Jump to content

Jimurray

Established Member
  • Posts

    5,303
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    23

Everything posted by Jimurray

  1. I think you have it wrong. If the catcher boots the ball and it deflects off either the umpire or batter it’s dead and runners return TOP in OBR. NCAA might want the same thing but they didn’t exactly copy the OBR rule.
  2. That would be true for a caught pitch or a ball that was retrieved without involving the ball deflected to the batter. But once the defense boots the ball on the ground we used to need intent. OBR decided that intent was hard to judge and now kills it unless it is an uncaught 3K. NCAA did not use the OBR wording so we are not sure but it looks like they follow OBR.
  3. That would normally be the case and the 'award" would seem to confirm that the umpire kicked it. But in OBR and NCAA time is not immediately called when a pitcher balks. If the balk was followed by a wild pickoff or pitch the runner could have been allowed, NOT AWARDED, HP if he got there safely. Need more info.
  4. Addressed here if you are talking about this game: DBU vs VIRGINIA batter inference? - Collegiate - Umpire-Empire But in years past if this was not intentional the ball would be live and R2 would stay on 3B. This year OBR made a rule change that makes this a dead ball absent intent and R2 returns to 2B. NCAA seems to have copied the OBR rule but did not include the OBR wording for a deflected pitch that isn't a third strike. That being said, NCAA says that if an interp is needed for a rule they have it will by default be the OBR interp.
  5. That would be in compliance with this part of the OBR rule: "If a pitch that is not caught remains in the vicinity of home plate and it is inadvertently deflected by the batter or umpire, that ball is a dead ball and the runners should return to the bases they occupied at the time of the pitch (but if the pitch was strike three, the batter is out" But I can't find that in the NCAA book.
  6. The rule I quoted is OBR which would apply to Legion. NCAA adopted the OBR third strike hinder rule but their book does not have the additional OBR wording for an inadvertent deflection by batter or umpire. Maybe they put out an interp that they are the same as OBR. In FED/high school any interference on a dropped pitch must be intentional by the batter. Otherwise it's a live ball.
  7. Jimurray

    Fielders Balk?

    He was wrong about it being a balk in OBR but he was not wrong about requiring all of the fielder to be in fair territory. Per the MLBUM, if brought to the attention of the umpire there is no penalty other than instructing the player to have both feet in fair territory. You would then enforce the rule for both teams.
  8. If unintentional maybe NCAA adopted this 2021 OBR rule change. "6.01 Interference, Obstruction, and Catcher Collisions (a) Batter or Runner Interference It is interference by a batter or a runner when: (1)  After a third strike that is not caught by the catcher, the batter-runner clearly hinders the catcher in his attempt to field the ball. Such batter-runner is out, the ball is dead, and all other runners return to the bases they occupied at the time of the pitch. If a pitch that is not caught remains in the vicinity of home plate and it is inadvertently deflected by the batter or umpire, that ball is a dead ball and the runners should return to the bases they occupied at the time of the pitch (but if the pitch was strike three, the batter is out)."
  9. Friday Astros - Twins. Altuve's foul fly reversed to HR after review. Umps tell him you don't have to when he starts to go to round bases. He initially peeled off after 2B when foul was called. Is that award allowed without touching the bases in the MLB Replay rules? "5.05(a)(5)  A fair ball passes over a fence or into the stands at a distance from home base of 250 feet or more. Such hit entitles the batter to a home run when he shall have touched all bases legally. A fair fly ball that passes out of the playing field at a point less than 250 feet from home base shall entitle the batter to advance to second base only;" Jose Altuve's solo home run | 06/11/2021 | MLB.com
  10. I’ve been told the wipe off is not an approved signal for IFF no longer in effect. You just signal the next rotation. Who is we that says we have a mechanic that brushes off an IFF. I’ve seen it used/briefed. Is there a reason that we don’t have a signal with R3 that a whole bunch of sht can happen at the plate if R3 starts coming home. You have to umpire
  11. That rule is there to protect the pitcher because the batter does something. It starts out with "because the batter steps out of the box". If the pitcher doesn't balk with R3 coming home there is no "because" and you can allow the batter to step out because there is a play. If the pitcher balks it would not be because the batter stepped out it would be because R3 coming home affected him. Let's say the batter only got one foot out as R3 came home and the pitcher balked. Are you going to call time and assess no penalty as R3 slides in either safe or out?
  12. Jimurray

    4th Out?

    That’s what most of us think but if you had taken an NCAA preseason test a few years ago you would have gotten one question wrong regarding a fourth out on a batter who fell down before 1B. Did your research include NCAA cites.
  13. That darker shade MLB shirt on top is the correct shade for what was the MLB blue back when they had that shirt. Honigs had that color. Unfortunately, Smitty I think, went to China to copy that shirt and started selling a much lighter shade as the MLB blue. So our new umpires would show up with the MLB blue and not match. Then Smitty found the right shade and offered either shade for sale. Ump-Attire also sells two shades of the "MLB Blue", powder and polo. I think polo matches the original MLB shade.
  14. Jimurray

    4th Out?

