Jump to content

Jimurray

Established Member
  • Posts

    5,300
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    23

Everything posted by Jimurray

  1. George may be right for NCAA. There are a few instances where they rewrote a rule thinking they were going with the OBR interp but actually were not in line with the interp. You’d have to peruse the BRD to see where Carl Childress points this out. But the CCS article shows how OBR does it. Play was killed when the obstructed runner was tagged out.
  2. I think this is why OBR/NCAA call time when the previously obstructed runner is tagged out at a base he was protected to even though there are other runners that could be played played on, acknowledging @Senor Azul's differing opinion that you wait for all playing action to end. CCS shows a recent OBS where time was called when the previously obstructed runner was tagged and we still had runner/s advancing on the bases. They also reference the WS OBS and that Lentz correction Demuth wishes that he had used the correct mechanic of calling time on the tag out instead of signaling safe: Kulpa-Lentz's Obstruction Shades of Joyce-DeMuth | Close Call Sports & Umpire Ejection Fantasy League But CCS is also remiss in quoting the rule wording of "no further action is possible" when there still was a runner.
  3. NCAA puts the verbiage of the OBR note in their rule: 8-3-e-2, note: “ Note: If a runner is obstructed under this second section of the obstruction rule, play shall continue until its completion, even if it results in a play being made on the previously obstructed runner. If the play results in that runner being tagged out before he reaches the base he would have been awarded, the umpire shall call “Time” at the moment the runner is tagged out. The umpire shall then impose such penalties that would nullify the obstruction.” I don’t know if George interprets that as you do but it seems to be an unnecessary note for a sit with only 1 runner. If they are tagged out all play has ceased.
  4. So why have Note 1 if of course time will be called. Does your MiLBUM refer to Note 1 as an exception to the “all play has ceased…..” phrase in the type 2 verbiage. George is probably right about NCAA but he has benn wrong before about OBR.
  5. We are not arguing, just trying to get clarity on the OBR ruling which might actually have a bearing how FED rules although usually not. It appears "(See Note 1 that follows)" is not in your current MiLBUM but would you do me the favor of a continued reading of that paragraph in your MiLBUM to confirm that there is no reference to a note 1 that kills the play if the type 2 obstructed runner is tagged out because it did/does exist in my 2017 MLBUM. The partial wording is "However if such a play on a previously obstructed runner being tagged out before reaching the base to which the runner would have been awarded because of the obstruction results in the runner being actuallt tagged, the umpire shall in that case call time the moment the runner is tagged out."
  6. That's type 1 OBS where a play is being made on the runner as he is obstructed. The OP is type 2. The play is after he was obstructed. I can see why the wording could be interpreted as type 1 even when you read 6.01h(2); "(2)  If no play is being made on the obstructed runner, the play shall proceed until no further action is possible. The umpire shall then call “Time” and impose such penalties, if any, as in his judgment will nullify the act of obstruction." But PBUC/MiLBUM/MLBUM clear up when to call time for type 1 and 2 and the position of the batter-runner and where the batted ball ends up. They also allow base awards on a thrown ball out of play that was type 1 OBS. Somebody else will have to copy and paste that as I can't.
  7. In OBR the play would be killed on the tag if the runner was out. If he was safe play would be continued.
  8. What I’ve seen is an immediate safe before any appeal would even be asked. What’s interesting is it seems to forestall any ask at least in high school.
  9. Slightly off topic, I'm not a fan of a safe signal when the PU doesn't judge an offer. Is this something that's being taught lately?
  10. Jimurray

    Home Run

    Specifically for MLB with video replay if they reverse a foul to a fair on a homerun ball the runner does not have to go back and run the bases. He is awarded a home run.
  11. Jimurray

    Balk to third

    Did the rule help the OP?
  12. I don't think i would have reacted, or gave attention to, anything in those sits.
  13. Jimurray

    Balk to third

    I guess I'm wondering if someone literally wants the foot to land before the ball is released.
  14. Jimurray

    Balk to third

    It doesn't saying releasing the ball.
  15. It can be an aggressive feint if it creates the impression of his intent to advance. The comment with that wording was added to 8.05(d) in 2014 and we believed it lowered the bar in OBR to allow throws to an unoccupied base if the umpire judged the runner created the impression. "Added Rule 8.05(d) Comment regarding the pitcher throwing to an unoccupied base when a runner, in the umpire’s judgment, creates the impression he is attempting to advance to that base."
  16. Just tell me that they are not teaching you to give an official warning to the coach when this happens.
  17. He doesn’t have to have a helmet.
  18. If you ascribe to the bat still being "their equipment" we have some who would argue it became fair in FED upon hitting the bat in fair territory.
  19. I'm not calling it at my levels but it certainly is a balk in MLB: The previous call: MLB Ejection 126 - Pat Hoberg (1; Aaron Boone) - Close Call Sports/ Umpire Ejection Fantasy League - Umpire-Empire
  20. Is this OBR or FED? I thought it was OBR based on one catcher’s skullcap. If OBR there is no FPSR. There is a rule about sliding to bases on double play attempts.
  21. I think you have the tail wagging the dog when you don't allow a runner to go into his base standing up on a force play. The addition of 6.01(j) was to prevent slides away from the base which were designed to take out the pivot man. I don't think you can literally use the lack of a bona fide slide to call interference on a runner going in standing up. Let's say a runner did slide straight in complying with the rule and popped up, now standing on the base. That would not be considered interference if it hindered the pivot man. I also don't think we can allow that runner to overrun HP and interfere. While Wendelstedt protects the BR when overrunning 1B I don't think we can protect a runner overrunning HP. If we do, I don't think he is protected all the way to the dugout so where would the protection stop?
  22. If it was strike 3 the batter is already out. The runner is then called out for interference by a teammate.
  23. Other a home run or out of play ball I don’t think we have to put the ball in play. I think we consider the ball live while the defense can appeal between innings or game end.
  24. Jimurray

    Base runner

    In OBR if this was a batted ball instead of an award R1 could be called out for abandonment and it would be a time play. But a fourth out appeal of the missed base would be a force out. FED doesn't address whether abandonment is a force out but in my FED games I'm leaving and not calling abandonment but ready to stop and rule on an appeal.
×
×
  • Create New...