Jump to content

Thatsnotyou

Established Member
  • Content Count

    277
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    2

Thatsnotyou last won the day on March 25

Thatsnotyou had the most liked content!

Community Reputation

94 Neutral

More information about you

  • Types/Levels of Baseball called
    High School
  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    Search Engine (Google, Yahoo, Bing, ...)

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. Three warm up pitches between innings, no other infield balls.
  2. I used to give time almost every time it was requested, unless the pitcher was already delivering. I stopped it this year. Run into a couple issues and have called 4 or 5 strikes on guys stepping out, but so be it. You’ll learn to not just back out of the box when you say time (and I say no) and you’ll put your other hand on the bat instead of showing me your palm for ten seconds. Unless there is a good reason for time in the box, I don’t call it. Get in the box and hit. It’s a 1-1 pitch with no one on. You don’t need time. Few issues, but plenty of “no” and they stay in and get ready to hit, so in the long run I think it has helped. Some teams will try to slow down a pitcher with good pace. No. Why should we let you slow down a pitcher that gets it and throws it? They get cheered for time. “Yeah, your box”. No, it’s my box.
  3. In MLB replay for a force play, is it considered possession when it enters the circumference of the glove, even if not entirely closed yet? Or is it when the glove closes on it/hits back of glove? Obviously we listen for the glove and watch the bag. We can’t see, nor differentiate, ball within the circumference of the glove. You can on replay, however. Is there anything in the MLB replay rules for this?
  4. They addressed this: AND (ii) the batter, in the umpire’s judgment, demonstrates or otherwise creates an impression of his intent to advance to first base. If first base is occupied when the batter chooses to become a runner this creates a force play."
  5. Good luck never calling obstruction.
  6. Sure, but giving the runner an inch on one side of the base is not “giving him access”. I’m not protecting the defense if they are blocking most of the base without the ball. If the guy’s leg and foot is centering the base and he doesn’t have the ball, that’s obstruction. The defense isn’t the one that deserves the benefit of the doubt here.
  7. If it’s that extreme, start balking him.
  8. You can have obstruction even if he’s safe. I had this exact call a few weeks ago at 1st on a pick off. Guy dove back, hit 1b leg, kind of swam around to get his arm in. Sure he’s safe, but that’s no reason to ignore the obstruction. Plus the obstruction gives him 2nd, so it’s not irrelevant just because he’s safe. On BI, call it when you have it. If he’s out at third it’s ignored, but you don’t know what’s going to happen at the end of the throw. Call it if it’s there, then you can figure out what happens. If he was safe, you’d have a hard time selling BI if you didn’t say anything until you saw he was out.
  9. Time between innings in travel ball is rarely a minute. It’s always taking the catcher forever to get out, even if someone catches him - after I remind them too. I really don’t understand what takes them so long to get dressed. I can put on my shin guards and chest protestor in maybe 30 seconds. So you’re either that guy and count to a minute, or you try to be reasonable and work with them as best you can. But teams that are slow coming out an entire game can add 10-15 minutes to a game. That’s significant. It needs to become a hard, fast, and “OK to enforce” rule that it’s a minute. You get no pitches, one pitch, too bad. Make it a POE in HS baseball (not as big of a problem here) and write it into the tournament rules so people realize it’s a rule and will be strictly enforced. Outside of that, summer ball should be 1:30 or 1:40 time limits. They’ll play faster. And if they don’t? OK, we played 6 innings. Or 5. Who cares?
  10. Speaking of podcasts @JSam21, did umpcast disappear? Or is my phone just not catching any new episodes?
  11. I have no idea how anyone can watch that and think he wasn't trying to take out the fielder so he couldn't get his teammate out at 1st. This one seemed pretty easy with one look at it.
  12. So the "proximity" issue only is applied at first base, correct? Pitcher wheels towards 2nd, realizes no one's there as he goes to throw, so throws to the SS that is in his normal position.
  13. And what if that changes after the fielder takes an initial position, or changes position late? I guess I just don't understand why the onus is on the runner to do something abnormal.
×
×
  • Create New...