    They might have been correct in 2011 because my 2011 BRD has Fitzpatrick agreeing with FED and NCAA that you can put the tripped BR out for a fourth advantageous out. The cite is actually from 2001. So with instant replay I can concoct a 3WP for NCAA and OBR although considering some recent events in MLB this might not be third world. 2 out, R1 and R3. BR hits a dribbler to F6 who after charging and and turning to 1B sees no chance to get the BR and fakes the throw which dekes R1 off his bag to try for further advance. F6 throws to get R1 and the tag attempt is safed. They then see that the BR blew a hammy and is laying 2 feet before 1B so they throw there and he is called out. No run scores. But the offensive manager, let's say Maddon in OBR and @beerguy55in NCAA challenges the safe on his R1. Can you challenge your own safe? If reversed in OBR and they are using the Wendelstedt interp there would be no out on the BR. If reversed in NCAA I think the defense can still choose the advantageous out.
  15. i don't have a cite/reference for OBR but if the lines are not correct you judge fair or foul. I personally will kick any chalk in front or behind or adjacent to 1B or 3B that does not line up with the outer edges of the base when I am the PU. This might be OC because I never had a problem with improper foul/fair lines causing a problem. Don't get me going when the parks department uses a softball batters box or a reversed baseball batters box implement. I also wipe out inside batters box lines that are too close to the plate.
  16. I don't think my play shows that @aaluck had it right. If there was no balk I can't see calling 2 strikes as in the OP. There can be a pitch and a play at the same time and I would allow the batter to leave the box although he doesn't have to.
  17. Jimurray

    4th Out?

    In 2001 even OBR allowed this out. Thankfully now the Wendelstedt school does not. As the late Carl Childress said: "I hope it never happens in one of my games. Or yours!"
  18. Jimurray

    4th Out?

    We segued into that scenario in this thread: Time? - Ask the Umpire - Umpire-Empire My current opinion is you cannot put the tripped batter out for a fourth advantageous out in OBR. You can in FED and NCAA.
  19. This actually happened recently in a HS playoff game, pitcher in windup, R3 starting home, batter steps out of box to allow play at the plate and catcher jumps in front of plate to catch the pitch while R3 slides in safe for a walkoff. But F1 was balked for a stutter step with his pivot foot off the front of the rubber BECAUSE R3 running, not the batter stepping out, caused the balk. I think if you look at 6-2-4-1 you can stop reading after the because if you have R3 running home. That becomes any "cause" of a balk. But in that game the balk saved any controversy because no one had to choose to call or no call CO or literally call 2 strikes. That video should make it to our association rules people for some guidance later. I believe NCAA wants a CI call even with the batter well out of the box. Any MLB plays I've seen have not called CI when this happens but it's hard to determine if the catcher in those plays actually was in front although I believe J-R says there can be no CI if the batter gives up his opportunity. The NCAA plays I've seen have the batter remaining in the box and there is no interference by the batter. If the pitcher doesn't disengage I believe the batter should be coached to remain in the box to add a threat of CI to the play unless the code has an interp that calls CI/CO even with the batter well out of the box. The NCAA rule does not mention hindering the batter so his position might not matter and CI could be called even with him out of the box. "8-3-p. If, on an attempted squeeze play or steal of home plate, the catcher steps on or in front of home plate without possession of the ball or touches the batter or the bat, the pitcher shall be charged with a balk and the catcher with interference. PENALTY—The ball becomes dead, the batter shall be awarded first base on the interference, the run scores and all other runners advance one base."
  20. Jimurray

    Bunt play

    It would be considered as CI: 5.05(b)(3)  "The catcher or any fielder interferes with him. If a play follows the interference, the manager of the offense may advise the plate umpire that he elects to decline the interference penalty and accept the play. Such election shall be made immediately at the end of the play. However, if the batter reaches first base on a hit, an error, a base on balls, a hit batsman, or otherwise, and all other runners advance at least one base, the play proceeds without reference to the interference."
  21. Umpire judgement that the step was more towards 1B than HP. Lefties get away with murder.
  22. Jimurray

    Time?

    I was referencing you saying the run would count in @noumpere hypothetical. FED and NCAA rule it would not if the defense got a fourth out on the batter before he got to 1B. I don’t agree but I think they both still allow that out.
  23. Jimurray

    Time?

    The fourth play on the BR is not an appeal per wendelstedt. It’s just a play which doesn’t matter because the third out ended the inning.
  24. Jimurray

    Time?

    Last I remember NCAA and FED would let you get that advantageous fourth out on the batter-runner. OBR per Wendelstedt would not.
  25. Although LL hasn't added the "continuing to run" verbiage to 7.09(e) I think the RIM shows that they abide by it. LL does not have a FPSR and if a there is a slide it should be a "bona fide" effort to reach the base. If there isn't a slide the runner can advance directly to the base. 2012 RIM: "INSTRUCTOR COMMENTS:  When a runner is moving toward second base on a double play ball, there is no requirement for the runner to slide. The fielder must expect the runner to be there. As long as the runner is moving toward the base, there would generally be no interference.  If sliding into second base, the runner must be able to reach the base with hand or feet. If the sliding runner is not able to reach the base with his/her hand or feet, and in the umpires judgment the slide caused the second baseman not to complete the double play, call interference and get the out at 1st base also.  If the batter or a runner continues to advance after he/she has been put out, he/she shall not by that act alone be considered as confusing, hindering or impending the fielders.  If contact between the runner and fielder occurs after the ball is released, there would be no interference."
×
×
  • Create New...