Jump to content

Young_Ump

Members
  • Content Count

    69
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    1

Young_Ump last won the day on December 8 2019

Young_Ump had the most liked content!

Community Reputation

23 Neutral

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Male
  • Location
    Las Vegas

More information about you

  • Your Association Name
    Clark County Umpires Association; NV D4
  • Types/Levels of Baseball called
    Little league, Rocky Mountain Baseball
  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    Search Engine (Google, Yahoo, Bing, ...)

Recent Profile Visitors

471 profile views
  1. Looks like the new All-star gear is going to be out there soon. https://www.outwestofficials.com/collections/chest-protectors/products/all-star-cobalt-pro-series-umpire-chest-protector https://www.outwestofficials.com/collections/shin-guards/products/all-star-cobalt-pro-umpire-leg-guards Others know way more about protective gear than I do, so I won't say anything about the functional aspect. But I think the CP looks awesome!
  2. (The OP is in bold) The runner who was stealing made it to 2nd without the catcher even throwing the ball. Then the DEFENSIVE ASSISTANT COACH started yelling for the runner to return to first. He was yelling at the opposing team's player (who was 8 or 9 years old!), but I intervened. Good job shutting this down. Don't let an opposing coach talk to the other team's players. The ASSISTANT coach (in my area, appeals must be made by the head coach; this is probably true in most places) stormed out of the dugout and started shouting Restrict him right there. I know you did it after a little bit (good job), but for me, as soon as an assistant storms out of the dugout, put him right back in it. When that same team was on defense again, the head coach (NOT the assistant coach I had restricted to the dugout) came out with a catcher's mitt to warm up his pitcher. The catcher was still getting his gear on. As he walked past me, he mumbled, "You could learn a thing or two" under his breath. From reading your post, I believe this is the first time the head coach had said anything yet. If so, I don't think saying that under his breath is an ejection. However, don't ignore that statement. I don't know exactly what I would do when that's mumbled under his breath but I don't think its something that can be ignored.
  3. Also, being discolored on the inside doesn't mean that they're breaking down, that's just going to happen (sometimes not that long after you've started using them) to leather pads.
  4. Young_Ump

    First One

    @mac266 was this the video you were thinking of? "Umpire Ejection Tutorial - John Gallante" https://youtu.be/W_FtBx9wRKs IMO "What did you say?" doesn't have to be baiting, if you say it the way @BobUmp described above. Saying it in a non-aggressive tone can be used to give a coach an exit.
  5. I wear sunglasses all the time, and before reading this thread, I always took them off for plate meetings. I don't think it really matters to most people, do it however you want to. I've just always done this without thinking about it. Even pulling up to a drive-thru window (or ordering from a person with an i-pad outside at Chick-fil-a) I take them off, so this is just something I always do.
  6. How does calling the top of the knees versus the bottom of the knees on a kid (I assume, since you said LL) make any real difference?
  7. Young_Ump

    Does the run count

    Duplicate threads. @Thunderheads (or anyone) could you merge these? https://umpire-empire.com/topic/74438-does-the-run-count/
  8. I was like 8 at the time...
  9. $40 no bids. Might be an idea if you've thought about trying out a HSM. https://www.ebay.com/itm/Mizuno-Pro-Adult-Baseball-Catchers-Mask-Helmet
  10. From today: I don't understand why you would warn F1 in this situation. Why not toss him right then if you think he did it, or check the new ball you give him after the next pitch? What would you do?
  11. No, he's on second.
  12. Young_Ump

    U3K Dead Ball

    OBR 5.06 (B) (4) "(4) Each runner including the batter-runner may, without liability to be put out, advance: . . . (I) One base, if the batter becomes a runner on Ball Four or Strike Three, when the pitch passes the catcher and lodges in the umpire’s mask or paraphernalia. If the batter becomes a runner on a wild pitch which entitles the runners to advance one base, the batter-runner shall be entitled to first base only."
  13. @Thunderheads corrected me on that: I'm not brave enough to not use an indicator yet, however I do make sure to keep my head up when clicking it... and the All-star with notched dials helps with that
  14. @Thunderheads Thank you, that makes sense. Normally its putting it back on reversed, like with right hand on the pads and left on the harness. (IDK how to describe that lol) so I guess I assumed they took it off that way too.
×
×
  • Create New...