Jump to content

Jimurray

Established Member
  • Posts

    5,300
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    23

Everything posted by Jimurray

  1. Jimurray

    BI

    You might be talking about the same thing I caught out of the corner of my eye, not totally focused on the game. 8th inning I think, I was thinking what was that. But no replay. You are not wrong. A throw is not required. But the reason for no throw should be hindrance as opposed to no play. Video would help.
  2. @SH0102 is correct for NCAA/OBR but FED is different on an end of game appeal and an appeal can take place until the umpires have left the field of play.
  3. NCAA only requires relaxed action appeals in the “correct” order: “Exception—No runner can be forced out if a runner who follows in the batting order is put out first� However, if a runner is put out during live action, it does not remove the force on any runners who might subsequently be declared out for a running infraction�”
  4. FED does not have any definitive interp/case play that supports the “correct” order of appeals for two forced runners.
  5. The order in which appeals can be important but all of the above do not address two forced base appeals.
  6. That would be true in NCAA. But what higher standard in NCAA would you apply if one appeal was given under live action while the scout in the dugout was yelling to appeal 2B and then they did?
  7. I agree with you for OBR and NCAA. They differ. FED is up for grabs. There is no conclusive ruling for FED. Basically in OBR if the force existed at the time of the miss it is a forced base appeal. The order of appeals in OBR only matters if a non force and a forced appeal add up to the 3rd out.
  8. At our level we don't give time for any little thing and if an adult league wants to emulate MLB with time after every play we enthuse them but not before looking around to ensure relaxed action. Who asked for time when R1 noticed 2B uncovered and Gibson gave it without a clue? Non starter as BOS won with next at bat but sht could have happened unless I didn't see the whole sequence of who asked for time or even if it was asked for.
  9. We will have to see if that approved ruling always existed for a thrown ball or if it was added at some point due to perceived unfairness. Calling @Senor Azul, was this always in the ball thrown out of play rule: "APPROVED RULING: If all runners, including the batterrunner, have advanced at least one base when an infielder makes a wild throw on the first play after the pitch, the award shall be governed by the position of the runners when the wild throw was made."
  10. Would adding the timing verbiage from a throw going out of play to this rule complicate things? “If the batter and all base runners……”
  11. It was intentional. But drifting to to screen a throw doesn’t get called. To call intent it seems you need a more overt action such as an arm move or lean into the ball as it approaches.
  12. I like that situational awareness but at our levels we keep that ball in play. But no harm in whipping that replacement ball back to F1 if F2 is still tracking the out of play foul ball. Even my lob speeds up the game. I find myself only vocalizing corner pitches. But big league guys do and don't vocalize pitches. My take is to let new guys know, being trained by a uncertified shade tree umpire, that either technique might work for you. Take your pick.
  13. Didn't I reach that conclusion above after viewing @johnnyg08s post? But on another note there was no balk for stepping off while coming set which happens in MLB. I think his hands already being together when he stepped off allowed the umps to forgo calling a balk.
  14. Yes, upon further review F1 stepped off.
  15. Randy Arozarena steals home in ALDS Game 1 (mlb.com) I think I have CI in NCAA and FED but there is JR OBR cite that when the batter abandons there is no CI. But did the catcher miss getting a strike 3 call by catching the pitch early? It looks like it might have been a strike if received normally.
  16. You still need a throw to be interfered with. Some of us probably corrected CCS in the comments but they never admit to or correct errors in their posts, most of which are worthwhile but they have that fatal flaw of not correcting errors.
  17. I don't know where you got this cite from but you and/or they did not further read the Note 1. in the rule. OR you and they ascribe to a weird NFHS Arbiter training video which I questioned here:
  18. On a clean catch and out it would not be called at any level, HS, NCAA or OBR. My point in the OP is that MLB runners continue to defy the odds and take a chance of being in violation.
  19. They go to replay which rules R1 touched 2B after overrunning 2B. Where was the appeal that generated the replay?
  20. It would have should have happened. Luckily not needed. And been called, no called, right or wrong thought out this and previous seasons.
  21. Stick to what you have been trained for. Do not emulate Joe as in the fifth inning where on a check swing he used his right arm with a righty batter to ask if he went. His crew knows Joe and there was no confusion. I've even seen Joe use his right arm with an open becoming hand asking U1. It won't work for us.
  22. Until we get some who reads all of the rule with which there has been no problem, but then reads the comment which has a problem we ignore.
  23. If F6 is playing the normal "in" he usually is right at the grass line or will be there as the pitch starts. I like to be next to him in deep C. Normal C is where he usually ends up on a dribbler when he charges and I don't want to be trying to get out of his way. Always an eye on F5 for a possible pick from F1 and if the pitch gets to the catcher I am taking a step or two to be ready for a backpick, an eye on F5 helping there also.
  24. The OP has read the rule, which he cites, but actually is concerned with a sentence in the comment: "The position of the batter-runner at the time the wild throw left the thrower’s hand is the key in deciding the award of bases. If the batter-runner has not reached first base, the award is two bases at the time the pitch was made for all runners. The decision as to whether the batter-runner has reached first base before the throw is a judgment call" It doesn't make sense and we ignore it as a glitch in the writing of the rules.
  25. U2 knew as soon as he called the force out that he messed up and it was an IF. What we don't know is if he was aware of U3 or the PU signal. His time call would have been correct using a BRD J-R interp if he thought no one signaled an IF and a DP resulted. That interp, no IF called, DP, has the batter out and runners back on TOP bases.
×
×
  • Create New...