From my friend who was Crew Chief in Triple A for 2 years...
Here is my opinion on it. Not that it is right. There was no play being made on that runner so I would not award him home. I would protect him back to third.
This is out of the pbuc manual definition of a play. It doesn’t ever say this is for obstruction, but the obstruction says if there is a “play” made on the runner. So I would use this in my opinion....
“A play or attempted play (Official Baseball Rule 7.05(g) and 7.10) shall be interpreted as a legitimate effort by a defensive player who has possession of the ball to actually retire a runner. This may include an actual attempt to tag a runner, a fielder running toward a base with the ball in an attempt to force or tag a runner, or actually throwing to another defensive player in an attempt to retire a runner. The fact that the runner is not out is not relevant. A fake or a feint to throw shall not be deemed a play or an attempted play.”
“The first type of obstruction (Official Baseball Rule 7.06(a)) deals with cases when the runner is obstructed while a play is being made on him.
Examples of this type of obstruction include:
1. Runner is obstructed during a rundown.
2. Runner is obstructed as a fielder is making a direct throw to a base in an attempt to retire that runner.
3. Batter-runner is obstructed before reaching first base on a ground ball to an infielder.
4. Any other example where a play is being made directly on the runner at the moment he is obstructed”