Not automatic.  If F4 or F6 move away from the base then R1 can run througj.  If the infielders stay at the base of move in a line toward fir st then R 1 will be out for running in the straight line.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
18 hours ago, maven said:

I'm not sure what "on the ground" adds to the legality of a slide: are there "air slides"?).

Yes - runner at top speed leaps through the air, typically feet first in this situation, rather than head first (a la Pete Rose), getting airborne for a short period before sliding on the ground.  Basically diving or leaping into your slide.  A runner could run in and jump into a sliding motion, giving him a little more time in the air at a higher vertical to impede the throw, but still argue he's sliding...except for the rule requiring him to slide on the ground.

I remember it being popular into the 80's - part and parcel to that maneuver was throwing your hands up above your head as part of the slide - giving more things the throw from second could hit.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • Similar Content

    • Guest
      By Guest
      Is there a Force Play Slide Rule in NFHS Fastpitch softball like there is in baseball?  What rule number?  If not what are the major differences between how it is called?  Can a girl go in to second base standing up obviously making the 2nd baseman throw over her to turn the double play?  I know this would be an easy FPSR in NFHS or NCAA Baseball but have seen it not called 3 times in NFHS softball games this year.  So I was wondering if there was a major rule difference that I was unaware of.  Thanks.  
    • By zm1283
      Take a look at this video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XMYejsgJCmk&feature=related

      This was obviously a few years ago. Has the FPSR changed in NCAA in recent years? I haven't been at this long enough to know either way. F1 sliding past second base is not illegal now, but was it before? The announcers are basically claiming that the FED slide rule was in effect at this time and F1 should be out for interference. (I know, announcers are clueless)

      Also, do you have interference for F1 grabbing at the backside of the pivot man on the double play? I didn't think he touched him at first, but they eventually showed an angle and he did make slight contact.
    • By James88
      FED rules.
      On a ground ball when the defense is trying to turn a double play, how do we rule on a runner that doesn't slide?  Obviously by rule they are not required to slide, but is there any good rule or guidance on where we draw the line and say they interfered with a throw for an attempted double play?
      I've always taken the approach that if the runner is in the immediate vicinity of the base and alters play it could be interference.  Otherwise, I figure the fielder has ample opportunity to make a quality throw without being affected by the runner.
      I don't find any examples of this type of play in the Case Book, but if I've missed something, please point me in the right direction.
      Thanks.
    • By UmpJM
      Guys,
       
      I'm having a little difficulty persuading a couple of colleagues about the proper interpretation of the FED FPSR. I would appreciate it if you would all take my little "FPSR" test. 
       
      Any supporting commentary would also be appreciated.
       
      Thanks.
       
      JM
    • By grayhawk
      I am confused about the ruling on these two plays from BRD. I hope it's OK to post these:

      *Play 170-329:FED only. R1 moving on the pitch. B1 hits to the shortstop, who tries - not in time - for the out at second. The second baseman throws the ball to first, after which R1 pops-up on the base, jostling the fielder. Ruling: Though the contact occurred after the throw and did not alter the play, it resulted from an illegal slide: Both R1 and B1 are out.

      *Play 173-229: R1 stealing. B1 grounds slowly to F6, whose throw to second is not in time. R1 then executes a pop-up slide while F6 is on top of the base, preventing the second baseman from throwing to first. Ruling: (EXPANDED) In Fed/OBR, R1 is out, but B1 goes to first.
      **(ADDED) Note 321: Since R1 beat the throw, no double play is possible. In FED/OBR, then, only the interfering runner can be out. It's simply interference by a runner (one is out), not a retired runner (two would be out).

      These two plays are very close to being the same. In the first play, it does not state whether or not B1 was thrown out on the play, but if R1 committed an illegal slide, then it wouldn't matter - B1 is out regardless. Note 321 is very confusing, however, because it says that "since R1 beat the throw" - this is the case in both plays.

      Also, in the first play, there was contact but the play was NOT altered. In the second play, there was no contact but the play WAS altered.

      Can anyone shed some light on this? Also, I would recommend BRD to anyone and everyone who is serious about learning the rules - even if you only umpire under one jurisdiction. It's a fantastic piece of work.
×
×
  • Create New...