Jump to content

johnnyg08

Moderators
  • Content Count

    7,420
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    59

Everything posted by johnnyg08

  1. 1. Yes. 2. No. 3. It's not distracting.
  2. Not sure I agree. At the time of the interference the ball was not fair or foul. It appeared to be in flight over fair territory. "A batter-runner is out when a fielder attempts to make an initial play" To have an infield fly, you need a fair ball. At the time of the interference, the ball was neither fair nor foul it was airborne. I have the batter runner out for interference.
  3. Softball and baseball definitions of IFF essentially the same definition.
  4. I like #2. It feels more consistent with other baseball plays. Also remember that on runner interference, the ball is dead at the time of the interference. There is the rare exception where the ball remains live only to determine if the batted ball is fair or not, but the ball is dead immediately at that point. Again, in reference to the video below. The play the that inspired the rule change involves a batter/runner and interference by another runner who is not the batter/runner. Rule change inspired by this play: See this article: https://bleacherreport.com/articles/1536094-mlb-modifies-infield-fly-rule-in-wake-of-confusing-play-during-2012-season See OBR "Definition of Terms - Infield Fly":
  5. No. Sometimes we just have to umpire.
  6. A batted ball is neither fair nor foul until the conditions of each are met.
  7. What about the Interference? We're not debating the judgment of interference or no interference. There would be no reason for a multiple page thread.
  8. Fair enough, but we're not debating interference or not. We're working through proper enforcement of when is the exact moment the batter out on IFF? That is the why we're here.
  9. Sure. Those plays are all over. It doesn't necessarily mean that it's wrong "Accidentally" collide with F4 who is charging a double play ball. 1 out, runners return.
  10. @Aging_Arbiter we can't see your image.
  11. I have also noticed that the seat has a traditional seam which makes me a bit nervous for that day that they may split.
  12. johnnyg08

    Rule Set?

    Maybe they don't know. Simply include the rule set in the reply. Threads tend to go that way anyway.
  13. It's actually Rule 8-2-7 dealing with the batter-runner: The batter-runner shall be called out when: ART. 7 . . . The batter-runner interferes with a fielder attempting to make an initial play, interferes with a fielder attempting to throw the ball, intentionally interferes with a thrown ball while out of the batter's box, makes contact with a fair batted ball before reaching first base, or (F.P.) interferes with a dropped third strike. If this interference, in the umpire's judgment, is an obvious attempt to prevent a double play, the runner closest to home plate shall be called out. A batter runner being hit with a thrown ball does not necessarily constitute interference. Rule 2-30 Infield Fly: "Infield fly rule is, when declared by the umpire, a fair fly..." When the ball is airborne, it's neither fair nor foul. Rule 5-1-1 The ball becomes dead immediately when: e. there is interference by a runner or a retired runner Rule 7-4-12 In this play, the ONLY way they could get two outs would be if the interference by the BR prevented a possible double play, which it didn't.
  14. There's some very good discussion in the comments section of the above YouTube video with some rule citations as well.
  15. If that game isn't LL and on National Television, the pitcher will fix that stance with one pitch.
  16. Perhaps. Sound reasoning. I struggle with getting 2 outs minus something intentional by the batter runner. Unless we somehow determine the running the bases after being put out in and of itself is interference (which it isn't by rule) Just seems like a REALLY stiff penalty for a very minimal infraction...not that those can't happen, but I don't feel like that's how and why the rules were written. After all, IFF is in place to protect the offense from cheap double plays...this might be the cheapest of cheap double plays. IFF or interference by the B/R gets the defense one out I could see a savvy coach coaching his kids to create contact to get a cheap DP. I'm not sure there would be an easier way to get a runner out at 3B than a play like this. I like the "he's out until it's foul" philosophy. Perhaps that's the key? That being said, I'm not saying I'm right. Just attempting to put some common sense into this.
  17. Sound reasoning...but the issue I have with this interpretation is that the ruling could literally change over the course of the game and certainly from game to game. If the timing of the declaration or failure to declare is the test as to when the batter runner is "out" that changes how the play would be officiated. Failure to declare or declared after the interference call, then we have a different call than if it were declared prior to the interference. (Let's just agree that it's interference b/c that's not what's debated here) I guess in my mind, the timing of the umpire(s)' declaration of IFF or not, should not be the determining factor as to whether or not we get one or two outs here. I will maintain that we need a fair ball for there to be an IFF. When the ball is in flight, we don't have a fair or foul ball. Runner interference does not require us to decide if the ball is fair or foul, only if the defense was hindered or impeded from making a play on a batted ball. Thanks for the continued debate. I think there is already a thread on this, but I'm fine letting this one continue here with the support of the other mods. Thanks again
  18. Interesting. First I've seen of this idea. Can't say it is something that interests me, but it is clever and unique. Thanks!
  19. @Razzer @tpatience or anyone else?? Any photos out there of the Unequal/WV combo?
  20. Yep, I think they missed this one. U2 & U3 had a great look at it. So it goes.
  21. An infield fly is a "fair fly ball" (Wendelstedt 2015) By rule, I don't think the batter/runner is officially "out" until the batted ball becomes a fair ball. In situations where there is little doubt as to whether or not the ball is fair, it works out all the same. In this case, since interference was the call on the field, the status of the batted ball has not yet been determined because it was still airborne so we don't know if the batted ball is fair or foul. On runner or batter/runner interference, the ball is immediately dead at the time of the interference. On this play, assuming we agree on interference, I think the proper call is to call the batter/runner out for interference (immediate dead ball) everything that happens after that is moot including the status of the batted ball. Batter-runner out. Return runners to their Time of Pitch base.
  22. After the debut of the Fecheimer plate pants, I have to say that I love the fit in the waist. It's snug and true to size. They absolutely DO NOT match the Smitty with respect to color. They're much, much lighter. Last night was hot, the sweat through is very visible. I'm going to get new base pants, and from those I've talked to, I will not get the Fecheimer base pants, but the Smitty. The fit is better and they're less money too.
×
×
  • Create New...