Jump to content

spark2212

Members
  • Content Count

    108
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

1 Neutral

More information about you

  • Your Association Name
    N/A
  • Occupation
    Student
  • Types/Levels of Baseball called
    N/A
  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    Search Engine (Google, Yahoo, Bing, ...)

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. But does that separate rule add or remove restrictions regarding what a runner can do?
  2. You know, I used the Marisnick collision in my argument, but my friend argued that he veered towards lucrative at the last second, and so it couldn’t be used as an example.
  3. So, is this even if the catcher has the ball and is attempting to apply a tag?
  4. I think any closer pitcher capable of pitching three innings is pretty good. And besides, that almost never comes up.
  5. So I have a question regarding rule 6.01(i)(1) and the corresponding comment. Let’s say, in a major league game, you have a close play at home plate. Catcher receives the ball and prepares to apply the tag, but the runner plows right through him, and the catcher drops the ball. Assuming the runner never changed directions and went straight from third base to home plate, is he out for intimating an avoidable collision? Does it matter whether the catcher illegally blocked the plate? Does the runner have to physically veer towards the catcher to initiate an avoidable collision? My friend’s position is: you can run over the catcher if you stay on your running line, and you are going directly to home plate, and if the catcher is blocking the plate, the runner doesn’t have to stop and doesn’t have to slide. I disagree. I know most people don’t post on here to settle debates, but I was looking for a definitive answer.
  6. My question is, if a closer came in, blew the save, switched positions, and then took the mound again in the next inning after his team regains the lead, can he still get a save? And if so, would he have a blown save and a converted save in the same game?
  7. Yes, as long as he hasn’t been completely pulled from the game. Although in DH leagues, as soon as the pitcher takes a different position or a batter takes the mound, that team forfeits use of the DH for the rest of the game.
  8. spark2212

    Pick off

    Sounds like a balk from how you’ve described it. When you say he lifts his leg to begin to pitch, did he move his leg far enough to commit himself to throwing home? If not, then once he pivots, he doesn’t have to do either of those things. It’s still legal to fake out a runner at second base.
  9. spark2212

    Fair or foul

    I have read the thread and no I do not know what that is.
  10. spark2212

    Fair or foul

    Last I checked, the foul line was like the strike zone. A ball that grazes the foul line by a single stitch is just as fair as one that hits the second base bag.
  11. spark2212

    Fair or foul

    Foul ball. It doesn’t matter where the fielder is, the only thing that matters is the location of the ball when it a) Comes to a stop, b) Comes into contact with anything other than the infield ground, or c) Passes first/third base after having touched the ground and nothing else. Reference: MLB Rulebook (2018 edition) definition of terms.
  12. I don’t know if you saw the play a few nights ago where Eduardo Nuñez hurt himself coming down the first base line. He was ruled safe but immediately stumbled to the ground. Now, he landed in fair territory, so for the purposes of tagging him out has he made a move towards second or is this an obvious exception? 0DDEA594-5760-4B00-87FD-9B58025D7D2F.MOV
  13. Nobody ever runs from third to home in fair territory and I’m pretty sure you know that.
  14. I would change the rule. While it’s not fair to let the runner go out of their way to block a throw, it’s also not fair to ask a right-handed batter to make a detour by crossing the foul line twice when between any other two bases they’d be allowed to run in the shortest path (a straight line).
  15. I’m like the opposite. I’m not an umpire, but I’ve read the book from cover to cover multiple times, and yet I still come here to ask questions.
×
×
  • Create New...