Jump to content

Jimurray

Established Member
  • Posts

    5,303
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    23

Everything posted by Jimurray

  1. While I can't find any better cite in my 2013 or 2017 MLBUM I did find this verbiage in a 2012 PBUC: "6.2 APPEAL PLAYS Keep the following points in mind regarding appeal plays: 1..... 2..... 3. If the pitcher or any member of the defensive team throws the ball out of play when making an appeal, such act shall be considered an attempted play. No further appeal will be allowed on any runner at any base. (this refers to an appeal being made after a definite break in action.)" The above #3 seems to imply that if there is no definite break in action, a live action throw out of play, a further appeal can be made.
  2. I think the on deck would be considered the same as a scored runner and any assistance by him would be called an out due to coach assist. I know they have called that in the past when a scored runner tried to assist a following runner. Whether that was seen or judged assistance in the heat of the moment I don't know. I think FED also only allows "viable" runners to assist and this would be an out if judged assistance. Edited to add: 2013 SITUATION 11: On a base hit to the outfield, the runner from third base comes home but misses touching home plate. The on-deck batter physically stops him and shoves him back to the plate, where he then touches it. RULING: Physical assistance by a teammate is not allowed unless both players are viable runners. The assisted runner is out and his run does not count. (2-21-1c, 5-1-2f, 3-2-2)
  3. I know any further plays on runners during continuous action do not preclude a formal appeal once action stops. I did believe that an appeal play that went out of play during continuous action also did not preclude a formal appeal once action relaxed but I can’t find any cite. The MLBUM cite that does define an appeal throw going out of play as a “play” might allow us to consider that a play during continuous action and allow another appeal but I’m not sure.
  4. OBR doesn't allow any further appeals after the defense errs by throwing the ball out of play. That is considered a "play" according to PBUC/MLBUM
  5. This engendered the right arm point: ALCS Gm2: A.J. reaches first on dropped third strike - YouTube
  6. Are you really asking for answers to these questions?
  7. That is not an absolute. There are cases in most codes that allow a foul to be reversed but in the normal case of when this happens you would be correct.
  8. Did he have the ball in his grasp while touching 1B?
  9. While PBUC and Evans send the PU near 3B and, as @UMP45says, they have the PU reposition for secondary responsibilities when R1 is out or not going, I don't see any concern at that level for the FPSR because the references I have are pre the OBR change. But NCAA does send the PU out to the 3B side of the mound for FSPR and then lets him cover 3B since he's near 3B if ball and R1 are going there. Otherwise NCAA sends the PU back to where he can help at 1B. But does @noumpereespouse the PU going down the 1B line in FED or NCAA when a FPSR might need to be ruled on. Interestingly my state association changed the 3b side of the mound to the 1B side of the mound for a better angle of the slide at 2B and it puts the PU in a better position to help at 1B. I have not been happy with that view as it seems more people get in the way of my look and I still go to the 3B side of the mound and then move to help at 1B as best I can.
  10. They do have PU move to help with that if R1 is out.
  11. It's standard now in NCAA and PBUC and Evans also send the PU to 3B if R1 is safe and going, absent any 1B foul line responsibility. Since it is the standard mechanic there is no need to communicate that the PU has 3B. But there is a need to communicate that he won't be at 3B if he needs to stay on the 1B line: "I'm on the line."
  12. "I don't do many, but when I do", great place to work on tracking the pitch as PU, looks like a strike, looks like a strike, hits the plate. great place to stay focused as BU, which happens in any unskilled U game when stupid sht can happen, great place to practice game management. BTW stupid sht can happen in MLB: Umpire & Manager argue but are both wrong, a breakdown - YouTube
  13. Terrible faux pas here to not peruse the HS forum before posting in rules.
  14. This was here before that thread. Mods probably will merge.
  15. Jimurray

    Runs Scoring

    No, the run does not score. The appeal was of a missed base that R1 was forced to at the time of the miss. If a following runner, the BR, was put out when R1 had not yet reached 2B the force would have been removed and if missed would not be a forced base appeal.
  16. Already posted here: The Pause That Refreshes.... - High School - Umpire-Empire
  17. Jimurray

    Runs Scoring

    There is no impasse as @GreyhoundAggie has admitted to the error of his ways regarding the OP. But perhaps he was thinking of the difference between OBR and NCAA regarding multiple appeals. In NCAA if the batter was out on appeal instead of live action they consider the force removed on R1 when he is appealed after the BR. OBR per Wendelstedt does not consider the force removed if it existed at the time of the miss even if the BR was appealed first.
  18. Please tell me that a "lean" is not required, only a look.
  19. Texas is less imprecise than NY. Continue suspended playoff games until 7 innings. Texas Districts/Sections can also implement this in the regular season and I have seen some crazy district rulings implemented after a team was screwed by reversion and/or no game in the previous year. Luckily there was never a need to implement the district's flawed verbiage. But where does NY define an "Official Game"? I only see "Regulation Game" in the rulebooks
  20. Isn’t it a 1 game suspension?
  21. Especially when it’s paint not chalk.
  22. To answer your question, no one in my neck of the woods, which is adjacent to yours, calls this in FED and no one complains.
  23. We give new umpires crude advice as to what a new umpire should do with the scorekeeping pages in their rulebook. But before they tear them out of the FED rulebook we advise them to retain and read 9-1-1a,b,c,d,e. I don't think that is covered in the previous chapters of the FED book.
  24. CCS covers it here: Ask UEFL - Judging a Fly Ball as Fair or Foul (Video) | Close Call Sports & Umpire Ejection Fantasy League We also discussed it here a few years ago before it was clarified that it only applies to a ball hitting the ground passed 1 or 3B.
×
×
  • Create New...