Jump to content

Jimurray

Established Member
  • Posts

    5,300
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    23

Everything posted by Jimurray

  1. Jimurray

    Ejection

    i guess I'm going to have to say that maybe the guys wearing umpire uniforms, bought who knows where, who have called balls and strikes for you the last three years have not been doing their job. Take that back. How can a guy who does not know his job be accused of not doing it. There might be a clearer version to story but as told even LL minors would get ejected.
  2. This screenshot shows him legal. The lines are part of the box. As PU I would be waiting to call that inside strike that might even hit the batter's knee.
  3. Jimurray

    Base runner

    If this game was played under OBR/MLB/NCAA rules only the batter needed to touch 1B and R3 touch home for the run to count under a game winning HBP. If the game was played under FED all runners needed to touch their advance base and the appeal of r1 would be a force so no run would score. @flyingron this is the second appeal thread you have kicked.
  4. Take the bolded out of your vocabulary.
  5. A quick review of the ESPN Michigan game showed a toe extended over the inside line with no correction and a back foot slightly outside the box which the PU corrected. In both cases those were legal positions to hit the ball but violate the initial batting position rule. Sometimes if no one complains we leave minor violations alone since they become legal as the pitch is on the way. But give us a game/batter/inning with the 4 inch exceedance or foot touching the plate.
  6. The only citation for your use would be either an interp or caseplay which I can't find right now that does not penalize R1 who gets hit by a throw when he is halfway to 2B after being forced out. After that you are on your own.
  7. That interp does not require 2 feet touching the ground. On the ground only applies in determining whether a touch of the passed base is required when advancing again.
  8. I’m not your brother.
  9. Wow, that is a new one for me. All those MLB and other code overruns that went to 2B on an overthrow were appealable if both feet were on the foul side of the line during the overrun? EDIT: Nevermind, you and they are talking about an overrun coming back to the base. That makes sense to require both feet in foul territory but I think we called it that way prior to any interp.
  10. Carl Childress was not narrow minded. In his 2008 BRD he took advantage of this wording to make it a difference between OBR and FED/NCAA and concocted a play where a run would score because a following runner was "put out" in FED/NCAA but would not score in OBR because a following runner was not a force out. Quotes from that difference include: "neatly illustrates a problem with the OBR language." and "When someone behind a runner makes an out, the force is removed (OBR language notwithstanding)". He mentioned removing that third world play in his 2011 BRD and just noted the difference between FED/NCAA and OBR without delving into any ramifications.
  11. The interp for 5.06(b)1 only has diagrams for 2B and 3B because you can't be forced to return from 1B to HP. Thus the "if forced to return" statement in the rule. I don't remember any written cite for passing 1B but I probably heard it at an Evans Clinic. But common sense would say that if there was a possibility of the runner touching 1B on the way by he hasn't passed it yet. Once that possibility ceases, even if both feet were in the air, he has passed 1B. Ask the facebook crowd where the diagram is for 1B in the interp.
  12. Your screenshot is of the MLBUM interp regarding retouching bases. Your answer is in the actual rule. 1B never has to be retouched to return home.
  13. That interp applies to 2B and 3B as shown, bases that need to be retouched if you have passed it and need to return due to a caught fly. For 1B we consider the runner past if no foot can touch the base, in the air or otherwise. If a toe is the only thing over the back edge of the base without touching and the ball gets there we have an out. If that toe has cleared the back edge of the base and the ball gets there we have a missed base and currently we signal safe although it used to be no signal.
  14. I think you exaggerate but video/game/inning would help as would if this was a starting position or a hitting the ball position. Toe/s on the plate would not be illegal for hitting the ball if heel/s were/was touching the line.
  15. Jimurray

    Runs scoring

    Did you read the WRIM (Wendelstedt Rules Instruction Manual) cite in the 2017 thread? The order of multiple appeals of missed forced bases does not matter in OBR if the force existed at the time of the miss.
  16. But you should respond in the current thread to avoid confusion. Or @moderater please conjoin.
  17. No, that's not the answer.
  18. Jimurray

    Runs scoring

    Updating after searching it appears the cite is in @Senor Azul's 2016 BRD:
  19. Jimurray

    Runs scoring

    I can’t remember the year of the manual. I lost it. But I do remember that Wendelstedt or the school had a quote something like “if the force existed at the time of the miss it is a forced base appeal.” I thought your 2016 BRD even mentions that Wendelstedt quote. Prior to that the BRD quoted Fitzpatrick as agreeing with NCAA. But the order of appeals does/can matter for a force and non force miss when you start with one out.
  20. Jimurray

    Runs scoring

    No runs score in OBR currently per Wendelstedt as the third out was a force at the time of the miss. I believe NCAA requires non live action appeals to be made in the "proper" order and 2 runs would score. FED has interps which require force and non force appeals to be made in the proper order but no ruling on the order of two force appeals so your choice in FED.
  21. It was posted earlier in the thead. Little League pitcher channels Johnny Cueto (mlb.com)
  22. So you are saying he violated 8.05(a)? The clip I saw had him moving something during the whole delivery. What is the penalty with no runners on in majors and below if you thought he violated 8.05(a)?
  23. While you have cited the penalty in the rulebook for an illegal pitch you haven't cited what rule the OP pitcher violated that would be penalized as an IP.
×
×
  • Create New...