Jump to content

Double Up

Members
  • Content Count

    91
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

6 Neutral

More information about you

  • Your Association Name
    DH Umpiring Service
  • Occupation
    Sales
  • Types/Levels of Baseball called
    Pony Primarily, Some Travel Occassionally.
  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    Search Engine (Google, Yahoo, Bing, ...)

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. Very well, thank you! I think I remember reading 6.01(a)(5) at some int. obviously It did not stick well enough at that time. It certainly helps to have additional context in which to apply the ruling
  2. This brings up another question... RHP and R1 breaks early for 2B (probably with R3 laying in wait). Pitcher does not disengage, but rather jump spins and throws ahead of R1 to the SS at 2B. I'm sure this has probably been answered somewhere in the forums before because i can see most coaches going ape SH*# crazy saying that the RHP failed to disengage. Some reassurance that this is a legal play on the runner attempting to advance and not a balk would be music to my ears. To make it even more disturbing to witness, what if it was R2 who broke early to 3B and the RHP (
  3. Here's 2 situations that are very similar, but yet different. Let's just say OBR.. but if any other rule set has a different result, let's hear that as well. Situation #1: No outs. R1 steals on the pitch, BR K's swinging for the 1st out, but the swing carries him out over the plate, interfering with the catcher's attempt to throw down to 2B on the would be base stealer. The retired batter is already out on the swing, so the only logical explanation here is to call R1 out enforcing the BR interference call, right? Situation #2 Again no outs. RHB strikes out and makes hi
  4. Or as they would say in soccer "Play on"
  5. As the title describes, a thrown ball hits the coach standing in the coaches box behind 1b. Is there any rule that addresses this type of situation?
  6. I read somewhere someone said no L33T, bhahaha. I followed most of that... you lost me a RLI however.
  7. It's been a little quiet around here lately, so I have a general forum question - what are some of the biggest differences between OBR, NCAA, and FED that cause confusion and often times, misinterpretations when officiating at the various levels? Some obvious ones are FED DH rules and FED In contact feints to 3B, but what about the more obscure rules not commonly understood?
  8. to put it in context, the game was 9u and many of the pitchers were just learning the game w/ base stealing for the first time. It was single man, so I cant clearly recount the steps. he was set in the stretch position, R2 broke for third, everyone screamed step off and from what I recall, it was jump spin off to making a throw to 3B.
  9. 1. F1 is set and R1 breaks early for 2B. Without disengaging, F1 spins and throws the ball to 2b. Legal or illegal? My interpretation of the balk section is that this is legal. 2. The exact situation was R2 broke to third, and while set the pitcher noticed and threw the ball to 3B who applied a tag. There was some funny footwork in there that we wont discuss, but let's just say the pitcher did not disengage. Is F1 throwing to 3B while engaged after the R2 leaves early legal or illegal action?
  10. Double Up

    Infield Fly

    was the ball caught or dropped? if it was ruled a catch, out on appeal. if ruled no catch, count the run.
  11. I even walked over told them that i didnt know and made up some SH*#.... and soon as i was finished, everyone was the expert
  12. THAT'S WHY i CAME TO THE SOURCE! APPRECIATE YOUR GUIDANCE
  13. interstering, b/c its runner now... rather than a batter who falls over the plate and interferes w/ a throw down to 2B on a base stealer.
  14. rule set : doesn't matter Wow! Today had R2 stealing on what became ball 4. BR get's hit by the throw from the catcher as he vacates the right hand hitters box. on the way to 1B. what the correct call? I honestly just made up a call and punched R2. some "umpire" in grand stand made a comment about the catcher throwing down from his knees as if that mattered.... suggesting that b/c he threw from his knee their was no interference.
  15. Double Up

    No Call?

    Sometimes its just baseball rule! Exactly why there's umpires. I would have been okay with Interference, but I'm okay w/ no call. WE have the replay, but these guys are making a call live as its happening. The commentators are Dumb AF thou
×
×
  • Create New...