Jump to content
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
BigLuke

3rd strike steal of home

Question

Situation; Runner on 3rd, count 3/2, 2 outs. Pitcher bounces the ball in front of home plate, batter swings and misses. Batter runs to first. Before he is put out at first the runner from 3rd crosses home. 
Does the run count as a time play or not?

Thanks

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

12 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

The run doesn't count.

OBR

5.08  How a Team Scores

  (a) One run shall be scored each time a runner legally advances to and touches first, second, third and home base before three men are put out to end the inning.

EXCEPTION: A run is not scored if the runner advances to home base during a play in which the third out is made (1) by the batter-runner before he touches first base; (2) by any runner being forced out; or (3) by a preceding runner who is declared out because he failed to touch one of the bases.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Actually the batter/runner is not a "force out" at first, it is simply a put-out.

A "force out" is when a runner is "forced" to vacate his/her base (advance to the next base) due to the action of the batter.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
1 hour ago, Lou B said:

Actually the batter/runner is not a "force out" at first, it is simply a put-out.

A "force out" is when a runner is "forced" to vacate his/her base (advance to the next base) due to the action of the batter.

I think in Germany is is a force out.  I could be wrong though.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
15 hours ago, Young_Ump said:

The run doesn't count.

OBR

5.08  How a Team Scores

  (a) One run shall be scored each time a runner legally advances to and touches first, second, third and home base before three men are put out to end the inning.

EXCEPTION: A run is not scored if the runner advances to home base during a play in which the third out is made (1) by the batter-runner before he touches first base; (2) by any runner being forced out; or (3) by a preceding runner who is declared out because he failed to touch one of the bases.

Of course, those who follow the rule book literally would score the run on a third out fly ball that is not caught until the batter-runner is halfway to second...

 

14 hours ago, Lou B said:

Actually the batter/runner is not a "force out" at first, it is simply a put-out.

A "force out" is when a runner is "forced" to vacate his/her base (advance to the next base) due to the action of the batter.

I do agree, but it's such a semantical stupidity that's in there for no good reason.  If the batter isn't "forced" to run to first wtf are we doing?   Or is he only impelled to do so...or is it compelled?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Here's a  question for you all...    Same situation as  what was described at the beginning of this thread.     R3  steals home on a dropped third...  and crosses the plate..  meanwhile,  the throw from F2 is wild  but  F3 records the out on a "tag",  rather than on the force.     Same call?   No run scores?

 

 

   

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
7 hours ago, Double Up said:

Here's a  question for you all...    Same situation as  what was described at the beginning of this thread.     R3  steals home on a dropped third...  and crosses the plate..  meanwhile,  the throw from F2 is wild  but  F3 records the out on a "tag",  rather than on the force.     Same call?   No run scores? 

 

Young-Ump's reply still applies:

On 2/6/2020 at 7:15 PM, Young_Ump said:

The run doesn't count.

OBR

5.08  How a Team Scores

  (a) One run shall be scored each time a runner legally advances to and touches first, second, third and home base before three men are put out to end the inning.

EXCEPTION: A run is not scored if the runner advances to home base during a play in which the third out is made (1) by the batter-runner before he touches first base; (2) by any runner being forced out; or (3) by a preceding runner who is declared out because he failed to touch one of the bases.

 

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
On 2/8/2020 at 12:49 AM, Double Up said:

Here's a  question for you all...    Same situation as  what was described at the beginning of this thread.     R3  steals home on a dropped third...  and crosses the plate..  meanwhile,  the throw from F2 is wild  but  F3 records the out on a "tag",  rather than on the force.     Same call?   No run scores?

 

 

   

A force out is caused by a runner being forced to advance.  You can tag the runner or the base.  It's in the book. 

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
On 2/8/2020 at 9:52 PM, Rich Ives said:

A force out is caused by a runner being forced to advance.  You can tag the runner or the base.  It's in the book. 

simple enough

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Let me throw a wrinkle in this. If instead of throwing the first right away the catcher attempts to tag the runner going home and, after having missed the tag, then throws to first, the run would score. Unless I'm wrong about how intervening plays work.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
2 hours ago, Biscuit said:

Let me throw a wrinkle in this. If instead of throwing the first right away the catcher attempts to tag the runner going home and, after having missed the tag, then throws to first, the run would score. Unless I'm wrong about how intervening plays work.

You're wrong about how intervening plays work.

IT applies only to running lane violations (without an intervening play, runners return TOP; with an intervening play, runners return TOI), and it still doesn't negate the "how a run scores" rule so if BR is the third out before reaching first, the run still doesn't count.

  • Like 3

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
40 minutes ago, noumpere said:

You're wrong about how intervening plays work.

IT applies only to running lane violations (without an intervening play, runners return TOP; with an intervening play, runners return TOI), and it still doesn't negate the "how a run scores" rule so if BR is the third out before reaching first, the run still doesn't count.

Whoops, back to the rule book I guess... Thanks for the refresher!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...